Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
130
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.16+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2008
If you're tired of gigantic hollywood horrors with their formulaic plots and calculated frights, you might want to try this little movie. Set in Eastern Europe, shot in Scotland, starring Ray Stevenson and costing a little over £1 million, you might be pleasantly surprised at the quality of this movie. Genuine tension is offset with sparing gore. Great gun battles and some Nazi voodoo technology thrown in for good measure make this micro-budget effort well worth watching. There are some great characters from all over the world dying in some really creative ways and some pretty nasty baddies lurking in a pretty scary environment.

Why not bypass the hollywood dross and see how a bunch of enthusiastic Scottish film-makers do things. Great fun stuff.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2009
Being a fan of all things Romero I bought this thinking it would be packed with the shuffling undead as implied by other reviews, not so. My first pleasant surprise was to see Tyres (Michael Smiley) in one of the roles. Anyway I digress, on to the picture. A troop of mercenaries are enlisted to acccompany a businessman to a remote bunker in Eastern Europe. Once there they find evidence of Nazi experiments to create super soldiers. Without ruining the whole story things go wrong from there to the end. As I said no zombies but lots of supernatural super soldiers. Not all of the film made perfect sense and the viewer is left to fill in some blanks in the plot but I enjoy a film like that, one which makes you think a bit instead of spoonfeeding you. It is obvious that the whole thing was made on a shoestring but that adds to the whole feel in this instance. Instead of lavish production and acres of CGI the sets are old industrial builings which are grotty and look as if they have stood dormant since 1945. That being said there is one moment of 'Doctor Who' effects but don't let that put you off. On the whole I say buy it if these kind of films are your thing, you shouldn't be disappointed.
33 comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2008
If you're tired of gigantic hollywood horrors with their formulaic plots and calculated frights, you might want to try this little movie. Set in Eastern Europe, shot in Scotland, starring Ray Stevenson and costing a little over £1 million, you might be pleasantly surprised at the quality of this movie. Genuine tension is offset with sparing gore. Great gun battles and some Nazi voodoo technology thrown in for good measure make this micro-budget effort well worth watching. There are some great characters from all over the world dying in some really creative ways and some pretty nasty baddies lurking in a pretty scary environment.

Why not bypass the hollywood dross and see how a bunch of enthusiastic Scottish film-makers do things. Great fun stuff.
77 comments| 59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2010
I think everyone has a soft spot for budget horror films, but at the same time I don't think we expect much more from them than a bit of action, violence and fun. With Outpost, however, there is something rather original about it, and you quickly realise that this isn't quite like other mundane horror flicks.

A group of mercenaries are commissioned to accompany a scientist to an old Nazi bunker, which curiously has not been looted. It is soon realised that something is afoot when bodies are discovered inside, and even a 'survivor', who is apparently in a vegetative state. Fire-fights soon start taking place at the surface, between the mercenaries and an unknown foe, and strange things begin happening underground. Cutting the story short, basically what the bunker contains is Nazi super soldiers, who don't very much like visitors.

Fantastic action scenes throughout, and some damn scary moments when the lights go out and Nazi zombies start creeping around everywhere. Quality stuff; much recommended.
22 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2015
Okay, it’s low budget and it might not have enjoyed a huge cinematic release, but Steve Barker’s Outpost fits very nicely into the niche now occupied by some very effective British horror movies, most noticeably Neil Marshall’s terrific Dog Soldiers and The Descent.

Sure, it lacks, the grand special effects that other more expensive offerings provide, but that’s no bad thing because Barker has more than made up for it with good characterization and a sense of menace that pervades every scene.

The storyline is simple enough and it’s been employed a million times in just about every movie genre – a small group of individuals, placed in jeopardy and hemmed in by dark forces, have to fight for their lives – but there’s an edge to this little gem that places it above a good many of its contemporaries. A cross between the aforementioned Dog Soldiers and the very spooky Korean film R-Point wouldn’t be too wide of the mark, I’m thinking.

Take the cast for a start – no chiselled jaws or pretty boys here, thank God. These men are hardened mercenaries – some of them on the verge of their sell-by date – and they’ve been round the block a few times and look like it. And I have to say, as an army brat, it’s a blessed relief to see actors who actually look the part. If I had a pound for every screen soldier I’ve seen who can’t even wear a bloody beret correctly, I’d be a rich man.

Ray Stevenson – we don’t see enough of him, if you ask me – holds both the lead and the screen effortlessly. When it happens, the violence is suitably swift and gory and frankly it delivers pretty much what it promises on the tin.

I suggest you hang around for the ‘Special Features’, too. The director, producers and cast give a smashing little insight on the problems of working with restricted funding and explain how they compensated through imagination, a tight script and a committed group of backers. Big Hollywood studios take note…it took Barker and his crew only 5 weeks to shoot this movie. That they came up with something this good in so short a space of time speaks volumes.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2009
I watched this on tv and, I would recommend it for the good price. It avoids the cheesy teen americanisms that ruin many horror films.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
THE MOVIE

When most people hear zombies and nazis they think of the Norwegian horror film DEAD SNOW (2009). However before DEAD SNOW there was the far superior British flick OUTPOST which was made in 2007.
Made on a rather small budget this movie is far more effective than most high budget US zombie movies. Set in Eastern Europe mostly near and inside a bunker it was filmed entirely in Scotland.
Directed by Steve Barker who also directed the inferior OUTPOST II : BLACK SUN, he makes the most of the limited budget and manages stretch it to the maximum effect: washed out colors add to the bleak atmosphere. It's not non-stop action but also several thrills and jump moments.
Great actors for a movie in this genre, I especially like Richard Brake as the redneck who delivers some of the best one liners ever ("See, the bright light... it ain't heaven, son. It's just a muzzle flare.") also Ray Stevenson (PUNISHER: WAR ZONE).
Zombies as a bio weapon has been done before, but I believe not like this: occultistic Nazi experiments by shifting reality and reanimating the dead to create invincible soldiers, all masterminded by the Germans during World War II does make an intereisting background story.
The zombies are given very limited screen time however and at first one is not presented with a visual on the unknown foe.
The mercenaries are well written and acted - they are not just stereotype soldiers, each has a different personality which is rare on film - VERY rare.
Not overly gory though - the BBFC 18 Certificate is a bit overdone, a 15 would have sufficed.
OUTPOST is not your run-of-the-mill zombie flick - but a crafty little zombie war/action/sci-fi/thriller. What sounds like a mundane film is actually a very well executed and rather original little chiller and actually one of the best zombie movies I have ever seen.

THE DVD

Reviewed version: 2007 Sony Home Entertainment UK DVD
Feature running time: 86 mins. (uncut)
Rating: R (MPAA) / 18 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 2.40:1
Audio: English 5.1, English 2.0
Subtitles: English for the Hearing Impaired
Chapters: 12
Extras: Theatrical trailer, Commentary, Behind the Scenes, Deleted Scenes
Region: 2

Picture: B
Audio: B
Extras: C+
66 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2008
I enjoyed this. For a first outing for many of the crew it's a great example of what can be achieved when you don't have the big budgets available to more mainstream stuff. The mercenaries are a believable bunch because they are so dissimilar and, unusually, not particularly nice. DC is excellently played by Ray Stevenson who holds it all together superbly. It isn't drenched in gore like so many of these films but spaces out the nastier bits and allows the general unease to build. It's a dark film in general and the fear amongst the soldiers is palpable as they realise what is going on and that getting out is going to prove somewhat difficult. One thing I would warn about is that you need the volume up fairly high to understand what the chaps are saying - and then get completely deafened once they fire their guns! It's not a film to watch if there's a child in the bedroom up above and your remote has died - I was up and down like a yo-yo in case he thought we were being attacked. This is well worth watching if you enjoy low budget supernatural horrors which don't rely wholly on special effects and like your protagonists of the more believable variety.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
Some soldiers of fortune are employed to find and secure a specific building located in the wilds of war torn Eastern Europe. Of course they find it and they find the treasures it holds, but at what price, as something appears to be lurking in the shadows...
A late night creeper featuring an unstoppable, Nazi death corps. For a low budget film the acting is very good, for what little they have to do and the sets and effects are very well handled. Sadly it's a little slow paced and fills out the runtime with the odd creepy moment and lots of shouting and daft tough dialogue.
Surprised to see this got given an 18 rating, as there wasn't much splatter on display, instead opting for atmospheric shocks.
Most other reviewers have mentioned similarities between this and Dog Soldiers, Death Watch, The Fog, Event Horizon, The Bunker (and probably Scarecrows, The Supernaturals and Shock Waves to boot, and if they didn't, they should have!). If that is the case I would say don't get your hopes up too high, because this is certainly not as good as most of those listed, although to be fair, its not that far behind, it just doesn't really pull off either a 'by the numbers' blood soaked body count, a traditional ghost story or for that matter a horror tinged, Predator style, action flick!
In my opinion, the makers should've gone all 'Tombs of the Blind Dead' on us viewers, and chucked in a bit more splatter and electric hoodoo nastiness (maybe into the back story), to make it a bit more exciting.
Not great but not terrible by any means either, in fact, slightly better than average for its ilk.
3.25/5 The dvd houses a commentary, deleted scenes, trailer and a load of behind the scenes interviews.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2015
An unexpectedly excellent film - dark, tight, well imagined and well filmed. It is an unusual twist on the Nazi Zombie genre with some real pseudo-science behind it (if your expecting real science be prepared for disappointment, but I recommend stretching belief when characters talk about Grand Unification Theories). There are a few complaints, such as some of acting being either wooden or hammy (depending on the character), and some of the dialogue isn't too clear without a second or third listen, but overall I rate this at least as highly as Dead Snow - the reference film for all Nazi Zombie flicks. Of course if this isn't your cup of tea, you probably want to avoid this film (but then why are you even reading this review?)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)