Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
112
3.5 out of 5 stars
The Other Boleyn Girl [DVD] [2003]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 26 March 2016
The quality of DVD is very poor; pale grainy picture, poor sound quality. Unusable. It looks like a BBC product, but presumably isn't. How is this possible? It seems to have been posted from Holland. I complained to the supplier, who immediately refunded the price in full. But why sell such a shoddy product?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
Didn't care for this at all and has gone to the charity shop. Dreadful camera work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2017
Thoroughly enjoyed this - prefer it to the Hollywood version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2016
Very Good Movie, just one thing there is a permanent subtitle on the Screen, while viewing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
Excellent thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2017
A+
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2017
The video quality seems very poor very pixelated and grainy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 March 2008
This is the TV adaptation which came out several years ago shortly after the book became such a success and is far superior to the more recent film version which starred Scarlett Johanssen and Natalie Portman. It conveys much more accurately the atmosphere and tension of Philippa Gregory's superb novel and doesn't have the glaring gaps of the 2008 film (in which Mary is suddenly marrying again with no explanation as to what has happened to husband No 1!). The performances are brilliant and I cannot recommend this highly enough. I am so pleased to have found it at this price and will be watching it to erase the awful travesty of the more recent film version.

If you haven't seen this but have enjoyed the book, you would do far better to spend your money on this than on the admission charge for the recent film.
44 Comments| 103 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2013
Not what i was expecting. Not something I would recomend to the history fans.
Complete waste of my money and time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2008
Since this BBC adaptation was screened I have searched continually for this version on DVD. Without any doubt this is one of the most engaging dramas I have ever seen. Stylistically it may not be to everyone's taste, with what appears to be hand held camera work and direct address to the camera similar to an interview approach. There is a grain to the film that only enhances the rawness and edge to the production.

It is the only historical drama that brings a genuine sense and vision of a Tudor court to life. The character developments are pertinent and emotionally engaging. The performances are exceptional and it is a great shame that such an exceptional work as this should have been overshadowed by a glossy Hollywood interpretation.

This film deserves to be seen by a much wider audience and far outstrips both the film and the book of the same title. Watch it, you will be mesmerised.
11 Comment| 116 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)