Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
12
4.6 out of 5 stars


on 25 September 2017
good film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
keeps you watching, how somebody could leave his familt and put them through the ordeal that he did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2016
“My Husband’s Double Life” – aka “The Familiar Stranger” – is a US movie that is based on a true story. It was shown on US television (LMN) in 2001 and released on DVD in 2005 and 2008. Here are some basic facts about it:

** Produced by Terry Gold, Andrea Baynes and Alan Hines
** Directed by Alan Metzger
** Written by Alan Hines
** Run time: 85 minutes

[Alan Hines also wrote the screenplay for the movie “Guilt by Association” that premiered in 2002.]

The cast includes the following:

** Margaret Colin as Elizabeth “Peachy” Welsh – mother of Ted and Chris
** Jay O. Sanders as Patrick Hennessy Welsh // Timothy Michael Kingsbury

** Michael Cera as Ted Welsh (age 12)
** Will Estes as Ted Welsh (age 22)
** Erik Knudsen as Chris Welsh (age 9)
** Aaron Ashmore as Chris Welsh (age 19)

** Victoria Snow as Claire – Elizabeth’s sister
** Maria Ricossa as Linda Berg – Elizabeth’s friend
** Gary Hudson as Bill Sellers – Elizabeth’s friend

** Anna Ferguson as Mrs. Welsh – Patrick’s mother
** George R. Robertson as Mr. Welsh – Patrick’s father

I do not want to spoil the viewing for anyone. Therefore I am not going to reveal too much about what happens in this movie. I will only tell you how the story begins. Since the movie is based on a true story, the basic facts are part of the public record.

When you look at the title, you can guess that this is a story of betrayal. About a man who betrays his family as well as the authorities. The story is almost incredible, but it is a true story. It did happen.

When the movie begins, Elizabeth and Patrick are married. They have two boys. Ted is 12, while Chris is 9. They seem to have a good life. But not everything is as it seems. Patrick has stolen money from the local university where he works. When this is discovered, he is devastated. He disappears, leaving behind a note where he says that it is better for them if he is dead. When Patrick is pronounced dead, Elizabeth and the boys must try to start their lives all over. This is not easy for them, but they manage.

Ten years later, when the boys are 22 and 19, Elizabeth receives a letter from the social services which tells her that someone is using Patrick’s social security number. When she investigates, she discovers that Patrick is not dead at all. He has reinvented himself in a new state with a new name. Now he calls himself Timothy Michael Kingsbury.

How does Elizabeth and the boys respond to this situation? What happens with Patrick aka Timothy? I am not going to tell you. If you want to know the answer to these questions, you must watch the movie all the way to the end.

What do reviewers say about it? On IMDb it has a rating of 62 per cent; on Rotten Tomatoes it has an audience score of 31 per cent. If you ask me, these average ratings are too low.

This movie is captivating, dramatic, emotional, and - on top of everything else - based on a true story. The script is well-written and the actors play their roles well. I want to go all the way to the top with this product. I think it deserves a rating of five stars.

PS. You can find more information about the case on the website “Movies Based on True Stories Archives.”
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2017
I have mixed feelings on 'True Movies' as on the one hand i am partial to viewing true stories
or to be more accurate ones based on a true story as artistic licence for dramatic effect is
by and large taken in all of them, while on the other hand so many of them are poorly made and
acted. Therefore when i sat down to watch this on television the other night, i was not sure what
to expect.
What a pleasant surprise, the film was first class with a storyline that kept one firmly glued to the
screen and what is more the production itself was of the highest quality. Previous reviewers have
accurately told about the storyline and what i would like to do is comment on the production itself.
Firstly, Margaret Colin as 'Peach' is acting of the highest quality, while the rest of the cast are also
excellent. The cinematography is great with beautiful scenery and what i particularly liked was the
very real sound effects, it really did feel like what one experiences when one is outside at shops or
in the street or at the workplace. There was no amplification excess but having said this there were one
or two places where it was difficult to hear accurately what was being said, hence the 4 and not 5 stars.
If you come across this film watch it, it is excellent television filmmaking and would take its place with
the best of them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2017
Very good true movie, I really enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
My Husband's Double Life was brought on Amazon, because it came up on a list of recommended items. I love "True Movies" and have a vast collection of them. This was one of the better stories. It tells the tale of a man who commits suicide and leave's his devastated, and very reliant on him, wife to pick up the pieces and raise their two sons. Although there is no "twist" or "shock ending" in this, to see how it all unravels is brilliant. Those who often watch True Movies know that the quality is not often reliable, but this is well made and enjoyable.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
Absolutely a brilliant film! A must see. True story. Of a single mother left to rear 2 boys thinking her husband was dead.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2014
not watched yet
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2015
This a great movie and Margaret Colin was just wonderful in it she play and amazing mother to her children .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2014
This is a good dvd worth watching
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)