Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
45
4.4 out of 5 stars
Classic FM Movies - The Ultimate Collection
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 1 May 2017
Very easy to remove each CD, as packed separately rather than as one box with plastic partitions which break or come away too easily. Looks and sounds good. Would recommend choice of music from films like James Bond, Chariots Of Fire and my personal favourite the theme from Last of the Mohicans. Great cover.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2017
No where near the best of the Classic FM collection but it's pleasant and you'll obviously recognise a lot of tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2016
A very comprehensive selection of theme tunes which I thoroughly enjoyed and shall continue to enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2017
Love this CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 11 March 2008
The Classic FM `Movie Themes' 3 CD box sets appear on a annual basis. In 2006 we had `Classic FM at the Movies', in 2007 there was the `Sequel' and now we have the 2008 `Ultimate'.

The first and sequel sets were a good choice of music from popular films, the sequel making a particularly good buy because it consisted of tracks from a different selection of films than on the original.

The `Ultimate' title of this latest release implies that it's either the best one or the final one, but in my opinion it's neither. It's not the best for there is a considerable overlap with the music from the previous Classic FM Movie CDs, and it probably won't be the final one of its type thanks to the vast back catalogue of film music available. Disappointingly, if we exclude the three bonus tracks then around two thirds of the remaining 34 tracks are from films featured on the previous two Classic FM sets.

It should also be noted that as with the previous Classic FM Movie CDs the music may not be the exact version as that used in the film. This is made clear on the rear of the box, and while this is usually due only to a different orchestra or artist than in the original film rather than a wildly differing sound, those with a concern over this would be better choosing the original film soundtrack CD.

The three bonus tracks featuring Myleene Klass, Jonathan Ansell and Hayley Westenra may convince some to go for this set, but those who have the previous two releases should expect some repetition.

Considering the price this is a good value 3CD set for those who don't already have the first two. Given the huge choice of film music available though I would like to have seen far more new material used to make it a more attractive continuation in the series. More satisfactory perhaps would be an annual release of music from that particular year, such as a `Classic FM Movie Music 2008'.

The box of popcorn on the front cover may look nice for some people, but for others it may seem stale.
0Comment| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2008
Classic FM Movies- The Ultimate Collection overlaps with previous editions to a large degree. In other words, we are listening to same movie tracks featured in previous editions in this three disc set. The album offers no fresh movie tracks to listen to, but offers some bonus tracks from today hottest classical artists. The title of the album seems inappropriate bearing mind we are spoilt with huge cinema choice today. Why not feature the newest tracks rather than exhaust listeners with timeless classics? Combining the best movie tracks from previous editions seems a pointless task and releasing a new version with a pop corn cover is a typical marketing gimmick to allure buyers in the album.

The tracks featured in this album are pleasurable to listen to. The greatest movie to embrace cinematic history range from Star Wars, Lord of the Rings,Great Escape and Out of Africa are featured. The tracks are brilliant and great easy listening, but the cinematic experience will not click much on light what I have mentioned.

I think Classical FM would have been better launching an oringinal version featuring today's hottest movie tracks. Too much of a glimmick to sell a product with attactive artwork. Creativity is a great selling point, but it is the end product and how it percived with buyers, that makes the difference. On the light on what I have mentioned, the album is just same old material which exhaust listeners and makes it a shamelessly a disspointing album.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2010
I bought this as a little gift for my daughter in law to cheer her up ... and it worked! She wrote to tell me that she had been caught on several occasions singing out loud in the car to the amazement of other people at the traffic lights.

Joking apart, the CD has everything and makes a great gift, for your own pleasure or for others. Delivery was excellent.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2015
It's OK but at times the choice of orchestra and tracks is disappointing. Especialy sad that my favourite (and Aled Jones's as stated on Classic FM) ie the John Dunbar theme from Dances with Wolves is so short and the tempo is so slow. Having just heard it on Classic FM really brings this home.
Packaging is rather disappointing as well, using the printed side of the disc as the reverse of the container. Also bit of a hodge podge of choices. Perhaps they ought theme the discs eg - romantic, stirring, relaxing etc.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2016
These CDs are really of inferior quality. The CDs are so thin they won't play on a proper CD player .. I thought it was a problem with my CD player until I brought a cd into my local Hifi shop.. The same problem occurred, it just spins & wont read properly because the mechanism in a CD player won't grip the cd because it's so thin.. There doesn't seem to be a problem playing in the car obviously it's a different mechanism.. Shame on classic fm for employing a cheap & nasty company to make there CDs.. I bought 2 cd boxes off classic fm & it's the same company with the same problems.. I certainly won't be buying any CDs off classic fm again & advise anyone who is thinking of buying these CDs .. NOT TO....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
I love classical music, especially from movies. This album is phenomenally good, makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand up just thinking about it. It is a fantastic way to start your day too, I work in a VERY quiet office, so I get in in the mornings, put my headphones in and start my day with a blast of Star Wars, would could be better!? Top notch Classic FM!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)