Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
60
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 March 2017
Been looking for this movie for years! So happy I finally found it again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2008
Ah, this was just gorgeous, the lovable Keri Russel gives a true heart-felt performance. This film is simply lovable, it borders on cheesy but stays just outside that description because of the well-written script and wonderful characterisations.

It really is an unsung gem and I highly recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
Seen this lovely film before but mislaid it so wanted another copy. It's a feel good simple and happy film which does one good to watch once in a while.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2014
Very good quality. Very pleased with purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2009
If you like quirky, imaginative movies with a charming but not rose coloured view, 'Waitress' is for you. All the shades of life are present. It's funny but sad, romantic but realistic, colourful with occasional grey - it's got the lot.
The central character played by Keri Russell is a highly skilled pie maker who dreams of escaping her controlling and sometimes violent husband by entering the national pie contest. The prize is enough money to escape but just as she's testing out recipes she discovers she is pregnant. This leads to a Doctor's appointment where she and the new Doc in town discover they cant keep their hands off one another! Her job at a diner brings 2 hilarious co-waitresses into proceedings and they all play beautifully off one another. You'll be rooting for a happy ending and it's kind of there but not as you might expect.
Adrienne Shelly who plays one of the waitresses also directed this film and sadly never lived to see its acclaim when premiered at film festivals. This adds extra poignancy to some of the scenes in a film I cant recommend highly enough.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 August 2008
Normally i would rather French kiss Pete Doherty than watch anything that comes under the heading romantic comedy. Yet Waitress somehow seduced me into wanting to watch it and i,m very glad it did as this is a modest but sparkling film with impressive naturalistic performances and a vivacious empathetic script.
Writer Adrienne Shelly also plays the part of dowdy waitress Dawn who works in Joes,s Diner along with vivacious Becky (Cheryl Hines) and ace pie baker Jenna ( Keri Russell) who can think up the perfect pie for any occasion. The " I don,t want Earls baby pie" in this case as she has just found she is expecting her first child to her controlling bully of a husband Earl ( Jeremy Sisto). Not too surprisingly she views the impending sprog as a further chain around her neck. Release arrives in the form of new doctor in town,Dr Jim Pommater( Nathan Fillion) who she begins an awkward but none the less passionate affair with . The owner of the diner , not too surprisingly called Joe( Andy Griffith) , is a gruff finicky old grouch but has a bond with him and he tells her "i,t,s never too late" and that's the advice that forms the central precept of this film to fuzzy edged golden glowing effect.
While i would,nt go along with the opinion that this movie is hilarious - to me i,its more wryly amusing than anything - i do,nt think this prevents Waitress being a consistently enjoyable experience. The performances are uniformly terrific.Keri Russell is outstanding in the lead, fresh and pretty ( even when huffing and puffing sweatily in labour ) she radiates an innocent sex appeal . Less innocent but no less sexy is Cheryl Hines who gets most of the best comic lines. And if the ending is overly confected feel good blamange then so what? It,s that type of film.
Waitress is none the less a bitter sweet experience when you hear about the murder of Adrienne Shelley who never lived to learn of the films acceptance into the Sundance festival 2007, nor the universal praise that the film garnered on general release . Speaking as someone who has only ever liked one other romantic comedy -"When Harry Met Sally [1989] " - Waitress is something of a revelation . A heart-warming thoroughly likable pie of a movie.Sweet but not too sweet you end up queasily regretting over-indulging.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 August 2011
Don't try and watch this with a man on the sofa, I doubt if they would enjoy it, and they would probably just annoy you by sighing and scratching during the romantic bits.

Keri Russell's performance in this film is perfect - the waitress in a dead-end diner, with a bully of a husband, who finds herself pregant and couldn't care less about the baby - a lot to act, but she does it so well, including the animal lust for her new doctor....

The ensemble cast is what makes this film work so well, all the actors are working so hard in every scene, there are literally no duff moments. That is down to the writer and director, Adrienne Shelley (who plays the waitress with the pasty skin).

I didn't realise until I watched the extras on the DVD that she was sadly murdered in her own home before the film was released. The fact that it is her own child who plays the part of Lulu at the end of the film is now especially poignant, but what a sublime piece of work she has left behind. RIP Adrienne.

Watch this film, it might make you look at your own priorities, too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2009
The first time I watched this with my boyfriend we were both in hysterics. It was more due to the idea of the repeated pie scenes than anything else and I dismissed the film as a waste of a fiver.

A couple of months later I picked it up again and watched it alone. This time I still laughed but it was due to the witty screenplay. This time though it also touched me how sad and tragic this story is. Yes, it is a romantic comedy but the torturous situation that Jenna (Keri Russell) finds herself in does strike a certain chord.

Her extreme apathy for the baby she is having is hysterical and throughout you find yourself laughing and crying at the same time. It's definitley a film that needs to be seen in different lights before you judge it.

And the pies weren't all that bad after all.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
Poor script, and unrealistic/ caricatures. Wanted to see it before the musical. Hope they've fleshed it out!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2017
Stunning fantasy, pastiche styling with gritty true life elements; totally original with big feel good elements
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£22.78
£12.69

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)