Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
22
3.9 out of 5 stars


on 17 March 2017
Great item thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2009
1st off can I start by saying how much I love the boxing game on Wii Fit. However, as anyone who has played it will know it does have it's limitations. Therefore, I purchased this title as I was after something a bit more gritty, with more of a sense of realism. On the graphics front it's by far the best I've seen for the Wii & the choice of boxers & training modes are excellent. However, the punching can be a little diffecult to get used to as body blows rely on a combination of buttons & movements. In fact I've lost count as to the number of times I've accidently paused the game just as I'm about to throw a killer punch!

You can play with or without the balance board but I personal found it to be more of a hindrance than a help. Also, if you're like me & you're over 6 foot tall then unless your telly is wall mounted you might find the camera angles when using the balance board a bit off putting.

Sadly my two biggest grips are;

1) In order to move around the ring you use the joystick on the Nunchuck controller. However, this is about as responsive as a fork in jelly & at times it can feel like your wasting valuable energy chasing your opponent round the ring.

2) It's just not that much fun! the developers seem to have missed the point that it's neither violent enough (Fight Night3) to get your heart pumping, or silly enough (Punch Out!!!) to be fun.
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2009
There are a surprising number of recognisable faces in this game. There are British Superstars like Calzaghe, Benn and Eubank as well as a host of world champions like Pavlik and Abraham.

The gameplay is good as you are looking through your fighter at your opponent. You move the boxer with the nunchuk and if you have a balance board you can bob and weave. Don't be put off if you don't have a balance board as you can still play the game without it.

Punches are thrown in a similar way to those on wii sports but you also gain power punches when you land good shots or make your opponent miss. I have noticed that some of the punches don't always come out right such as when I try to throw a hook it sometimes comes out as an uppercut, but this could be down to me not yet mastering the moves after only three days of playing it.

There are no 12 round fights which at first seems a little disapointing but is probably for the best if you are standing throwing punches yourself. It means you can get through more fights before tiring yourself out. Also I have not yet gone more than two rounds in any of my fights because every one has ended in a knock out.

The training and story (career) modes are both designed to keep you coming back to the game, as the more you train the better your fighter gets. The story involves your character (The Kid) working his way through the ranks, as well as challenges to win classic fights.

The Wii seems to be waiting for a great boxing game and while this is not perfect, is the best anyone has come up with so far. It has a realism but still keeps an arcade feel so that anyone can play it.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2009
As an ex boxer I am not generally impressed with fighting games,however, I have had this for a couple of weeks and can't keep off it. It is by far the best and most realistic fighting game that I have seen. This game works well with Wii Balance Board but can also be used without it. The story line is stereotypical but I bought it for the workout value and am not disappointed. This game ensures that I raise a good sweat whilst giving my muscles a good workout. As with any game, you can take short cuts but if you make the effort to try and do everything properly you will feel and see the benefit. Simple enough for the whole family to use and enjoy whilst also making you push yourself harder to beat your previous records.
11 Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
I find the trouble with fight or training sims on the Wii is that they are either too responsive, or not responsive enough; Don King Boxing generally falls into the latter of these categories.
I've only tried this game with the nunchuks, so I can't say what balance board game play is like. It is quite fun to play and can be very satisfying when you land a decent punch combination, but these victories are generally reserved for the earlier bouts on story mode. The more advanced fighters require a bit more strike-block-evasion and combo skill than this game can produce. Aligning yourself with the sensor can be tricky; often you may find yourself punching one-handed, meaning combos are out of the question sometimes. Gameplay can rapidly fall apart until it's flail your arms about like a kid on Wii Sports Boxing time!!! Having to use the buttons and joystick on the 'chuks can spoil it badly too.
Overall a fun game to play, and has a fair bit of longevity as a fitness supplement, but don't expect to box like a pro with this control scheme.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2009
This is a great little game whether you:

1 want to add an additional fun element to your fitness/cv programme
2 experience a fun sports game
3 work off some aggression
4 a combination

Far more to the game than just story mode.
Unlike many other games training and free play ads to the game rather than just add-ons.

ONLY RECOMMENDATIONS ARE :

1 get a wireless nunchuck (on wii) for better gameplay
2 no customisation of boxers (well i cant find it)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
GREAT WORK OUT WITH DON KING, IT REALLY DOES WORK EVERY PART OF YOUR BODY FRROM YOUR ARMS, HIPS,
LEGS, REALLY HARD WORK BUT IT IS WORTH WHILE.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2009
This is a very good way to exercise, that is if you like boxing of course.

The nunchuck & the remote are used together, once the tutorial is understood. Then select exercises from punchball, skipping, punch exercise or punchbag, or go direct to boxing with an opponent.

The balance board can be used as well. The instruction book isn't that clear but it seems that by pressing the switch on the balance board its sensed through the program somehow, then its just select play with remote only or remote & balance board.

The only quibble I have is the menu system, takes awhile to load, then its not clearly labelled what part I'm selecting. For instance, selected punchbag, practised, press quit, wait for it to load, select what I thought was a differnet exercise but end up with punchbag again.

Perhaps its just me, after I've used it a few more times than it probably may not be a problem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2012
suitably packaged arrived in good time for present.
Unfortunately children grew tired of the game Very quickly graphics not as they thought not as interactive as they thought either.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2011
Bought this for my little boy, he loves it. quite easy to get to grips with. Various difficulty levels. Good for all the family. X
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)