Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
195
4.3 out of 5 stars
Price:£9.90+ Free shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 March 2017
Item arrived in good time and well packaged,took quite a long time to download with steam but no probs in the end and all aspects of game present and available. Very good game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2015
Average game, better ones now out there
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2008
Medieval II is the successor to 'Rome' and the original 'Medieval: Total War', combining the best of the two games while adding a lot of great new features to the gameplay.

It puts you in command as a Medieval King, Sultan or Emperor, where you must lead your armies to victory over Europe and Asia, while building and maintaining a sprawling empire. The game is essentially split in two, allowing you to command huge armies in real-time battles in one section, and a turn based empire-builder in another.

The graphics are truly stunning, and the game is easily the best looking RTS on the market. The battle animations are also a wonderful new addition, allowing you to see your soldiers pull off some nifty sword work on the battlefield. The artillery and cannon loading sequences are also pretty good. It's the little details like these that make the game worth buying.

The game itself is packed full of features. You have the ability to play a 'Grand Campaign' which puts you in control of a certain Medieval faction over the course of 450 years of warfare. The 'Kingdoms' expansion allows you to play through several historical scenarios such as the Spanish conquest of the Americas, the Crusades, the Teutonic Wars and the 13th century conquests in Britain. Each scenario allows you to play as various new factions, be it Ireland, Lithuania or the Aztecs etc.

You can also try your hand at winning a historical battle such as Hastings, Pavia, Otumba or Acre. This puts you in command as various historical personages such as Richard the Lionheart, William the Conqueror or Hernan Cortes. You can even design your own custom battles!

With so much features, it will take months of gameplay to go through it all. I still haven't seen a quarter of what the game has to offer.

I've been wanting to play Medieval II for around 2 years, but my old PC wasn't up to the game's huge system requirements. Now that I have a new computer, I can safely say that the wait was worth it. Still, it is worth noting that even with a beefy computer you still need to turn down some of the features. For instance, I need to have features such as grass or shadows switched to the lowest settings if I want to play a medium sized battle - and that's with 2 GBs of RAM, a 512 MB Geforce 8400 card, and a powerful Intel processor. The game is also compatible with Windows Vista Home Premium, but it's better suited to Windows XP, especially if you want to edit the game files.

Medieval II: Total War is defiantely worth getting!
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2015
Delivered quickly however wasn't very clear on the very important fact that you need to have internet before you can even install it
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2011
I won't say anything about gameplay as the total war series is well known and if you have alread liked other editions of this series you will probably like this too.

I want to clarify 2 or 3 things that baffled me before buying this product so that it will be easier for the rest.

This edition (the gold edition) is already patched. this means that it is read updated and bugfixed so you dont have to look for updates from the official site or anything.

It includes 2 dvds; the first has the main game and the americas expansion on and the second the rest three expansions. When you install the game there is a small time gap after the end of the installation of each expansion and beginning of the next. (a prompt window pops up and asks you to press next) so while installing if you notice some inactivity dont worry it is probably because of that, it happens even to fast PCs.

It works with windows 7. I am playing the game in win 7 x64. No problem at all.

You will need at least directX 9. But you can find it on the first dvd of the game.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 August 2008
I do not think any words will do justice for this game, so I will keep this very short and to the point:
-Good things: everything really, graphics are superb, the strategy itself, the battles are just the best thing i have ever seen on a pc screen, extremely addictive game, i spent almost 9 hours on it when I first installed it, and the only thing that kept me from going on was having to go to work. Very enjoyable to play, and unlike other strategy games where you spend lots of time gathering resources then you lose in 10 seconds, this is something a lot more thought provoking, and needs some real skills.
Bad points: you need a very good PC to play this game, and a large amount of Rams, the more the better.
- Caused my PC to crash and freeze a couple of times (running on 1 Gig Ram)

This is by far the best, most enjoyable and addictive game in the market so far, and much better than the previous editions, cannot wait to get the new one coming soon. Get it now, but be warned, this will take your life away.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2010
First off I loved this game and have got alot out of playing it both single player and online.

The main game starts in about 1080 and has alot of the major powers you would expect to see of the period most of which are also playable. People have moaned about how similar the troop types for alot of them are, but to be honest Rome was no better in this score so I don't see why people complained like this was a new thing. The campaign map is a little larger and later comes to include the Americas though this comes quite late on into the game, so this doesn't play that big a part in the game overall. There are also the introduction of priests, princesses and merchants. The Princesses I liked though it did seem hard to actually get a decent one, yappy little dogs and smothering guards seemed to take their toll too often. That said they added nicely to diplomatic options and made possible marriage alliances, with their own set of perks which was a nice touch. the merchants and priests though were just too fussy and annoying and really I think just added a rather laborious layer to the game that could have perhaps been dealt with in another way. I also preffered the way the units performed in this game to Rome (No overpowered Roman faction). People have complained about how units tend to have difficulty engaging, this is a problem though not always. The cavalry charges for instance I think are spot on. They get broken up and deflected easily, but when they do hit the mark they can decimate whole units in a single charge, sometimes damaging a second to boot! However it is annoying when infantry units do not engage properly, which seems to be the case and can at times seem to hang back not doing alot.

Another problem for me was that on very hard settings the game just chucks stack after stack at you often from multiple factions. I can play like this, but it forces you into fighting endless castle defence battles that after a while just get tiresome. Of course I want difficulty, but not merely by just the repetition of endless stacks being chucked at castles.

The clincher for the Total War games is of course the battles and not withstanding some of the failings I've already described they are awesome and offer you plenty of tactical possibilities in terms of units to use and how you use them in conjunction with terrain. You can despite what some people have said turn aside large armies with a modest force, but it's not as possible as it was in Rome to do it with a single unit of cavalry. There simply aren't many games out there offering this style of tactical combat combined with strategy so this game and (some) others of this series are offering something relatively unique.

So there you are it's not a perfect beast, but it does offer depth and originality in spades!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2010
This game should be viewed more as the Rome: Total War game in different clothing rather than a direct sequel.

Using the Rome: Total War engine to remake Medieval: Total War seemed an excellent idea at the time given the critical acclaim that the former received for its magnificent game play and epic scope.
The problem with doing so was that it was always going to have a lot to live up to in terms of game play.

Other reviews have already stated the general premise of the game and its similarities and differences to Rome so I'm going to instead focus on the downsides.

Firstly is the absence of Arcade-Style Battles. While many people appreciate the Total War series for the realism in which it depicts combat, the omission of this entertaining mode is an odd decision.

The addition of merchants, princesses and priests in addition to the spies, assassins and diplomats seems needless and often leaves you waiting impatiently for the computer to move all its pieces about. A task that becomes increasingly laborious to watch as you own more territory.

Whilst the much improved armor of the era provides more protection and lets your soldiers last longer in combat, it also presents an issue when the unit scale is set to huge. Clashes take much more time than in Rome and almost discourage you from full-scale battles.

The ability to lead a crusade or jihad was a nice touch but ultimately it's a novelty more than anything else.

If you're a fan of the original game and haven't played Rome: Total War then I suggest you start with that. If you're a fan of R:TW and want more of the same then this is a great purchase given the price.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2012
I have not played this for several years... At this price I decided to buy a copy just to keep it in my collection, to remind me of the good old times;) When the game arrived I decided to install it, just to see how the graphics would look on my brand new gaming rig. I started a campaign playing Venice (hard/hard). I regained consciousness at 4 o'clock in the morning after conquering Constantinopol... After all this years, MEDIEVAL 2 is still a great game. Now I have to go as I need to play trough each expansion pack at leat once more:)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2008
Having owned and thoroughly enjoyed the first 'Medieval Total War' my expectations were quite high for this edition. Some reviews had also made me a little worried about the progression in game play and concept, but this was all dispelled upon my first play. Rather than armies simply being moved from region to region, mountains and lakes have to be negotiated as armies shape their way through the terrain. These paths can also be used as important strategic strongholds, or ambush locations for other unsuspecting passing armies. The first edition lacked terrain on the main campaign map and this is perhaps the biggest change when first playing the game.

The main beauty of Total War II is how detailed both parts of the game are. For those who have not played the game, the game is broadly divided into two sections - firstly a map style campaign, similar to Civilization or the board game Risk and secondly individual battle scenarios. The game can therefore be played as both a strategy game and/or a battle one. Battles can be resolved automatically or commanded personally depending on how long or short you want the game to be.

In terms of playing time, the game does require a large amount of attention if you want to succeed as a ruler. Turns cannot simply be skipped in order to save money or for a building to be finished, as otherwise other `factions' will leave you in their wake. With experience and patience a huge European Empire can be under your grasp, but just when you think you have the game cracked, new and more powerful factions appear from the east, natural disasters strike cities, the plague sweeps through Europe and then America is discovered. Unlike many strategy games that become tedious and repetitive over time, these events help keep the game interesting.

The expansion pack features four mini-versions of the main game. Each is as detailed as the main game, but concentrates on specific areas such as Britain and the Middle East. These are equalling rewarding to play and I found the Crusades Campaign (which I still have yet to complete) perhaps even more compelling and addictive than the main game.

Overall Medieval Total War II is an absolute masterpiece of a game and coupled with the expansion pack it becomes the only game you will want to play for a long time.
0Comment| 130 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 22 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)