Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
Count Arthur Strong's Radio Show - Second Series
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£18.67+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 25 January 2015
Both orders of this item have been returned because CDs were faulty and kept jumping.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2015
I bought this for my Dad - he loves the Count's radio show, but only got into it a few series in after chancing upon it. I bought him the first two series on CD, and he listens to them all the time (Sunday is Count Arthur day for him) - so all of his birthdays, Christmases and Father's Days are sorted for a while to come! The only drawback is that he keeps on talking to me in Count-isms (eg saying Ilfracombe instead of Internet) assuming that I understand them all, which i don't, because I've never listened to it... But the joy in his voice when he talks about Count Arthur is obvious, and I love to listen to him recounting the stories to me. Wonderful stuff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 March 2008
I don't really understand why there have been complaints about this show. Some people will just moan about anything, especially those that just don't 'get it' straight away. And there will always be those that don't, in the same way as some didn't get Monty Python or Rowan and Martin's Laugh-In in the beginning.
Although the character Count Arthur Strong portrays a doddering gentleman probably in his late 60's, (You can almost imagine that this is the sort of character that Harry Worth would have ended up morphing into in his shows thirty years on), I would guess that Steve Delaney is possibly only in his late thirties. But that is only a guess, such is his ability to portray this aging character so well.
The living legend that is Count Arthur Strong stumbles from one crisis to another dragging down everyone else with him within a half-mile radius, leaving chaos and pandemonium (a small keyboard instrument with pedals, according to the Count) in his wake. The well written scripts are very funny, and have many 'laugh out loud' moments, so much so that on several occasions I have had to flip back to listen again to some gags I missed due to still laughing over the previous one.
Series two is of course more of the same where series one left off, and although you could start with this set and subsequently purchase series one, you can hear how the character has developed over time. I love the way his voice changes inflection when he is talking to, then subsequently arguing with himself over something or other. The scripts are written and performed by the man himself, and I for one will be first in the queue for series three. Episode three in series two also includes a guest appearance from Barry Cryer, no less.
If you have heard a little of the Count before, buy this set of discs, you won't be disappointed. If you haven't heard any of the Count before and are partial to a little off the wall comedy, then buy this set of discs, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2017
Five stars for the funniest thing I have heard in years. It's a re-run of the original radio series of course but I find myself wanting to listen to it again and again. All of Steve Delaney's stuff is brilliant, although the first series remains for me the best and funniest. Nonetheless a classic comedy collection worth buying in its entirety for me. A tad overpriced would be my only criticism.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2017
This is my first Count Arthur Strong purchase; an absolute gem of character creation… I can hear traces of vaguely remembered elderly uncles from long ago, especially when he musters all his dignity to reprimand his latest victim in his most superior tone of voice.
The section where he is trying to say “welcoming” is worth the price of the entire box set. Two more series winging their way to me via Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2016
The Count on Radio is an utter masterpiece and shows up how poor the TV Series was in comparison. With the Radio shows you can listen to them again and again, still finding something new and amusing, Most of us have met 'bonkers' deluded men who think that they are never wrong, in this case basking in the reflected glory of a career that never was..."so that's interesting" as the Count says, "I really do".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2015
The sanitised version of Count Arthur on BBC TV is funny enough - especially playing off the magnificent Rory Kinnear - but If you haven't heard the original radio show, lucky you. What a treat awaits. This Count Arthur is more calculating, bumbling, malaprop and selfish but his scrapes and disasters far more elaborate and hilarious. Each episode is wonderful, but listen out for a sparkling guest appearance from comedy legend Barry Cryer in episode 4, " After Dinner Speech. ". Peerless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 October 2017
Count Arthur is a buffoon: he mangles the English language, rarely listens,and is therefore a delight for the ears.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2008
Steve Delaney is one phenomenally talented comedy actor. Radio 4 is already known for the high quality of its comedy output, but this material is their "Crème de la Crème". Count Arthur Strong (Delaney) is the middle-aged, fumbling, penny-pinching master of the malapropism. The convincing Yorkshire accent and skilfully affected speech impediment are superb - as is Delaney's small pool of supporting actors. This particular style of humour is not everyone's cup of tea, but I find it side-splittingly funny.

There are 6 episodes in a series, each episode being 28 minutes long as the crow flies. It's all recorded before a live audience. Each malapropism is hilarious enough in its own right, and there are literally scores in each episode. But almost as funny again is the Count's desperate flustering to recall the CORRECT word each time. The delivery and timing of the gags are what make this a true masterpiece of radio comedy. So if you're a fan of malapropisms and verbal screw-ups in general, order your copy without further adieu!

Many people have written autobiographies about Arthur Strong. Although he mixes with people from Oxford or Camshaft, he doesn't expect anyone to stand on celery. In his professional cavity, the Count gives motivational talks to rooms full of empty people, often employing Reverse Psychosis - a technique he learnt from a Chinese philosopher named Confusion. Arthur believes supermarkets should have celebrity aisles so VIPs don't have to rub soldiers with the pepperoni. Mad men give lunatics a bad name, and that's why head-cases are stigmatised...the bloody idiots!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 June 2015
His shows are hilarious! Once tuned in to his manic style he can leave you with aching ribs!! I often chuckle out loud thinking of his ludicrous situations he gets himself into; we have several CDs in our car and journeys seem to slip by listening to his shows. I'd highly recommend both his radio and TV shows. What a hoot!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)