Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 February 2008
Dallas Green's second full-length album is very different from his first release 'Sometimes' and in many ways better, maturer and fresher. With tracks like 'Sleeping Sickness' with guest vocals by Gordon Downie, you come to appreciate Dallas' delicate lyrics.

The album also features three tracks from the previously released 'Live' album. These three tracks sound completely different and have much more depth and quality compared to the already fantastic live versions.

This is an album you must own and cherish, they don't come about too often these days.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2008
'Sometimes' has been an album which i've listened to consistently since i got in 2005. It was, in my eyes, a classic album.

Bring me your love instantly asserts itself as a step up from 'sometimes', showing that dallas green has not only matured instrumentally but is extending his already superb vocal capabilities. The introduction of a wider array of instruments really does take this album to dizzying heights.

I knew this album would be great, but i never realised how a slight change in direction can keep all the things you loved about the first album and accentuate them to create what can only be described a pure brilliance.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2009
Heard about Dallas Green from overhearing someone listening to "As much as I ever could" on YouTube.Had to explore a little further so I purchased this album.It is flawed, the production sounds like it has been done on the cheap, but the songs at times are beautiful,lyrically,melodically and with real atmosphere and emotion, I would recommend this Album
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2008
The second album by city and colour which consists of one real member in dallas greene of alexisonfire is very self assured and ditches the sparseness of his debut,in comes some drums,harmonica,organ and various other bits and pieces to give the album some pomp and this improves things in my estimation.
The album contains some tracks that have been heard before on his live album but are better served here,the album has a folky feel to it at time but remains by and by and a very acoustic album with pain and redemption as the focal points.
Dallas brings tracks of real quality to the table in the form of 'waiting''the death of me' and 'this girl' along with the briliant 'confessions' but he suffers with the average feel of 'sleeping sickness' and 'sensible heart' but for the most part these songs make an impression and are hard not to take the melodies on board from the first spin.
This album isnt perfect but it has charm and a real sense of purpose attached so i have decided to award this a four star rating,well done.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2008
If you are only going to buy one album this year make sure it's this one. Alexisonfire front man Dallas Green has produced swathes of uplifting masterpieces contrasting depressive and doomy lyrics. A masterstroke and so sympathetic to his unique vocal style.

Recorded in an old church (Catherine North Studios, Hamilton), the album oozes ambience and has a distinctive feel of a confident songwriter at the top of his game.
Waiting (as in Waiting to die) is typical of the tome of the album but with such classics coming at you from every corner (Confessions, Sleeping Sickness, What Makes a Man) you'll soon forget (or be enraptured by the melancholy) and want to play this record over and over again. A monumental achievement.

5/5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2008
This is the second solo album of Dallas Green, trading under the name City and Color. In contrast to Green's day job fronting a 'post-hardcore' band (whatever that might be) 'Bring Me Your Love' is spare, stripped back acoustic folk. The sparse instrumentation, often just banjo and acoustic guitar, support a surprisingly accessible set of songs in the singer songwriter tradition, ethereal, delicate, full of introspective melancholy, and yet hopeful. Vocally, comparisons might be made with Iron and Wine or Bon Iver, but the arrangements are less developed than on those artist's recent albums and partly as a result, 'Bring Me Your Love' is a less distinctive offering.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
Good array of songs my favrouite being the Girl, it is a good indie album must have, with whimsical romantic lyrics that make me smile. :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
If you like city and colour buy it , if you think you might like them buy it, great stuff
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
Really, really amazing album. Bought for my boyfriend for Christmas and apparently he'd been looking for this vinyl for ages. Super impressed. Also some of Dallas Greens best work IMO. Fantastic musician, amazing artwork.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
Pure gold from Dallas Green aka City & Colour. I love the indie folk/rock vibe and the simplicity of his songs - pure gold in your hands
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.48

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)