Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
24
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.65+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 September 2016
The first ever academy awards were held in 1928 and were for movies in 1927 and 1928. The Oscars went to some of the greatest silent movies ever made such as "Seventh Heaven". The second academy awards took place in 1930 for films made in 1929 and the award for "Outstanding Picture" went to "The Broadway Melody", a film advertised on the movie posters as "Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer's Talking, Singing, Dancing Dramatic Sensation". I hate to say it but the arrival of talkies definitely produced awards for movies below the standard of the great silents of the late 1920s.

Charles King, the male lead, introduced two great songs in "The Broadway Melody" which he delivers as though he is Al Jolson, and "You Were Meant For Me" but his film career deservedly ended in 1930 and he returned to Broadway. His performance is disappointing. The female leads, Bessie Love and Anita Page, were much better. Without them the film would have been just an average hoofer movie.

This film is, of course, getting on for ninety years old so you would expect the sound and picture quality to be not up to par even digitally remastered. That is so with this product. It can't be helped but there it is.

Is it enjoyable? - well yes it is if you like old movies with decent tunes and some good acting amongst the mediocre. Is it worth seeing for it's film history value? - undoubtedly yes. Will I be blown away? - well no.

I enjoyed it. I love film and this is an interesting product of it's age but there are other better musicals that from the early thirties that stand the test of time much better.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2015
The screen's first musical - it is the shape of things to come. What followed was better, but as the template this makes fascinating viewing and Anita Page and Bessie Love are well worth watching in one of those backstage Broadway show stories. It got the Oscar and one can see why. It also shows what the musicals Kelly would end up making in Singin' In The Rain would be like. Really worth acquiring if you like the Hollywood musical.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2017
Plays on my computer ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
very pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2009
This vintage musical has actually stood the test of time remarkably well. Considering the fact that the film musical was in its infancy in 1929 and that there were technical challenges in terms of recording sound and camera movement, the makers of "The Broadway Melody" did a good job. It is an entertaining back stage story which is well paced with the familiar mix of heartbreak and humour.

Three of the most popular songs of 1929 were introduced to the public through this motion picture: Broadway Melody; The Wedding Of The Painted Doll and the evergreen You Were Meant For Me. "The Wedding Of The Painted Doll" is the most elaborately staged and still glitters after 80 years.I also enjoyed "Truthful Pason Brown" sung by a male quartette with guitar accompaniment - a real period piece.

Bessie Love gives an impressive performance and is at ease with the new medium. Leading man, Charles King, is more theatrical and Anita Page stunningly eyecatching. It should be borne in mind that these actors were making the transfer between silent films, where actions were exaggerated to express a plot, and the more natural style of the talkies. They were learning a new craft and I think performed well under the then unnatural conditions.

The film copy is generally good but the picture quality deteriorates in the scene where Queenie recieves flowers for her birthday - though not for too long. The extras include an MGM short called "The Dogway Melody" which recreates parts of the main feature with the addition of other songs like "Singin' In The Rain". This is a bizarre and rather disturbing film with dogs dancing, acting, singing and playing instruments!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2005
Considering this film came out in 1929 and was the first real example of what we would recognise today as a "backstage musical" I have to say it really is outstanding. No, it's not as good as "Top Hat" or "42nd Street", but really, how could you expect it to be? Considering that "The Jazz Singer", the first real talkie, came along only two years earlier, this is nothing short of a marvel - it's as far ahead of that film as "The Matrix" is ahead of "The Day The Earth Stood Still". The DVD transfer, both sound and picture-wise, is far, far better than I myself expected, and though they sure won't appeal to everyone, the 2 hours of features (short subjects from around the time of the film's release,) included here add to the experience no end. My only criticism is that there isn't a booklet, there are no on-screen production notes, and there is no commentary. For such a landmark picture as this - in actual fact this was the first film ever to win the Oscar for Best Picture - I don't think some kind of factual background info would have gone amiss, in whatever form. Nevertheless, trust me, this is one of the best DVD releases EVER of a movie from the transitional late-20s / early-30s period, and it should be an integral part of any serious movie buff's collections whether they're especially fond of musicals or not. "Chicago" it ain't, but if you can accept the fact that this film is 75 years old and make a few allowances for the technical problems the cast and crew must have faced in making it, this film cannot fail to brighten up your life. Buy it right now.
11 Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2008
For its age this movie is extremely watchable and very entertaining. Its worth having just for the position it takes within the history of the American musical. the first musical actually written for the screen, all talking, singing and dancing, with the first proper musical film score, it is a fascinating movie with lots to recommend it.

Sure, some of the acting is typically wooden, as were many of the early talkies, but Bessie Love's acting is superb, easily out-shining the other members of the cast, and the songs are tuneful and well presented (particularly the title tune and @you were meant for me'). Any movie buff serious about their musicals just HAS to own a copy of such an important movie.

Brilliant extras too: particularly the short film 'Dogway Melody', if only for it being completely outlandish, with its dogs singing and dancing to their own version of the main feature.

Worth having.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2011
I've probably been a bit mean here with my rating as Ive been spoilt by all the later hollywood musicals but then again its me that has to watch it.I got this out of historical interest more than anything else and considering its age its story has worn surprisingly well and was the blueprint for all that followed in this genre.In spite of this slightly negative rating this is a fun film.
This was done well before the Hays office came into play and there are some quite risque moments here including a rather effete costume designer who complains that the hats he's made are getting crushed by the slightly(to modern eyes)plump dancers as they go through the door.To his "I designed the hats NOT the doors" comes the riposte "if you had they'd have been lavender"!
Also theres seems to be an inordinate lot of hugging and kissing going on between the two leading ladies which in those days probably didnt mean a thing but nowadays look suspiciously like the prelude to girl on girl action!
The bonus features are quite (unitentional )funny with a very camp master of ceremonies and a very bizarre feature featuring dogs doing a send up of the main feature!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2010
Most of my friends wouldn't even know that this film even exists, and I feel sorry for them. I love this film more than the "The Jazz Singer". The actors are good and did well when sound films were new and hard to make. The musical numbers are stunning, expecilly 'The Wedding of the Painted Dolls' which is my fav scene in the whole film. The condition of the film is good for a film of this age, and the sound is good too. The extras have a short film called "The Dogway Melody", a trailer gallery and a short called, "Musical: Van and Shenck". There are Korien subtitles, but you take them off. If you would rather have the Region 1 DVD then get it. But I would recomend this one if you don't want Region 1. I just can't recomend this DVD enough! I Love it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2015
I wanted to see what the first ever musical looked and sounded like, and wasn't diappointed in the least. I love this film, and more so every time I watch it because the characters/actors are so likeable. The restoration isn't bad at all, considering the film's age. Time, however harmful it can sometimes be, cannot take away the qualities that make a film good. Here for instance, the songs are catchy, the story believable, the pace fast, and the ending happy, even if it seems unlikely to happen for most of the picture, we finally get the conclusion we are all hoping for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)