Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
73
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 April 2017
exellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2017
Ace Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2016
Good album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2015
Great music, many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2017
Bought and didn't work on any of my devices so not happy with seller not very good not happy because a gift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2008
Firstly, I can't be the only one who remembers what mainstream rock was like ten years ago - metal was often ignored and derided by the rock press who fell in love with alternative, Nu-Metal and Brit Rock. So the possibility that BFMV could sell millions of albums can only be a good thing for all metal bands and fans alike.

Technically the album is brilliant - amazing guitar work and drumming with a very good production. But 'Scream Aim Fire' does sometimes sound a little too similar to Trivium. This is not the worst thing in the world but is basically just repeating the formula of combining the sounds and styles of vintage Metallica, Iron Maiden and Judas Priest. And while some of the riffing is truly inspired, one or two of the songs do start to sound a bit laboured in places. Maybe a more sustained aggressive vocal style would have actually helped to prevent this from happening, as the lyrics and vocals are the weakest part of this album. The lyrics are best described as cliched, even a little embarrassing sometimes. Matt Tuck's vocals are not the strongest and can let the songs down (as I've mentioned previously), Howard Jones (of Killswitch Engage) and Burton C. Bell (of Fear Factory) have shown how to combine melody and aggression within the same song, something that Tuck has yet to completely master. But in my opinion even the mighty James Hetfield struggled at times on the first two Metallica albums.

'Scream Aim Fire' is relatively commercial, but without ever sounding like selling out. While this appraoch to the album may not appeal to everyone there is certainly enough here to interest fans of bands such as Machine Head, Killswitch Engage, Megadeth, Funeral For A Friend and possibly even My Chemical Romance (although this is by no means an 'emo' album).

Despite my criticisms I felt it too harsh to award anything less than 4 stars for this album as while it may be flawed it is still musically sound, and could very well stand the test of time. BFMV are only on their second full album and show more than enough potential to suggest that they can eventually find their own unique musical identity. This could well be the album that they had to make in order to discover that identity.

Album number three should be their defining moment.....
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2008
Having read the mixed reviews about this album i was in two minds whether to buy it however being a huge fan of their last album 'Poison', i thought why not. From the off this album is full with stunning guitar playing for their young years with monster riffs throughout much like the previous album.
The drumming is equally superb and together with the standard BFMV screaming vocals this is a truly excellent album, the more you listen to it the better it gets.
I'm a fan of all metal bands so long as its structured and not just a mish-mash of noise, Scream Aim Fire has been very well written and is full to the brim with outstanding guitar work from Padge and is worthy of the 5 star rating.
You'll be humming 'Heart Bursts...' for the rest of the day.

A must buy for Bullet fans and newbies alike.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2008
I agree with this below me, i have listen to the whole album, excluding the bonus track, and it is REALLY good, some of the songs are classic bullet, and some are different, they are not bad, but if you expect this album to be completely different or classic bullet i would have to say the ratio shifts towards the more classic bullet.

The First two tracks are the weakest, eye of the storm, isnt a good song, the riffs n drums are all there, but matt's singing on this song is really annoying! scream, aim, fire is a much better song, but it isnt great, the breakdown and solo are fantastic though! i am glad that the two songs they have released are these two, coz its such a relief when you expect the rest of the album to sound like those to two, and then you listen to it, and it really ISNT!

There are some really good tracks on this album, so if your a major bullet fan, im sure you be dissapointed by the album, it's not as good as the poison, but it's still REALLY good! PLUS! you can get it for £8 from HMV, or amazon! its nothing really!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2008
While I am certain that many fans of Bullet for my Valentine will really hate this album because of it's slightly more comercial sound, I think it's a fantastic album with lots of great, memorable songs that will sit nicely in their live set with tracks off 'The Poison' and the EP. I will rin through the album track by track:

Scream Aim Fire - A great opener to the album and title track. As soon as I heard this song on Kerrang! I knew the album was going to be great. Great chours and solo. 9/10

Eye of the Storm - Another really strong track with some classic BFMV-style vocals and drumming. 8/10

Hearts Burst into Fire - Although this is extremely comercial and 'single material', I think that this is my favourite track on the album. It has a great chours and the guitar line in the chours is fantastic. 10/10

Waking the Demon - Another single, another great song. Unfortunately the video for this song is extremely cringeworthy. 8/10

Disappear - A fairly standard metal track. Nothing really special. 6/10

Deliver us from Evil - Another standard metal track. 7/10

Take it out on Me - This song apparently features Benji Webbe from Skindred but to be honest I don't really know what he does in it. I assume he sings. Not a very memorable song. 6/10

Say Goodnight - Quite a soft one by their standard. Nice mid-album break. 7/10

End of Days - Another standard metal track - 7/10

Last to Know - In my opinion this is a very strong track with great screams and guitars. 8/10

Forever and Always - Similar to 'The End' on 'The Poison'. I didn't really like that so I don't also really like this one. It drags out too much but I can imagine would be good for closing live sets. 6/10

As you can see, it's one of those albums with all the really good tracks (with the exception of 'Last to Know') at the beginning which means you spend the rest of the album waiting for that last good one. However, I would buy this album for the strong ones alone and their 'goodness' outways all the weak tracks. I will be seeing them live in November so I hope they're as good live as on the record.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2009
Metal has started to make a big comeback. Artists like these make a huge difference to the market of music and have started to turn the music industry back to metal. BFMV's first album, the poison, was brilliant and a lot of people (including me) thought that they could not produce another album of the same standard, but they have and it might even be better than `the poison'.
Their new album `Scream Aim Fire' is technically brilliant, the guitar and drums come through very solid. The guitar riffs in `Scream Aim Fire' and `Waking the Demon' are two of the best riffs I've ever heard. However some of the songs (particularly `Disappear') use some riffs similar to those used by Trivium in their album `Crusade'. The lyrics and vocals of the album are the weakest part. It is a shame that Matt's voice has still not recovered from his operation. You can still tell the strain in his voice.
1. SCREAM AIM FIRE - Great opener for the album, very good chug riff in the middle, followed by an average solo.
2. EYE OF THE STORM - Awesome riffs at the beginning which warm up to an amazing solo.
3. HEARTS BURST INTO FIRE - Beautiful opening and great lyrics.
4. WAKING THE DEMON - My second favourite on this album, very heavy with a lot of shredding
5. DISAPPEAR - Good riffs, but a bit sludgy at times.
6. DELIVER US FROM EVIL - The best song on the album, incredibly good song
7. TAKE IT OUT ON ME - Starts off heavy and gradually loses pace and `heaviness' and some amazing riffs towards the end.
8. SAY GOODNIGHT - Has a beautiful intro and solos, turns into a very heavy song at the end with a lot of guitar shredding.
9. END OF DAYS - Another heavy one, good strong riffs throughout and excellent screaming vocals.
10. LAST TO KNOW - A pretty good track, again, heavy.
11. FOREVER AND ALWAYS - Not as good as `the end' on `the poison' as a closing track but it is and ok track.
Altogether this is a brilliant album and will help BFMV go a long way, if you are into this style of music then this a great album for you, and for anyone looking into metal.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.88
£5.39
£9.33
£9.97

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)