Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
321
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 August 2010
I bought this to use temporarily after having my hip replaced. it has been in use for 6 days and in that time has slipped twice in use (despite checking that it was secure before getting into the shower). seems like a good idea and when the suction works it does what it should but despite making sure that the area is clean and dry before applying it I have had 2 painful slips as it has moved whilst using it. today one of the clips that apply the suction will not work. Rubbish!!!
11 comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2010
I bought two bath and shower grips for use in the shower above the bath. My house was assessed pre-operation by the hospital occupational therapist. She condemned the grips as unsafe,and arranged for two NHS approved grab rails to be supplied and screwed to the wall free of charge.
I found that the suction pads do not work in a warm, wet environment, eg. a shower. The grips can move along the wall. Also, the NHS approved grab rails are ribbed to allow a better grip with wet hands.
The only advantage of the suction grips is that they are easy to fit, and you can find the most comfortable position very easily.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2008
They didn't mention when selling that it should only be used for something to steady yourself with.
I bought 4 thinking they would help me get out of the bath.
How wrong I was.
0Comment| 79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2010
This product is poor to the point of being dangerous should a disabled person rely on it.

It sticks only for a few seconds and in no way matches the description given it by the seller.

The manafacturers should be prosecuted under both health and safety and the Trade descriptions act.

Disgusting.
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2009
For some reason mine kept falling of the wall into the shower tray. Although the tiles were clean and flat, it wouldn't stay on the wall for more then a few hours at a time.
In the end I had to fix it to the tiles with a strong waterproof adhesive.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2010
I bought this because I didn't want to spoil my bathroom with having to fix with screws, so I thought this would do.
You have to make sure you don't lean on it too heavy, or it comes away from the tiles. Sometimes it works, but if you really need to hold on to pull youself in and out the bath, then I would say "no" this product is not safe enough.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2012
these things are built down to a price,not up to function.the main problem is that the operating clips fail to lock into place as they do with more expensive models.(only slightly more expensive).the slightest disturbance-like touching them, -causes them to flip open.i can't see how serious injuries have been avoided .an underlying danger lies in the fact that if they are employed on a tiled surface,even the good ones,that is,adhesion is only as good as the adhesive bonding the tile to the wall.i have a couple of high quality ones doing improvised duty as handles on a slightly awkward sliding patio door,where they have given good service.but i would not entrust my safety to them.the only use i can imagine for the product being reviewed here is as a means to convince social services to fit proper safety rails---or they could feature as a novel form of demise in an agatha christie mystery........"she was old and frail you see ,inspector,and the murderer knew she always had a glars of sherry before her bath......."
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2011
This product worked very well when first applied to a clean surface and was impossible to remove, but unfortunately it lost all suction within 10 minutes.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2010
Works exactly as it should with very good suction.
Note for any of these devices the wall or surface attached to, has to be flat otherwise it doesn't hold too well. But with this one that is easily spotted as you can feel with the little locking levers if it's not providing a vacuum. If a weak action then it's not going to hold and if really stiff lever action then it's working OK. A useful indicator if you like.
My only criticism would be (and this is not against this product as is) is the fact that the diameter of the suction cups is so large - a smaller size would be better IMO for attaching to baths as often you don't have a large enough flat area to attach this to.

Overall though an excellent product - I recommend it.

UPDATE - November 2013 - Still using this handle just above the bath on the wall tiles. Still works perfectly. Every so often (perhaps months in between) one side looses it's grip, but simply lift the lever at that end, push the handle hard against the wall, push the lever down - and that's it for months again. Excellent product and not a lot to go wrong!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2016
Fantastic Value Grip.
Sticks hard and fast to my 6 inch tiles with no problems.
And is so easy to remove.
Has made Bathtime much safer.
UPDATE: 14/05/16
Its been in place since purchase, and a couple of friends popped round today, after telling them of the Grip
They tugged and tugged and could not shift it.
Still 5 Stars and some new orders for one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)