Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
14
4.5 out of 5 stars
Superabundance
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 March 2008
I brought this in Bath on Monday morning really really not knowing what to expect, I was just expecting an average indie album, but I was so so wrong. Fit 4 U kicks off the album superbly, and gives you a sort of preview of what to expect, you cannot help chanting to the lyrics of some of the songs on the album as if you have known all the songs for years, my standout track for the album would have to be Turn Tail, it is an excellent track , i think myself already it is one of the best album tracks of 2008, it has to be a future single. Terra Firma is also a good track. All the album is superb, if you liked the debut album get this and you will be blown away, I promise you, you will not be disappointed, Unless you listen to NME.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2008
This is a totally underrated album by the magnificent Young Knives. Its classic edgy indie rock. The first half of the album is similar to stuff found on the excellent 'Voices of Animals and Men', with a polished feel. The album gets more interesting from Turn Tail onwards. Mummy Light the Fire, with its magnificent psychedelic feel, Flies and Current of the River totally change the feel and tempo of the album, hoisting it to 'classic' in my book. There is something slightly sinister about the Knives, especially when the House of Lords is singing, which I like, in particular and this feeling certainly increases towards the end of the album, when the music and lyrical delivery matches the darkness of the lyrics.

The Knives are also big on ironic social commentary- listen to Fit 4 U and Up All Night, especially. The lyrics are disturbing, gloomy, and totally juxtaposed with the abundently rich, hummable and melodic music. Counters is the antithesis of pop lyrically- "Sitting in the front seat/Turning on the motor/Sucking on a hosepipe"- is the chorus, but musically would sit happily on Radio One or the 'Charts'. The ultimate irony, of course, is that a band this articulate and imaginative do not grace the upper echelons of the 'charts' or mainstream music. But, I suppose, thats the point'.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2008
Having loved the first eclectic offering from (formerly The) Young Knives, it was a given that I'd get the DVD version of the new album. I kept waiting to see a list of what was on the DVD, but all I saw anywhere was a listing that matched the CD track listing. I wrongly assumed that this was a persistent error at every site I checked.
What they've done, in fact, is made a DVD of videos for every song on the album, even the hidden 'bonus track'! Not only that, but the majority of the vids were produced by the band's front man himself (although at least one of these, 'Turn Tail,' has already been entirely redone -- presumably by someone else -- with an obviously better budget for commercial viewing). These include in their various number a fairly brilliant stop-motion animation of his Playmobil figures for 'Current of the River' and a goofy 3D video (more like a short film...but you'll have to get your own glasses) for 'Dyed in the Wool.' The band vids range from quaint and corny to clever and artful, while the few contributions from outside the band tend more to the quaint and artful.
The album itself is a clear furtherance of the promise presented on Knives' first disc. There are still clearly modern pop gems ('Turn Tail,' 'Fit 4 U,' 'Terra Firma' et al.), but also tracks making it clear the lads have been digging in their record collections for older influences; listen to the fuzztone inflected 'I Can Hardly See Them' (complete with riff borrowed from The Kinks) or folkier offerings 'Rue The Days,' 'Flies' and the last two tracks, and it's evident their 60s roots are showing.
If you like this band, you probably already own this album. If you don't know the band, this is a better place to introduce yourself than 'Voices...' If you don't already own 'Superabundance' (or do and have some cash to throw about), the +DVD version is well worth buying.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2008
The Young Knives, on their second album "Voices of Animals and Men", were the slightly barmy, quirky band produced by Andy "Gang of Four" Gill, who mostly "angular" in riff but lyrically not quite ready to take themselves, or life in general, that seriously.

Sombre follow-ups to excited albums aren't uncommon (see The Futureheads) but the lyrical themes on "Superabundence" are noticeably much grimmer than on their last album. Death, suicide, fatigue with modern living and the futility of youth are all crammed in to just the first few songs, albeit rather comically against a backdrop of trebly guitars and an excited rhythm section.

Without that quite-so-obvious feeling of jubilation there is the sense that the record isn't quite as immediate as its predecssor; and the significant presense of strings does take a bit of getting use to, but it hints at a depth not previously something the band were concerned too much about exploring. It's also a record where the shouty-anthemic "Terra Firma" can be bookended by the, frankly, rather weird "Mummy Light The Fire" and "Flies".

It all hints at a band aiming for a little more maturity, and achieving it without becoming boring, and nudging towards new experiments in their sound without forgetting what people liked about them so much in the first place. It's probably an album existing fans will absolutely love - but I'm not quite convinced that with its consciously more downbeat lyrics it'll necessarily attract as many new ones as it deserves to.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2008
"Voices of Animals and Men" was without doubt one of my favourite albums of 2006, so how The Young Knives were going to follow it up intrigued me. Thankfully, TYK have managed to avoid the traditional second album lapse and have yet again produced a strong set of songs.

"Superabundance" is very much an album of two halves - the first few tracks are familiar territory for TYK, similar in sound to many tracks off their debut. This is no bad thing - the single "Terra Firma" in particular is incredibly catchy, and standout track "Counters" sees the band experiment with their song structure to great effect.

Towards the back end of the album TYK start to explore new directions sonically, and the songs take on a much more spacey, almost psychedelic feel. Here "I Can Hardly See Them" and "Mummy Light The Fire" are especially succesful.

"Superabundance" isn't perfect however - a couple of tracks don't quite stand up to the quality of the others (for example "Light Switch") and the album feels a little lop sided, but as a follow up to "Voices of Animals and Men" it's very good indeed, and the standout tracks are amongst The Young Knives' finest to date.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2008
I kind of owe the Young Knives a star for this one, having said the first one was a bit smug, only giving it four stars then playing it to absolute death and just loving it.

This is a natural growth from the first album, production has gone up a gear or ten, the quality and variety of the tunes has gone up a notch and the general feel is of a band who have learnt a few lessons and taken them on board. It's still a guitar based indie pop style, a la Franz Ferdinand, Dave Devant etc, it still has the English reserve and slight oddness, a la Floyd, Genesis etc. But now it has strings and a warmth to the production and professional things like that. And OK, the lyrics aren't exactly happy and cheerful and full of spring love, but this was true of "Voices" as well, so you know what you're getting.

Stand out tracks for me, I love Terra Firma and Up all Night, both great singles, Turn Tail is good, and the first one. Fact of the matter is, after maybe four times through, I know I will play this over and over like I did with the first one. Nuff said really.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2008
I don't know if any band can be better than their debut album because their sound is always going to change slightly but I can honestly say that this album is as a good as their first. This album has a much bigger sound to it compared to 'voices of animals and men.' And you just want to bouce to every track. They seem to be supported by a loud backup. The album seems epic at points which you could argue is not really the knives but it gives it a fresh change. First half of the album is really energetic then the album breaks down and allows the knives to really push the boat out. Fav tracks are:.....actually i really like all of them. Buy it. It's really, really worth it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2008
I've really fallen in love with this album after repeated listens. As many reviewers have said, it's very much an album of two halves with the first 6 tracks bearing more similarity to the post-punk influenced Voices of Animals and Men. Higlights include the wonderfully barmy Terra Firma and Light Switch both of which beneift from great basslines by Tom "House of Lords" Dartnall.

The second half of the album contains several psychedlia influenced songs like Mummy Light The Fire and Rue The Days and the much poppier Dyed In The Wool. The whole album shows off the bands impressive songwriting which in my mind is a league higher than their contemporaries like Foals who are getting more attention.

Such is the diversity of the styles and moods of the songs on Superabundance that it almost doesn't hang together as a whole and I think that's why some reviewers like the NME have given it a bad review. But musical ambition should be encouraged in my opinion so I'd recommend you give it a good listen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2008
Superabundance shows that TYK are not a flash in the pan, they have managed to deliver a very strong follow-up to their debut. This album sees them in a bit more of a sophisticated mood, there's still some of the catchy poppy element like "Terra Firma", but in the main these songs are more complex, and quite morbid with a dash of dark humour. Tracks like "Counters" are particularly good and we see a bit of a psych direction on a couple of tracks too. Overall I couldn't quite stretch to giving this 5 stars but I know I'll be listening to it a lot over the coming months.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2008
I had heard a couple of their singles and thought I would give the album a try. The first couple of listens I wasn't that convinced abut after a couple of listens more it really started to grow on me. Their style takes a bit of getting used to, being a bit shouty with jerky guitars and all that. Still they managed to get some good song on there with some clever word play and catchy tunes. If you want a better dressed version of the Fall or a slightly more mature Art Brut then give them a try.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)