Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

  • Cross
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
44
4.4 out of 5 stars
Cross
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 29 September 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2017
Potentially the greatest electronic of all, definitely in the top five. Justice are at their peak on their debut, an essential album in any collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2007
It may have been mentioned already, but Daft Punk, take note, this is how Human After All should have been.
You can't ignore the daft punk influence present on this album, but its done very well, and isn't just a rip off either.
There's variety too with the radio friendly D.A.N.C.E.
Fav track would the awsome opener Genesis.
If you was left wanting after daft punk's latest lp, purchase this asap.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2007
I've never been moved to write a review here, let alone starting one three songs into an album, but this just blew me away. It's apocalyptic disco - apocalisco if you will - the sound of a widescreen cinematographically lush death march through the grand canyon, with an orchestra of delicious slap bass licks and drill solos (the song 'Let There Be Light' alone sounds like it must have taken a fair few Black and Deckers to make), all mixed in with a healthy dose of classic era Michael Jackson or Daft Punk.

I'm not going to say there's no filler, but I am going to say that at its best it's stunning. I don't think I've ever heard anything by turns as cinematic and danceable at the same time. Deserves to be huge. Make it happen, people.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2007
Let's get the negatives out the way. The Daft Punk influence is overwhelming at times, and there are a few average tracks on this album. But for a dance music artist album (remember how bad these often are) it is still exceptional. If you are going to model yourself on someone, Daft Punk isn't a bad place to start. Rock musicians are allowed influences without people griping, and let's not forget the whole point of dance music in the first place was to sample and reshape what was already there. Also, most people who have made good dance music in the last ten years have had some sort of DP influence stirred in.

As for the production style, anyone who says it's cheap is an idiot - the mix of low fi and hi fi is completely deliberate. Also, the combination of danceability and musical complexity is impressive. Yes, it might be challenging at times, but it's not exactly Aphex drill and bass, is it? What makes it different, possibly unsatisfying to the disco zombies amongst us, is that it's not always loop-based. So tracks might start in one place but... oh God... end up... somewhere else! Wow - how pretentious. Let's shoot them before they do it again.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2007
Cross is the Debut album from French dance outfit, Justice, who are bringing to you an album of fuzzy in your face electronic dance music. Their sound relates closely to that of fellow French music pioneers, Daft Punk. Cross is very post Daft Punk, particularly post Homework era Daft Punk in its sound, crammed with huge volumes of distortion, synths and slap bass, all put together in a slightly offbeat manner, with experimental sounds thrown in for good measure.

Herein lies a problem: Justice are very unoriginal in their musical style and image. It will be difficult for any die hard music fan to listen to their album and be blown away by it (despite it actually being pretty good), because it's a sound that people have heard before. It all feels a bit samy.

Effectively, Cross is a good party album, that you can put on your CD player at a party (or Ppaarrttyy) and people can dance to, but won't wow anyone with it's stylistic originality. There are very few weak points throughout, and for the faults it does have, Cross is still a solid and enjoyable listen. There's enough here to satisfy, but a knock out, it ain't.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2007
The French music scene may have seen a recent explosion in angular guitar bands (check out Les Teenagers), but there has been little challenge to Daft Punk's crown as kings of Gallic dance. Now, we have genuine contenders to the throne. Justice take their predecessors' knack for infectious electronica and cut it with a darker vein of schizophrenic blitz-pop.
`Cross' opens with, appropriately enough, `Genesis', a forboding guttural chime seguing into a dark pop masterpiece: chilling but effortlessly cool. `Stress' ups the anti with a beat that threatens to actually excavate your bowels - in a good way.
However, the album has its lighter moments, notably, the insidious children's chant that drives the single `D.A.N.C.E.' and the cut up hip-hop that is `Newjack'. `Carpates', meanwhile, is built on such a driving beat that it almost makes me want to jump on a treadmill and make like that Ok Go video. Almost.
Needless to say, there have been few albums released this year that I would regard as essential. With seven months gone, Justice tops the pile.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2008
Wow. This album is just phenomenal. Massive production, massive tunes, original beats and bass. Anyone that has even a slight interest in electronic dance music must buy this album.

At first it made me prick my ears up, then it made me excited. The third listen it just grabbed me and threw me around the room.

There are a bundle of dark, dirty, electro beats to keep you coming back for more, a couple of happy (Daft Punk type) ditty's in the middle to calm it all down and it finishes with some of the most unique and dare I say very strange (in a good way) tracks.

Highlights are Genesis, D.A.N.C.E., Phantom, Phantom pt2 (remixed by Radio Soulwax) and Waters of Nazareth is one of the strangest, darkest, dirtiest pieces of electo house I've heard.

The bar has been raised. Can the likes of Digitalism, Simian Mobile Disco, The Prodigy, etc, etc keep up. They will have a hard time trying.

Awesome.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2007
This album simply brilliant. Any fan of electronic music, dance music would really appreciate it's uniqueness, and the variation between songs is amazing.

There are some songs that really are not as good as the rest in my opinion. These would be Valentine, The Party, and DVNO. These are very disappointing songs... but then Stress kicks in and your back in awe of Justice.

Highlights of this album would be the opener Genesis, Phantom Part 2 and Waters Of Nazareth, but Cross is shining in quality and originality throughout, and there is no doubting that they put on great live shows.

I don't know what else to say! I highly recommend this album... Justice are setting a new standard for electronic music. I really wasn't into dance music before I bought Cross, but this is revolutionary. I might sound like im going over the top but just buy this album and you will not regret it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2007
This album is everything you wanted from Daft Punk, including what it didn't quite deliver and then some. Play this album through very good sub woofers and play it far too loud!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)