Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
15
Another Country
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICEon 9 March 2008
Another Country doesn't actually refer to some kind of re-inventing of Country Music (or Americana in it's other guise) but to the fact that how, in a time of personal turmoil, Tift Merritt emigrated to France. The problems aren't quantified in any great detail, but its clear that the Tift Merritt of her third album is more disillusioned and introspective than the Tift Merritt of her earlier albums.

And whilst one wouldn't wish to inflict such emotional pain onto anyone, it is clear that these problems have gone some way to raising her music up to another level.

There are a handful of up-tempo numbers, Tell Me Something True, with it's Mowton-esque backing is one such highlight, but most of the album is a more subdued affair. It's none the less compelling for all that though. It's an album that practically aches with sorrow, but never in a wallowing way. Indeed with a scant listen, most listeners would probably miss most of the lyrical content and just be pleased with what is a very listenable album.

This is an album which benefits from a few repeated spins. Slowly Merritt draws you in, deeper into the emotional content of the album. Her voice is warm, inviting and soulful and is difficult to resist.

After 2003's Tambourine album some might fell that the production is a little too light on this one, but that's a minor concern to say the least. Another Country may not grab a Grammy Nomination for Best Country Album like it's predecessor did, but it's no less a winner of an album.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2009
It's business as usual for Tift Merritt on this her third album. Unlike 'tambourine', which i felt was just too obvious in its ambition to crack the mainstream, 'Another Country' has more in common with her debut. Whilst George Drakoulias(Tom Petty,Black Crowes) is again at the helm on production duties, this time they have avoided the temptation to smother the songs with horn sections and instead allowed for a more stripped down sound, and it's all the better for it. After hitting a creative dry spell, a self imposed exile to Paris worked wonders as this is her strongest collection of songs to date. 'Something To Me', 'Hopes Too High' and 'Morning Is My Destination' are just some of the highlights, and any regular listener of Bob Harris on Radio 2 would probably have heard 'Broken', the obvious choice for a single. After a stuttering second album, Tift Merritt is now very much back on track.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 January 2011
I'd never heard of Tift Merritt until seeing her backing Mary Chapin Carpenter at a concert in Birmingham. This is the first album of hers I've bought. I find it absolutely enchanting; both music and lyrics are absolutely first rate.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 March 2008
Tift Merritt is a feisty lady who looks like she means business when she plays live (witness, her Live in Austin Texas DVD). Her first two albums held a lot of promise, especially Tambourine, which had in 'Stray Paper' a song with a hook, a riff and a neat turn of phrase that portended future riches to come. Another Country doesn't quite deliver that promise, but opts to play things a bit safe. It starts with 3 great songs, 'Something To Me', 'Broken' and 'Another Country', but from thereon in it all becomes a little too polite and risk free. The album closes with a whimper rather than a bang when the lady comes on all Carla Bruni, and tries her hand at an incongruous bit of French chanson. Tift Merritt has a great voice, writes all her own songs and looks good, and you desperately want her to veer more into Lucinda Williams Americana territory rather than drifting into airbrushed Nashville anonymity. Another Country is in danger of fulfilling its title; but just avoids it at the last minute through having a bit more class. Let's hope album 4 steers her back towards the more ballsy work she is clearly capable of.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2017
I like and enjoy all Tift albums this is very good perhaps it has something to do with the two guests ,her new one is quite special ..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 July 2009
I first heard of this artist when she was touring with Teddy Thompson and went to see them both, it was an excellent show and this cd does not disappoint,all songs written by Tift Merritt which shows what a talent she
is, lets hope we hear a lot more of her
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2009
Definately buy this album - its great. I just saw her live in London and she played most of the tracks from this album and everyone was superb. If you love your melodic country folk music with story telling lyrics you'll love this album. More please Tift.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 March 2009
Never heard of her before, was recommended by a friend and have listened to this every day for a month. Not really a country fan, but like some folk. This is so good I recognised one of the songs on the soundtrack to New in Town.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 September 2016
Found this after liking the title track as featured in the movie 'New In Town'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2016
Absolutely brilliant. What a great voice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Tambourine
£13.95

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)