Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
21
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£1.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 6 June 2008
I completely agree with the reviewer who said it is hard to define who Alphabeat will appeal to-could it be the younger market, or people nostalgic for eighties pop, or the "cool" music market. Because Alphabeat have (at least so far) not been tarnished with the same brush as S-Club 7 or even Abba as cheesy pop which can only be enjoyed by children or really sad people...Luckily at the moment Alphabeat are currently widely well regarded by a variety of sources-for example The Guardian gives the album 4stars as does The Sun.
1.Fantastic 6-A fantastic album opener, but it is not the best track on here by quite a long way... 7/10
2.Fascination-Quirky, addictive pop. This song is Alphabeat at their absolute best! 10/10
3.10 000 Nights-Another addictive song and it's really good, but is just slighly cornier than Fascination. 9/10
4.Boyfriend-Probably my favourite track on the album, it is unbelieveably catchy and the vocals are brilliant. 10/10
5.What Is Happening-The first time I heard this one I wasn't too impressed, but its a real grower and it is an excellent song. 9/10
6.Go Go-Again quirky, catchy, pop. 9/10
7.Touch Me Touching You-This track really is reminiscent of a bygone era and for that amongst other reasons, it's super! 9/10
8.Rubberboots-Another of my favourite tracks, the only "ballad" on the album and its not at all typical. 10/10
9.Public Image-This is an interesting cover, but I would have preferred it to be omitted as it is not their strongest. 7/10
10.Nothing But My Baby-A fantastic ending and extremely suitable! 9/10

My one main criticism of the album would be that it's too short, but then again I realise the best albums often are (e.g. Duffy-Rockferry, Amy Winehouse-Back to Black etc.)
22 Comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2008
"This is Alphabeat" can only be described as 'a grower'.
The two singles "Fascination" and "10,000 Nights" are the most up-beat tracks on the album, making the others seem slightly... less enjoyable. After a few run throughs though, many other songs come into their own (such as "Boyfriend"). Oh, and the cover is nice too!
Overall a good buy!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2008
While Alphabeat will never win any awards for their lyrics, they certainly make up for it with catchy hooks and sing-along choruses. Every song imprints itself on your brain and it's impossible not to leave the house without humming their infectious tunes and harmonies. Fantastic 6 is a brilliant start to the album and seems hard to follow but `Fascination' and '10,000 Nights' ensure the high standards continue. The tempo slows slightly with `What's Happening' giving you chance to get your breath back. Like the eighties? Good, because `Rubber Boots' sounds like a forgotten gem that could have been a Nik Kershaw B-Side! The only down side of this ablum is that the songs `Boyfriend' and `Nothing But My Baby' (2 of the best songs on the Danish album) have been re-produced and completely ruined by someone at EMI who felt he had to change something to warrant his pay packet. If you want to be a producer, whoever you are, go and work for some manufactured pop act no one cares about, stay away from Alphabeat, they deserve better!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2009
The first time I heard the single 'Fascination' I knew I had to own this album. In my opinion it has to be one of the best pop songs produced in a long time - that brilliant bouncy chorus with just the right amount of the 80's mixed in never fails to get my head nodding along!
Follow-up single '10,000 Nights' didn't grab me in the same way as 'Fascination' first did but it was a grower and before long I realised it was another nicely written, fun, grown-up pop song. Inevitably, it would always get turned up in our house when the video came on the music channels, much the same as 'Fascination' had!
So when I finally got the album I was a little disappointed...
It's not that it's a bad album by any means - it is good - and I'm happy for it to live in my CD collection... but I just don't see myself picking it out and choosing to listen to it all that often.
The album opens with 'Fantastic 6', a decent pop song if a little cheesy. For me it then peaks at 'Fascination' / '10,000 Nights' with 'Boyfriend' also being a reasonably strong effort. The rest of the album then just seems to lack something... and it's very hard to pin down what that is. It just doesn't DO IT for me. The low point though is 'Rubberboots', a monotonous slow track that seems to go on for far longer than it needs to. I also wasn't keen on the PiL cover, it just left me cold really.
To end on a positive though, the production is excellent, with the dual vocals of Anders SG and Stine Bramsen really shining though on the first half of the album.
If you like grown-up pop songs with just a touch of retro 80's cheese then you'll enjoy this album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 June 2008
A great album, all high-octane Scissor Sister-esque camp one moment and full-of-itself grandeur the next.

"Go-Go" and "Boyfriend" sound like True Blue-era Madonna, having a mix with Opportunities-era Pet Shop Boys, whilst "10,000 Nights" and "Fascination" could have been on the last SS's album.

There's also a Grease soundtrack / rockabilly thing going on, which resurrects the shades of Aqua and <<shudder>> The Cartoons, but there's a great sense of genuine fun and songwriting nous which elevates this album way beyond any of that.

The male vocalist has a kind of twang to his delivery that put me in mind of the lead vocalist of The Tubes ('Fee' Waybill) - no bad thing, in my book.

I didn't expect to like this, to be honest, but it has an inevitability and joie de vivre that's simply irresistible, as Robert Palmer once said.

Yes, there are other acts exploring similar ground, but this lot have the smack of authenticity about them.

Fun!
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2008
A cracking modern pop album that doesn't take itself too seriously or try to be anything it isn't - no po-faced deep and meaningful "message" here and all the better for it. Think somewhere between a Roxette that isn't trying so hard to be cool and a grown-up high-school musical without the schmaltz and you're about there. Don't think you don't like pop because you can't stand the bubblegum warbling that infests the charts - this is how it should be done.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2008
Alphabeat are brilliant! I saw them live twice recently in London and after the first performance i bought the album. The only disappointment was that one song - 'the message' is not on the album but was performed; it is a great song, other than that the album is terrific. I am eagerly following news of this band as i think that they will be around for a while.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2008
Debut album from Danish group Alphabeat. I have seen them perform live twice now, they would have to be the pop band of today. Great songs, great live performers!! Fascination is pop at it's best, along with the new single Boyfriend. Great 80's influenced band. One group to watch out for!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 May 2008
Cast your minds back, if you will, to 2005 - more specifically, to the time when indie was becoming genre du jour in the charts again. It seemed very much like an identikit of what happened a decade previously, with the mass commercial rise of Britpop and bands such as Oasis, Blur and Pulp; only this time it was po faced, derisive and very "suburban" indie bands like Kaiser Chiefs and Hard Fi (at least, they seem that way now after dull as dishwater second albums).

Now, in 2008, just as the bubble burst on Britpop 10 years ago, so too, it does with our current shifting music scene, worryingly defined by bands like the Wombats and Scouting For Girls, who sound so much like the product of a flip chart board meeting at their respective record companies that you can almost hear the promotion executives saying to one another "Shall we do brunch darling?". However, at the tragic demise of one genre renaissance must come the calvary with another, and here, it's Danish sextet Alphabeat, with a 10 track debut opus that acts as a kind of mission statement to announce the return of proper pop music to the charts.

And it's already seeming to serve it's purpose with the opening track, "Fascination". Their first UK single, it's part Franz Ferdinand, part Junior Senior (remember 2003's floorfiller Move Your Feet, anyone?) and part cool 80's kitsch pop and is one of the most delightful tracks on here. It's not hard to see then, why the track is still hovering around the top 10 three months after release with their second single just about to come out; that too is a corker. "10,000 Nights Of Thunder" with it's "Wuthering Heights" and "Safety Dance" referencing lyrics immediately informs the listener that Alphabeat are in fact no ordinary pop band, although it could certainly be percieved that way when you consider that their UK management team are the same lot who were responsible for foisting Mika to the top end of the charts last year.

Instead, the band take great pleasure in honing in on their numerous and diverse musical influences, ranging from New Kids On The Block to the B-52's. Indeed, on "Fantastic 6", it's as if the latter's "Love Shack" has been given a 21st century reimagination via S Club 7 at their peak and it works perfectly. Better still, the hits, unlike on most albums by bands of Alphabeat's genre where they're synonymous with the word "filler", just keep on coming, be they rollicking disco pop romps like "Go Go" and "Boyfriend" or more pacific, downtempo numbers like "What Is Happening?"

The listener may be left wondering then, exactly what their audience demographic will end up being after this album comes out - if it'll largely be the readers of irreverent music blog Popjustice, who are such big fans of the band they made them headliners on last month's "Wonky Pop" tour, or if it'll be a younger, pre teen fanbase that first discovered music 5 or 6 years ago through artists, who like Alphabeat, wrote and played their own repertoire of perfect pop songs like Busted or Avril Lavigne, and are now flocking back to the genre like BT customers. Either way, there seems to be no doubt that with an album this uniquely crafted that Alphabeat are onto a winner - it's their first greatest hits album, and hopefully one of the first of many.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2008
This is not the original album. Three of the best tracks have been removed (Into the Jungle, Ocean Blue and The Hours) and replaced with sloppy generic synth-pop dribble (Gogo, Public Image and Touch me touching you). Get your hands on the original. Its much better than this one.
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)