Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
42
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 April 2009
I just love Caroline Aherne... this is an exchanting show, and i just grew to love the characters in the audience as much as her.

Taking her audience to Las Vegas for 2 shows there, was simply the most heartwarming thing the BBC could do. Such a treat for these wonderful old people.. It broke my heart when Jim said, before leaving Las Vagas,
"back to the reality of loneliness"

Never once boring, and with loads of laughs, I watched the series back to back...
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2008
Well,when first broadcast I only watched a couple of episodes of this award winning show.
Thanks to network it can all be enjoyed once more,in good quality of sound & vision.
Basically it's a chat show that doesn't conform to the conventions of programmes in this genre,which makes it all the more appealing!.
Mrs Merton,played by Caroline Aherene,employs an unorthedox interviewing style that amuses & sometimes embarrasses her unsuspecting guests.She uniquely combines comedy & audacity when delivering her questions.
You'll be laughing out loud at this,I guarentee!.
If you don't find this funny,I doubt you'll find anything funny!!.
I'm glad I bought it!!.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 16 January 2016
Mrs Merton is like a female, in control, version of Alan Partridge (and it’s wonderful when Steve Coogan is a guest on her show). She’s like a more intelligent Ali G. She jokes with guests with an intimacy that suggests friendly joshing rather than any malice. In the main, her interviewees are very much in on the joke (except Chris Eubank, his interview makes awkward viewing).
The studio audience are wonderful too, it’s a cosy cast of people not taking things too seriously. There are some truly funny and lovely, bubbly and cuddly, rude old ladies and gents. Each episode the ‘Let’s have a heated debate’ feature is every bit as incisive as I remember Kilroy being in the 90s but a lot funnier and more tolerant. The house band Hooky and The Boys are brilliant. Some of the music chosen for guest entrances are tongue-in-cheekly hilarious. Jo Brand comes cheerfully on to "Devil Woman" and Germaine Greer to "More Than A Woman".
Mrs Merton attracted some very high profile guests and Shane Richie (whoops! Her style has rubbed off on me). Some guests have now become notorious. I felt uncomfortable watching the Rolf Harris episode, he was all over Mrs M in a way that in hindsight appears creepy. Some guests are sadly no longer with us, for instance George Best. You could feel the warmth of the audience for George, it was a great interview.
This box set is like a Who’s Who of who was on telly in the 90s. Even if you skip some episodes because you don’t like the guests it’s still great value.
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2008
Absolutely brilliant, I watched most of the 5 series within a few days of getting this.

The best bit is "Perfect Day" on the X'mas 1997 Special, but also it features all the best guests Dale Winton, Russell Grant, Debbie McGee, Rolf Harris & Max Bygraves.

Well worth it.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2016
I really liked the episodes I've seen so far on this show. Under the character Mrs Merton you can see that Caroline Aherne had a quick wit and knew she could get away with much more than most. Talk shows before she came along used to be very formal manner. Then along came this, edgy, colourful and fun, there'd have been no Graham Norton, no Jonathan Ross, no Alan Carr without this. Some of the guests she has on are very charming and they have good fun together. Others are not so nice.
Bernard Manning being one such example. He comes across as deeply unpleasant, boasting about how rich he is and demanding to know what kind of car the other guest drove. When asked if he's a racist or not he goes back and forward on the issue as the audience round on him and Aherne smiles in a clearly uncomfortable atmosphere.
Other memorable quotes for me include "You were a right old slapper in the seventies, weren't you?" directed at Germaine Greer, and "why do you think Alien's are interested in a man from Bolton" she asks one UFO enthusiast who routinely claims to have seen flying saucers in the sky. To Barbara Windsor she puts it to her “That’s what I love about you Barbara, you’re one of us. You’re like a big film star, but you’re still common as muck!”

Some of the guests on her show are sadly no longer with us, George Best for one. Others have since fallen far from grace. The now reviled Rolf Harris makes an appearance, as does Dave Lee Travis. He allegedly groped a TV researcher backstage during the filming of the show for which he recieved a suspended sentence a couple of years ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 September 2012
'The Mrs. Merton Show' was a quality mock chat show starring the BAFTA-winning comedienne and actress Caroline Aherne. This five disc DVD boxset, from those wonderful people at Network, contains the complete five series of the award-winning BBC show which ran from 1994 to 1998, as well as the pilot, with Terry Christian and Carol Thatcher on the sofa, and all of the Christmas specials.

In what is a very unique show, the very quick-witted Caroline, in extensive make-up, and sporting a granny wig, starred as the frail looking old lady talk show host Mrs. Merton - with an acid tongue and penchant for asking cheeky questions and shocking double-entendres. It's very funny to see the celebrities fall 'victim' to this acid -tongued creation.

A range of people were interviewed on the show including Cynthia Payne, Mary Whitehouse, Boy George, Barbara Windsor, Vinnie Jones, Steve Coogan, Joanna Lumley, and those infamous encounters with Debbie McGee and Bernard Manning. There are even interviews with the likes of American superstars such as Bo Derek, Engelbert Humperdinck and Tony Curtis on disc four of the set as part of the 'Mrs Merton In Las Vegas' series. There's also a truly wonderful moment when Mrs. Merton really managed to put down that awful Conservative MP Edwina Currie. Complete with endless jokes about Judith Chalmers, and frequent, light-hearted digs at Lynne Perrie, the show has '1990s' written over it in big letters, and the complete guest list reads like a 'who's who' of who was on the TV throughout this wonderful decade.

The regular, elderly members of the show's audience are real characters in their own right, and you'll learn to love them as well. This bevy of pensioners also had the chance to ask the celebrity guests questions, and also take part in another entertaining feature of the programme called 'The Heated Debate', which allowed them to shine.

I enjoyed 'The Mrs. Merton Show' immensely, there were times when I was shocked at how personal the questions got, which only helped me to laugh-out-loud throughout each of the episodes even more. I can highly recommend this set to anyone who enjoys great British comedy. Here is a programme that you'll easily be able to watch episodes back-to-back, and it won't just make the older audience chuckle.

Like so many of releases from Network, there are no subtitles, or regrettably, any special features, but with all 31, uncut episodes on here, it's a highly entertaining collection, and excellent value.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2011
What more can be said about Caroline Ahern's inimitable character Mrs Merton? All 32 of her shows are on this side-splitting collection - and I guarantee you won't want to stop watching once you start playing them; I only wish there were more! If you're looking for comedy at its best, you cannot pass this series over.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2016
No reflection on a great collection but when I got to episode 29 of 31 the thing stuck. When I checked the returns policy I was a couple of days over. Ridiculous with box sets. You cant always watch all episodes within the month allowed. P***ed Off
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2014
Watched this DVD over the Christmas period a laugh a minute brilliant entertainment enjoyed every episode.
Monjay
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
Always liked this show, bought it for my Granddaughter who is 14 and she thought it was great . Good comedy never dies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)