Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 8 January 2016
Brilliant modern "film noir", with a superb cast from an original screenplay. Won't give the plot away,min case you haven't seen it, but enough to say it is a convoluted, but gripping tale of 5 criminals brought together to do a job by a mythical underworld figure, keyser soze ("Ky-zerr So-say") and told retrospectively by an "unreliable narrator" (Kevin Spacey). Great main cast, who work superbly together as an ensemble. Highly recommended. Honestly. Watch it.
(Also an added bonus for nerds, like me, who have watched it MANY times, it's interesting to watch and pick out which bits of the story you can be sure are "true" and which parts may not be!)

In addition to the film itself, Disc 1 carries 2 audio commentaries. The first with John Ottman and the second with Bryan Singer and Christopher McQuarrie.
Disc 2 contains;
1. Pursuing the usual suspects (23 mins)
2. Doin' time with the usual suspects (26 mins)
Behind the scenes interviews with the director and all the cast
3. " Keyser soze: lie or legend" featurette (18mins)
Focus on keyser soze. Includes interview with Spacey.
4. Introducing the usual suspects: featurette (6 mins)
Extended trailer for movie
5. Heisting Cannes with the usual suspects: featurette (4 mins)
footage of showing at Canne film festival
6. Bryan Singer's "gag reel" (5 mins)
Out-takes and a few inside gags
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 July 2017
One of my favourite films. I originally had the Region 1 DVD but it's too much of a faff to keep changing the region, so when I saw this advertised for less than £3 it was a no-brainer.

The film is just as good as I remembered, Kevin Spacey is brilliant (deserved Oscar winner), but the whole ensemble cast is good. There are more plot twists than a politician's promises and the even though I knew the reveal it was still good to watch.

A note about the discs themselves and the supplier (ReNew Entertainment) . This was listed as "New" but clearly wasn't: there were fingermarks and scratches on the playing surface. It played perfectly though, so for less than £3 I wasn't going to complain. I mentioned this in my supplier review and Declan at ReNew immediately refunded me the purchase price even though I hadn't asked and also offered me a free item as a goodwill gesture. You can't fault Customer Service like that and I would happily buy from ReNew again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 October 2009
"The Usual Suspects" is a film with an astonishing plot. To remain aware of what is going on, looking away from the screen for even a second is inadvisable. Despite the story line being saturated with information it is an enjoyable movie to watch. Due to the disjointed skipping between time lines, particularly in the beginning, it can be a little difficult to become immersed but I would say that it is worth the wait. As the plot unfolds it is increasingly captivating. What else made this film so exceptional is the cast performance. Kevin Spacey was stunning as Verbal Kint and he added a real depth to the character. The other criminals were also made particularly believable in the eyes of the audience by the actors, and Nolan was particularly easy to empathise with.

That being said, I was disappointed by the quality of the upscale. This is not what I would term 'high definition' by any stretch of imagination. The picture quality wasn't bad, but it lacked the distinctive sharpness and crystal clear nature of most blu-ray films and DVD to BR conversions. Also, the picture on the sleeve was reminiscent of that on a pirate copy- that is to say, dreadful.

Complaints aside, it was an entertaining film and well worth watching for anybody interrested in criminal thrillers.
11 Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2017
Superbly acted, superbly written, superbly shot, this film is a classic already. Without doubt one of the best films in the gangster/heist genre - clever, compelling and chilling. So much pleasure to be derived from watching it again and again. Top notch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2017
A great improvement on the dvd version it plays very well on a 58inch 4k Panasonic television using a 4k Panasonic 900 blu ray player,
The film its self is every bit as good as when I first saw it many years ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2017
Fabulous film...have wanted it for a long time.
Many thanks for such a speedy service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2017
Amazing movie with a superb cast. Well made with a brilliant plot. A true gem!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2017
i know this is an old movie now , but its the greatest who dunnit ever
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2017
A pretty good movie but rather overrated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2017
An excellent film with a superb ending
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)