Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
76
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.57+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 December 2010
Aren't we all just suckers for the nice little morality tale that puts us into that 'spirit-of-man' mood? And why not? Here is one such pleasant little movie, one that's good to curl up with in front of a glowing fire when it's blowing a winter hooligan outside. It's not on earth-shaker, nor does it pretend to be. In fact, the simple premise of the story - nice, put-upon cop splits his lottery winnings with nice, put-upon waitress - may be a slight stretch of reality too far, but hey, it's just a fable. And in fables, most everyone gets their just deserts, which is exactly what we find here: there are no surprises, we just enjoy the ride and want to push Charlie and Yvonne closer together - WE know they're made for each other! Nic Cage is rather good at this light 'everyman' sort of role and far more comfortable than more recent sci-fi or thrill-seeking outings, whilst Bridget Fonda makes a sweet partner as the warm-hearted, vulnerable waitress. You could say they both have little to do but be nice: that would be unkind since they have chemistry and work their corners convincingly, they get us rooting for them against hiss-boo lawyer Richard Jenkins and Charlie's shrewish wife Rosie Perez - along with her grating Latino-New York accent, the only jarring element in the picture is how Charlie came to be married to this harpy in the first place! However, Isaac Hayes' guardian angel in the form of a New York journalist ensures that triumph follows pathos and the glow - predictably - returns to our hearts, subtly swept along by the fairy dust of Carter Burwell's music score. It may sound trite but if you don't expect too much, the magic works well. This movie won't change your life, but it will probably brighten your day, and what's wrong with that?
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2011
I'm a sucker for romantic comedies. Loved this one. Can't watch it with the wife though. She can't stand the Muriel Lang character (Rosie Perez), and granted she is unbelievably annoying, but still... I love this movie and the good heart of Charlie Lang (Nicolas Cage).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2010
Fantastic value DVD set. Three great films that you're going to want to keep. Nicholas Cage isn't my favourite leading man, but was good for the main lead in It Could Happen To You. The storyline is one that gets you asking the question "what would I have done if it was me?" Julia Roberts is superb in My Best Friend's Wedding. I'd not seen either of the aforementioned movies, but thoroughly enjoyed them. Sleepless in Seattle is a classic, and shows Tom Hanks when he could play the romantic leading role, before he got caught up deciphering codes and chasing round Europe and other such nonsense. Well worth adding to your DVD collection if you're into romantic movies with decent story lines and good acting.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2015
OK, so I'm a sucker for a romcom and this one is just so good natured that to not like it would feel like kicking a puppy. Fonda is appealing and Cage is, well, pretty normal. It's a very pleasant way to pass the time, though unlikely to rock your world view. Had to get the US import be ause it's not on Region B yet, but this riuns fine on my UK machine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
This 1994 film is based on a true incident in 1984 where a policeman and a waitress shared a lottery ticket in lieu of a tip by selecting three numbers each which resulted in a multi million dollar prize win which was shared by the policeman with her. In the film Nicholas Cage shares a lottery ticket as he doesn't have the money for a tip with a waitress played by Bridget Fonda. His wife who is materialistic demands the whole sum and after a court battle succeeds. In the meantime the policeman and waitress come closer together. She has brought a diner and has left one table named after the policeman for people in need to have free food. Following the court case, they are debating what to do and are visited by a journalist disguised as a down and out to whom they give a free meal dispite their predicament which results in favourable publicity as many citizens give them a small donation enabling them to save the diner and they get married. In the meantime the ex-wife marries a con artist which results in her losing all the money and is forced to live with her parents and go back to her old job. The songs comprising the background music are well chosed.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
Apart from the fact that Nic cage has nice eyes, this is a really good film to enjoy. You can just sit back, watch it and imagine yourself in the same situation.... Made rich!
Nic cage plays a guy with a nasty wife. When they win the lottery she becomes obsessed with the money and he wants to use it to help people. Prior to winning the agrees with a waitress that if he wins then he'll split it with her. He does win and that's when things get complicated but it has a really nice flow anyway. You can't help but really hate the wife too as she's pretty unpleasant! Still that's the fun of it all!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2006
This has to be one of my favourite films of all time. If you like Nicolas Cage, Bridget Fonda & romantic films you'll love this. Buy it, you can watch again & again.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2007
Lovely movie. Cage and Fonda have a wonderful on screen chemistry that just shines.
Normally, I'm very critical and "picky" (as we say in UK) about movies, but this one is fault free.
You'll enjoy it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2010
These films should need no introduction and represent a variety of the romcom genre. Good light-hearted entertainment.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
I like the three films that is why I bought them. I think there maybe something wrong with the quality as all of them stopped working a couple of times so I had to start again and fast forward to where I had got to.
Disappointing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)