Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
40
3.9 out of 5 stars
In the Land of Women [DVD] [2007]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 7 November 2017
Light hearted feel good , light romantic movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2017
Plays great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 August 2017
A nice Sunday afternoon story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 March 2008
Released in the US in April 2007, 'In the Land of Women' was neither a critical or commercial success. This lead to there being no cinematic release here in the UK, for reasons which are beyond me. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie, and i think you will too.
It is very well cast, with a post-OC Adam Brody doing what he demonstrated so well in that shortlived show- deftly neurotic but sweet humour. basically he is playing a more grown up Seth Cohen which drew me to this film. Then there is a very heartfelt performance from Meg Ryan, who goes through a personal tragedy during the narrative. These two main protagonists display such convincing chemistry on screen that it makes the film a more believable and touching experience.
I loved that these two characters were so able to connect with one another, two world-weary souls reaching out to each other, culminating in a fond relationship. This friendship is the reason why this film works on all they levels it should.
I am baffled as to why this has been so overlooked and given poor reviews. It really is a very well done film which deserves all the fans it can and should get.
I enjoyed the understated humour and the storyline and felt i was able to connect with the two leads.
Dont get me wrong there are a few flaws. Some of the characters are underwritten, leaving a confusion as to what their purpose is. The film also deserves to be at least 20 minutes longer than it is so to flesh out its interesting characters in a more sufficient way.
All in all, this intricate film benefits from two strong leading stars (from different sides of the acting spectrum) and a plausible narrative which is both witty and wise.
This may not be the most groundbreaking 90 minutes of your time, but it is time well spent. This comes highly recommended.
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 29 May 2011
My Thoughts: "In the Land of Women" is one of those 'one-in-a-hundred' movies that follow real life situations realistically and don't go to the predictable cliche that most romantic dramas seem to willingly step right into. Some may find the storyline drags a little, but I found it refreshing as a representation of normal life when emotional problems occasionally occur and how our lives intertwine with each other and are affected by those around us in the process.

Meg Ryan's performance here is spot on, although I found Kristen Stewart's performance a little stoic (as per usual, she seems to pick the characters who are quiet, intense and troubled and it gets old. This girl needs to stop playing "Bella Swan" and move on from stereotypical roles). Adam Brody here is a breath of fresh air who does not fall into the abyss of the usual leading man.

The Plot: Carter, a 26-year old screenwriter from L.A. is left speechless when his actress girlfriend Sophia dumps him out of the blue. Heartbroken and ambitionless, Carter moves state to live with his senile grandmother after his mother expresses her concern for the aging woman.

While living with his grandmother and writing softcore porn for a living, he meets Sarah, an attractive housewife who unbeknownst to him has just discovered she has breastcancer. Sarah is unhappy in her marriage, convinced of her husband's infedelity and struggling to connect with her intense and reserved seventeen year old daughter Lucy.

While he tries to reconnect to his distant ex-girlfiend, he unwittingly becomes more involved in Sarah's world, and eventually Lucy's world too, leading both to eventually understanding more about life - a task he cannot force upon himself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 January 2009
Well to start off, I must say that if your a fan of Adam Brody you must watch this as hes in partically every scene. I kid you not! And whats better is the character he plays isnt all that different from Seth Cohen. Sure a little more sucessful with the ladies but whatever.

To the movie itself, i was pleasently surprised. It was sweet without being sugary, it was amusing without being stupid and it was believeable without being unentertaining. The casting is brilliant expect maybe Meg Ryan, whose preformance i felt lacked a little depth. But the the two girls playing her daughters made up for it.

I felt really good after watching this. I think it will give you the same feeling. Dont believe the bad hype. Give it a go dudes!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 November 2007
26-year old Carter Webb (Adam Brody) is a struggling writer who has just been dumped by his girlfriend. With nothing else to do, he moves in with his grandmother and becomes involved with the family across the street especially the which unhappily-married mother (Meg Ryan) and an angst-filled teenage daughter (Kristen Stewart).

The pop soundtrack and the gorgeous neighbourhood where the movie was filmed are the highlights of this movie. The woodsy setting is a perfect place for love to bloom and something blooms between Carter and the mother and the daughter, but, unfortunately, it's not quite love and not quite anything else.

Carter is a too-perfect guy who provides wisdom and comfort to both women while eventually resolving some issues of his own. However, Adam Brody, playing a calmer version of his quirky Seth from "The OC," is too low-key to be a leading man. He fades into the background while Meg Ryan's needy wife takes center stage, but she doesn't grab our hearts, either. She looks too young for the part. Her character goes through a lot, but unfortunately, the story never quite hits a home run in the emotions department. It comes close, but falls short of real poignancy, which is not only a shame, but rather surprising, considering it's a story about heartbreak, cancer, and death.

All in all, it's on a par with a big-budget TV-movie; fine, but not memorable.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2008
I picked up this DVD whilst food shopping, it was £4 and I thought it looked like a good Rom/com.

However when I started watching it I realised what a complete bargain I hand landed upon. Adam Brody is just fantastic and completely loveable and believable. Whilst Meg Ryan does what she does best and I can't see why anyone wouldn't like it.

Great story, nice heart felt moments, not to mention the cute little girl in it. I felt that I had learnt something from this film as well as enjoying the fantastic story.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 September 2011
An enjoyable film about reality and how people deal with real-life problems. Also stars Kristen Stewart who is rather underrated.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2014
The whole story felt like it was missing something, the story was plodded along without a real destination, the script tried to show a budding romance but in its attempts it was rushed at times and without a true base. This is a shame as meg ryan and Adam Brody are, of can be, very good actors but although they try the direction and script does not. The ending was a relief not because it was a good ending but it at least signalled the end to a film that frankly gave neither enjoyment or any movie satisfaction; but rather left you wondering "why did I watch that?"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Equals [DVD]
£5.12

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)