Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
62
Amy Winehouse - I Told You I Was Trouble [DVD] [2011]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 20 April 2013
I bought this DVD having bought Back to Black Delux edition CD and was disappointed with the poor mastering on that giving excessive levels and distortion (it appears some editions of the CD don't have that issue). I'm pleased to say there are no such issues on this DVD, sound quality and performance are excellent.

There are 2 versions of the DVD available, the original 2007 release and the currently cheaper 2011 re-release. As far as I can tell both are identical despite the erroneous reported running time (164 or 150 mins) which is actually 112 mins ignoring the option to play 3 tracks in black & white. There is also a Blu-Ray Version available containing a additional 15 track concert filmed in Porchester Hall, London.

If your puzzled by the black & white option given in the menu, if you enable that when you play tracks 6, 7/8 and 10 of the live concert you will briefly see a on-screen prompt to switch to the black & white version of the track, unfortunately some PC DVD players do not show the prompt making selection with them difficult.

A great alternative to the Back to Black CD, though missing a few tracks.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2015
If, like me, you enjoy watching music concerts then this blu Ray of Amy Winehouse in concert is well worth purchasing. I have never considered her as many do, a great singer, but I can't deny she was a one off, nobody else sounds like her and she certainly appears to have had a fiesty and unpredictable persona which perhaps adds to her appeal. In the two concerts featured which are both shown in full, she is ably supported by a very competent backing band, and although she appears to be 3 parts pissed she neverthess puts on a great show, sings well and is never ever boring! (Also all of the songs many of which she wrote herself are excellent.) Thoroughly reccomend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 August 2011
Amy hit the headlines in the media for her problems in her personal life, drugs, booze and the very public attention she got for her relationship with Blake.
OK so she was no angel, but she was a talented singer/songwriter, who had one hell of a voice!
This DVD captures her performance at the Shepherds Bush Empire and it includes a very good selection of her songs off both her albums, Rehab, Tears dry on their own, I told you I was trouble,Back to Black to name just a few.
The fly on the wall documentary that is also on the DVD is well worth viewing, it includes interviews with family, friends and fans as well as Amy herself.
She really took the US by storm when she went there to crack the US music scene, this is Amy before she hit the self destruct button and got into the downward spiral of drugs and booze.
A talent that will be sadly missed on the music scene.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 June 2017
This is a good example of Amy when she was at her height and illustrates her excellent voice and why she became so popular, although there are signs in her performance that she had either been drinking or taking something heavier. This is evident in her banter between the songs. However I would recommend it to any fan who would have liked to have seen her live but was unable to. I didn't know how to view the black and white sequences at first but realised you have to click on the link when it comes up. There is also a documentary including interviews with family and friends and of course Amy herself. A lot of these are also included in the more recent 'Amy' documentary albeit shortened versions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2012
lovely documenty reminding us of how much she is missed some behind the scenes clips but most of it seen before.the concert was lovely just was left feeling a bit tired at the end! what was difficult was the back to black and white option took me two hours to work out and all it is is that i think at least 3 songs you can replay from the concert but in back and white not sure that is a bonus but working it out kept me occupied!In all a good buy lovely thing to keep and play when i need an Amy shot.x
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 June 2017
Although used, was in very good condition and price even better! Brill to watch and such a unique singer! Highly recommend others buy this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2013
I bought this DVD as a present for my mother-in-law - she has been wanting it for some time. We watched it on the day and it didn't disappoint - Amy was vibrant, fantastic and a true legend. Great show DVD capturing her talents at their peak.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2013
I love this DVD because I simply think this woman was amazingly talented.
However, it seems to me that they put the accent on the fact she was drunk and the camera is very focused in her mini skirt...
You can clearly see she was out of it during the show but still... Amy was incredible and O so talented !
An amazing artist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 September 2017
If you like Amy, I think you will like this DVD.
Two live performances are very very good.
Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)