Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
61
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.65+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 March 2013
A wonderful film about public schools, priviledge and spying. I had forgotten how excellent the acting, photography and music are. The film seems ahead of its time in terms of ambience and attitude. I love the approach of the Czech director who captures the repressive atmosphere of boarding schools with cramped and shadowy corridors and dormitories; the prefects' obsession with rank, status and fashion. Much of it is very funny and seeing the young Rupert Everett and Colin Firth on top form is delight. Absolutely engaging.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2009
The film depicts the difficulties of being gay in a repressive society.
Wonderful actors!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2014
This is one instance where the series is as good as the play! Brilliant adaptation and absolute superb acting. A must have if you are interested in how public schools in the 1930's formed so many odd characters and how it was possible for upper class youngsters to become influenced by communism so diametrically opposite to their upbringing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
Early performances by Colin Firth, Rupert Everett and Cary Elwes in this brilliant recreation of Julian Mitchell's stage play. Telling the story of Guy Bennett and his public school chums in 1931. Based on the defection of Guy Burgess and others to the USSR. The only downside are the slightly wooden performances of the extras.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2015
It's a timeless classic of British cinema. The cast excels and this film really never ages. I saw it when it was first released and I enjoy it as much now a the first time, i think this is a film that one understands better with the value of maturity, and a better understanding of the historical context.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
liked the story of Another Country it's very well done and it was interesting to watch this on film I didn't know I it was based on a stage play that I found out from the biography of Colin Firth working with Rupert for the first time and became good friends
Elizabeth
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
A brilliantly made film, allegedly based on the early life of spy Guy Burgess. Rupert Everett is superb as the lead, guy Bennett with great support from Colin Firth and others. The depiction of the public school system is excellent, and all very believable. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2016
Excellent performances from Everett and Firth. Ethos of a public school at the time of the Cambridge spies' boyhood well portrayed. Most enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2016
Started off well but I felt it dwelt far too long on his school period I would have liked just a touch more or his latter years
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
Rupert Everett and all the cast shine in this film. What could be better than
this? Great photography as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)