Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
12
3.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 April 2013
When one reads the book, on which the film is based, it is quite clear that Henry James disliked and felt threatened by the women's movement, and he sets out to let his conservative Southern hero be victorious in the battle about the body and soul of a young girl. At this time Boston marriages were becoming fairly common: Unmarried women setting up house together as an alternative to marriage.
The film is quite fair in its representation of both the wealthy middle-aged spinster and the poverty-stricken young lawyer, who fight over the girl, a charming and gifted young woman. The film shows quite deftly, as Merchant/.Ivory often do, the role played by power and money in the marriage game. The spinster realises that the girl will probably have to marry someone, and makes a bargain with another wealthy lady, who har an eligible son.
In the end love wins, though, as it must with two such passionate protagonists. Happy ending? Questionable.
A llife of poverty versus a life in comfortable circumstances with a doting husband quite willing to let his wife carry on with her work in the women's movement.
A film for fans of Merchant/Ivory films and for those interested in the women's movement.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2016
This is the only Merchant Ivory production that I haven't loved. I fell asleep on both occasions I watched it because the story is slow, boring and not that convincing. Gave DVD to a charity shop.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
Although I love period dramas, and I'm sure this faithfully follows the novel, I did not find this enjoyable. I found it tedious, the characters pretentious and duplicitous.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
Not the kind of film we enjoy. It went to the rubbish bin after one viewing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2011
Not the best film directed by James Ivory, but still a delightful romantic story. Acting wise, Vanessa Redgrave is as great as ever, whereas the heroin of the story lacks a bit of presence. Not having read the book by Henry James, it is difficult to know how faithful the film was to it. However, the film, or better, its adaptation to the screen, looks a bit stretched and lacks a bit of climax.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2016
I enjoyed this film partly for the pleasure of seeing Christopher Reeve who was so sadly lost to the silver screen. Good acting generally and nice sets all true to the spirit of the novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2015
Brilliant product. Will purchase again. Safe packing and prompt delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
A grave, charming reading of this fascinating book, which is only marred by the reader's inexplicable pronunciation of the hero's name, Basil, as "Bay-Zill". Surely this isn't an American peculiarity? It becomes an ongoing irritation in an otherwise enjoyable experience. The book is unabridged, which is most important with Henry James, where the author's voice must be attended to.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2016
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2016
No oroblem
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)