Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
185
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 December 2014
"Dogma" is the fourth film written and directed by Kevin Smith (also continuing to play the role of Silent Bob) and is a tongue in cheek look at the Catholic faith in modern times. There is a stellar cast that truly shine as an ensemble and who portray their characters with great ease and professionalism.The script is fantastically funny and thought provoking, posing questions about angels, demons, idols, muses, God, apostles, prochoice, Jesus and the Catholic Church. If you are open minded you will love this movie however if you are a practicing Catholic, you may find it blasphemous. I believe that "Dogma" puts religion perfectly in its place in a most humorous way whilst delivering a story that is very entertaining to say the least. This is my second favourite film from Kevin Smith and co and is still entertaining every time I watch it. If you have a slightly twisted sense of humour and love irony you will really love "Dogma".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2003
I'm Catholic, and I loved this film. should anyone be offended, it is people of Wisconsin, not us Catholics. The film is full of clever lines referring to Christian mythology and theology, and despite the disclaimer which says that it is merely a comedy, there are some referrence to issues that dog modern catholics. While it is not 'religious film' per se, it certainly reflects practical problems the Catholics face today. That said, the film is actually funnier for us for we understand them better, and throughly enjoyable. Well acted (yes, Alan Richman is in his funniest) and fast paced, I can recommend it to anyone. After several viewing however I began to notice some inconsistencies in the plot, but this is a very minor flaw. I still don't get God's sense of humour in the end though ...
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
Cult classic, always loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2017
great movie vastly underrated
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
Not very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2017
Awesome film, beware you need a brain to understand it..... a bit of religious knowledge and a very healthy dose of scepticism helps too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2017
I seemed to have missed that this is a Spanish dubbed version.....I do not speak Spanish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
A fun, but smart, comic adaptation. Kevin Smith's best film by a mile
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2008
I really love this film and have watched it over and over.

Kevin Smith's films are, on the face of it, pretty silly. The humour often appears rather of the 'toilet' variety. But then, he'll just slip in a little barb and I think, well, maybe there is something to this, after all. He does it with this film, right from the start, with an apology to all Duck Billed Platypus lovers. Ten minutes later, there's Alan Rickman, sporting a fine pair of wings, claiming to be The Metatron (i.e. Voice of God) and complaining bitterly to Linda Fiorentino who has just doused him with a fire extinguisher.

What I didn't realise the first time I watched this film is just who all the actors are. Linda Fiorentino plays an abortion clinic doctor who turns out to be the 'Last Scion' (i.e. last living blood relative to Christ), Salma Hayek plays a 'muse' (and a pole dancer). Bud Cort is in it! (Who on earth is Bud Cort? Well, he's the guy who plays the lead role in the 'cult classic' Harold & Maude). And George Carlin plays a Catholic bishop introducing the church's latest attempt at recruitment, the 'buddy Christ' (so who's George Carlin? Well, he was the hitch-hiker in Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back, plus he's well-known for his black humour. Do a search on YouTube - you'll find loads).

So, what Kevin Smith manages to do in this film, apart from make a very funny film, is make several political points, satirise a few 'Hollywood Blockbusters' and create a wonderful ensemble performance from a lot of very talented people.

The DVD is distributed by Film 4, has 24 minutes of extra bits and pieces, has a 5.1 Dolby soundtrack, subtitles and stuff and is widescreen (2.35:1).

Lovely film - have watched it over and over and will watch it again and again :-)
33 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2011
There maybe religious people out there who will criticize this film as being anti-religion, anti-Catholicism, when it is anything but (well, a little anti-Catholic maybe). The central theme to the film is that there is a God, but not the God that most people know (or think they know) or believe in. She Canadian! The characters in the film are trying to get the message across that people have changed the original God, man has made God into the image they want him/her to be, made their own religious rules, rules that God never intended. From a strictly biblical standpoint, Smith is right on, which not something that can be said about many films is dealing with religion. And isn't that the entire point to Christianity, that it's based on the bible.

But when the opening text: including the Disclaimer: 1) a renunciation of any claim to or connection with; 2) disavowal; 3) a statement made to save one's own ass.

You know on are on to a winner!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)