Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
17
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 June 2008
In the great tradition of the Beeb opening up it's archives, at last this great "In Concert" programme is transferred to CD. I had this on cassette taped off the radio, then copied onto Minidisc ! If only I'd waited nearly 20 years. Robert Cray is at the top of his game here, mixing funky blues and soul originals to produce a showcase for his back catalogue and his current album "Strong Persuader". Not one of the songs is a dud. If you ain't dancing,singing,and clapping along at the end of this, then you ain't got no soul. A great introduction to what Robert Cray was all about at the end of the 80's and start of the 90's. Sheer class and worth every penny.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2009
If you ever buy only one Robert Cray album, this should be the one for sure. Provided you already have 'Showdown' with Collins/Copeland of course. This is a live compilation of Robert's best blues songs, with plenty of impressive compositions, guitar solos, soulful singing, and perfect sound. This has nothing to do with his latest 'soul' stuff, here the guitar is up front, as I like it. Very very good, a must have!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2009
Seeing Robert Cray on the BBC was how I got started. I now own and love a wide selection of his studio albums. But once you see him live the albums seem a little antiseptic, just too slick and smooth. This recording gets as close as you can get to the real Robert Cray, outstanding guitar, effortless brilliant singing, incisive and creative songwriting and now with added passion and commitment. Fab. Don't even think about it just buy....
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2011
I have a recording from the BBC from the Hammersmith odeon,London which features Tim Kaihatsu and the magnificent Memphis horns.
Alas it's on VHS,I have wished for years they would release this,as it surpasses this great recording.
I think the programme,broadcast on BBC2 was 'Rhythms of the world'.
If anyone has this on dvd,I would dearly like to know.
Thanks for reading,adios.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2008
I would say that this Live album captures Robert Cray at his very peak with songs from his very best albums.

I have his only other Live album that was released only recently "Live Across the Pond" and I would say that whilst I really liked that double album this one surpasses it. Even the lesser known songs such as "Don't You Even Care" scream with raw emotion. His guitar playing is awesome, his singing is serene. If you have never listened to Robert Cray - PLEASE START NOW.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2010
I bought this album to replace old LPs and to remind myself of the unique style of a musician who never fully filled the promise he showed when he first emerged. Cray is an excellent guitarist but his storyline can lack variety. Many songs revolve around infidelity, cheating and misery. Should go down well with some footballers.

This album is well produced and shows Cray at his best which is occasionally briliant and never mediocre. The good old beeb has acted once again as a preserver of emerging talent and fixed the artist in time and space.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2016
After buying Dire Strait's Live at the BBC album I bought this one. I love it! Makes great listening any time, anywhere, and knowing some of the songs already, it was a refreshing take on them. I only hope the BBC's got more great albums like this out there, ready for me to discover.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
Hearing the earlier of these live sets on BBC Radio was my introduction to Robert Cray, listening to it now takes me back 25 years and it's still just as good. Robert Cray has ploughed the same furrow for many years so these performances don't seem dated, the sound here is a bit punchier with the horn section than the more recent Cookin' in Mobile set, but the two complement each other well as only two songs are on both CDs (Phone Booth is also on the Cookin' DVD).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2011
A fine guitarist with a potent singing voice, let down by choice of material; misogyny, violence and drunkeness are over-familiar themes. Sound quality is good, sleeve notes helpful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 September 2012
.. a few too many overlong songs all too typical of so many live albums.

There are a few absolute gems her, notably "Don't be Afraid of the Dark", "Foul Play" & "My Problem" and a few good ones but IMO several tracks would be better at half the length. Still, RC's in fine voice and playing guitar superbly throughout.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse