Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
12
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 September 2016
Good gear well pleased
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2016
Good film arrived very quick
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2015
very good movie
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
Competitively priced and good quality
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2009
I was quite touched throughout this film and I cried throught most of it. Why might I do that? Well the film tries, and in my opinion does a very good job, in trying to show the general public what life is really like for a soldier as he returns from a tour of duty in rough conditions. Whether you are in the TA or you are a full term soldier. This film even had more of an impact on me because as an army wife we are constantly hearing of such tragedies....of having to deal with partners who return somewhat different from when they went out.... to deal with the public who in some sense look down on soldiers without trying to appreciate what they have done for the protection of their country. Would I recommend it? Yes of course. Did the actors carry out all the stops to show what really goes on? They did their best at it but unless faced in the position, its quite difficult to show what life is really like for a soldier.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2008
Very disappointing, the films main point would seem be that soldiers sacrifice a lot in war, limbs, mental health or their lives and that people back home either object to the war they are fighting or do-not pay much attention to it. Sam L is as good as ever but given the fact that the film misses on many fronts its not going to win him any Oscar nominations! The battle sequences are adequate but nothing in comparison to say Black Hawk Down, there seems to be a nod towards the Dear Hunter - miss - not even close! Not the worst film I have seen but not that great either.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2008
Opinions and comments about this movie vary a lot - from * to *****. Maybe because I was not expecting too much of it, I got more than I thought I would. It is a very sad movie. Fortunately not pathetic or over-patriotic as these themes often are. Not for every body. But those who want to see what happens with the heroes of the other war movies after all the credits. I liked it in the end.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2009
Unfortunately, this film lacks any real impact. It starts out, playing like an episode of "Over There" which, in itself, isn't a bad thing... "Over There" is fantastic. However, in making a comparison between an episode of a TV show and a Hollywood movie, I can't help but remind myself that the former would have been made on a fraction of the budget of this movie yet still manages to come out on top. Considering the cast of "Home of the Brave", I was expecting great things. Sadly, I was left wanting.

Certainly, there are a couple of important points that are mentioned in the film, and the overriding theme of the very real struggles faced by returning servicemen and women is one that should be explored, but the fact that one review I read for this film stated "...the storyline is...mostly about the aftermath of war in Afghanistan..." just about sums things up. The film has nothing to do with Afghanistan, it's about troops returning home from Iraq but, clearly, the film fails to draw you in and you end up caring little about the returning soldiers, and even less about where they have returned from.

No matter what your views of the war in Iraq, or the continuing deployment of our servicemen and women, I think that the troops serving their Country deserve a more fitting tribute than this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2009
I bought this film on the premise that it would be an interesting change from the bog standard 'guns, guns, guns, oo look an explosion, more guns,' war film (which on the whole, are generally quite good). I thought the idea of the film, being about the psychological struggle of soldiers trying to re-integrate themselves into society, is brilliant and one that hasn't often been explored. However, the film barely develops this point.

The reason it fails to deliver this theme effectively is that there is not enough development of character or emotion. It opens with a short (below average) action sequence of an ambush on a squad of soldiers who are soon to be discharged and allowed to go home. when the soldiers do get home however, they find themselves all of a sudden mentally incapable of dealing with life at home. As an audience, we only see them in the war for less than 10 minutes of the film, so we dont realy see the harsh conditions they have supposedly endured, making their sudden struggle to re-adjust to home life seem slightly feeble.
Samuel L Jackson (who, aside from Jessica Biel, gives one of the very few convincing performances) has probably got the strongest character story and development, but even then we dont find out the true reason he is haunted by the war (which is not the opening ambush as it is suggested in the plot) until we near the end of the film.
Brian Presley's character is also given little development. For example, we are given little or no indication as to why his father hates him, or what it was that was so hard for him to deal with, that he had to go back to the war, we are just expected to know and understand. It is for this exact reason that i think the film fails to achieve its goal. It should make the audience understand why soldiers struggle outside of war, to empathise with them. Instead, it makes us question why they can't cope with life at home, and quite frankly makes you want to tell most of them to just deal with it. This is solely because we are not given the chance to identify with, or get to know and understand the characters before, during and after the war, which would allow us to feel sympathy for their situations.

For any film fanatic who actually appreciates the importance of plot development, character and audience relationships and emotional involvement, this film is not for you! it is a complete let down on all fronts. It might have succeeded had it concentrated on the stories of one or perhaps two soldiers and given more of a backstory before showing their lives back home.

And one thing that annoys me more than any other is the fact that they refer to Curtis (50 Cent) Jackson as an 'army speciallist'... In no way do they show or explain what he is so special at, besides jumping off of a one foot ledge and twisting his ankle, shooting the first thing he sees and holding up a fast food restaurant where he then proceeds to get shot while surrendering!

Basically i would only reccommend this film to someone who would only have it on in the background and not pay attention to how realy, quite bad it is. And even then i would only reccommend it if you got it for free.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)