Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
22
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 June 2009
It is a good movie about a Moslem gay guy coming out for his family... lot of funny moments that make you lough but it is not regular gay comedy but it has a serious plot as well. Love will win all! If you have seen Mambo Italiano then it has some similarities.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2008
I saw Touch of Pink at the Sundance film festival and again at London's Gay and Lesbian film festival and both times it kept the audiences happy and rolling with laughter at the one-liners.

I think it pulls it off as film that is charming and witty but one which is also very moving. While it plays like an old fashioned, feel-good Hollywood rom-com with a gay, Asian twist, the film also has a more serious side in dealing with internalised homophobia and racism. But it never comes across as heavy handed - it plays out its politics through humour. Suleka Matthew is beautiful and touching as the mother, and she shows that she's a very gifted comedian. Kyle MacLachlan is inspired his performance as Cary Grant, getting the vocal intonations and the mannerisms just right.

A must-see for fans of old Cary Grant movies - who will pick up all the reference to his film. Also for people interested in post-colonial cinema. Make a big bowl of popcorn, curl up on the sofa and enjoy watching it.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 October 2005
This warm little film that bills itself as a comedy has very little new to offer, from a fun on-screen homage to Cary Grant (with Kyle Mclachlan playing his perky spirit) to some rattletrap humour about non-resident Indians. Yet, it's like that favourite dish your mom prepares when you head home for the summer - not a highfalutin recipe, but its loving predictability is the very reason you love it.
Several of the plot's turns and twists may seem contrived, laboring away at pat stereotypes one hopes Hollywood will quickly outgrow. Jimi Mistry plays Alim, a culturally divorced and thus conflicted South Asian slash Canadian expat living in London with his boyfriend (Kristen Holden-Reid). The pair are a jovial young couple but Alim is uptight and lives a life of carefully partitioned half-truths, having not come out to his family, which his partner knows. The crux is rooted in how Alim copes with his disconnection, his prospective arranged marriage, and so forth.
For what it is worth, Mistry's rendition of a homophile without resorting to annoying effeminate gestures is quite convincing. His British mate provides a bulk of the film's genuinely funny moments. The cardboard-cutout traditional Indian mother seems like she had her hair colored white for the role, which incidentally could be the only plausible explanation for her to undergo the dramatic transformation that she does. If only more Indian conservative types could be wrangled so.
Despite its calculated proprieties, when everyone collides in a Toronto wedding where the film's final wrinkle is unveiled, I would concede it works overall. It's a good one-time watch, perhaps a decent rental for a discerning evening. If you enjoy this film may I also suggest Ang Lee's "The Wedding Banquet" which does a generally better job in a similar vein.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2008
This film makes one "glad to be gay". It is a delightful little film - a romantic feel-good film for gays. Sure, it may not explore in much depth the human condition, but if I want to come out of the cinema depressed, there are plenty of straight films I can watch. Besides, why should only straight love affairs have happy endings?
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2013
2 stars because this film is well produced, I thought well acted, glossy and obviously had a good budget. That's about where the good things stop. It says comedy on the box but they obviously forgot to put it in the film. Where are the laughs? There is no farce in it. The mother is awful. Just bitter without any redeeming aspects to her. She is not like the mother in Torch Song Trilogy. They have just transferred the Jewish possessive mother onto a Muslim mother but took the fun out of it.

Maybe the last 30 minutes redeemed the film. I never got that far and had to give up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2016
Entertaining Tosh. One of the best of a not very good bunch. At least I could understand the dialogue the film quality was good and the acting was not wooden.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2011
Really enjoyed this movie, would recommend this for a cosy night in to make you feel good and have a laugh.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
Very sweet, funny, refreshing, weird (because of that imagined Cary Grant line) but very enjoyable little dessert for a Sunday afternoon. I love the accent of these guys and it just gives an extra plus to the movie for me...
I've bought it for my collection and still watch it from time to time. really enjoyable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
A gay romance - boy loves boy, boy loses boy, boy comes back to boy and they live happily ever after. Apart from the fact that the 2 leads are pretty fanciable in different ways. Bottle of wine, box of choccys, maybe a tissue or two (depending how wussy you want to be!) sit back and enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)