Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 September 2017
The shameless slaughter of tens, maybe hundreds, of thousands of innocent men, woman, and children at the hands of the allied bombers at Dresden was arguably the single worst atrocity committed during WWII, by either side, yet this film fails to stir the emotions one would expect when viewing a movie that claims to realistically depict the horrors of those attacks. As is usual with WWII history telling in the 'entertainment' business, the movie manages to twist the narrative to one where the perpetrator was the victim, and the victim the aggressor. Disappointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2017
Good price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 September 2007
This is actually a love triangle with the allied raids on Dresden in 1945 as a backdrop.

The raid on Dresden is highly controversial for 3 main reasons:

1)Germany was losing the war

2)There didn't seem to be a strategic point to it

3)An awful lot of civilians died

The whys and wherefores have been discussed almost since the raid took place.

This film, almost comparable to 'Downfall' and also made in Germany looks on the raid from the German point of view. We see graphic scenes of destruction as the city is taken to pieces. Also it is quite unique to see the RAF depicted as the bad guys.

The love triangle is a German, his betrothed and an RAF airman who surprise surpise, can speak German.

You get to see all sorts of ghoulish sights, which I won't spoil by describing to you.

It is useful to see the war through German eyes. If you have Das Boot, Downfall, Sophie Scholl, then you should get this. It is almost, but not quite, in the same league.
11 Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2011
I was very keen to see this movie but have been left saddened for all the wrong reasons.
I consider this film as a sad failure. It has a poor script and terrible direction and spends most of the film setting up a love story that aside from the view that it might be considered far too dominant (in the 2 hour 40 minute film), it also fails to be convincing.
The music is dreadful and way too loud so that hearing any other audio is virtually a strain and at times almost impossible to understand any characters dialogue (and I undertand both English and German languages).
Certain scenes are rediculous and almost nothing about the main characters make any sense. The movie at no point conveyed a sense of reality, everything seeming rather surreal, despite the actuality of historical events. This movie seems intent on doing its utmost to disconnect the viewer from the past that it claims to portray. I would describe it as failing mostly due to a lack of wisdom behind the scenes as the cast on the whole seem capable, yet appear lost and hopeless due to a weak foundation despite the incredibe, powerful, sensative and important subject matter.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2008
The allied bombing of Germany is a touchy subject and perhaps 63 years on, not one to interest most film enthusiasts. But this is the sort of film that should be shown in all schools, especially British and US ones, to rid our societies of the self-righteous triumphalist and rose-tinted views of world war two, if only to show that the allies did not emerge smelling of roses. Roland Suso Richter's film is a brave attempt to tackle these issues head on.

As a military historian, I write magazine articles on the war and can see things from the German side. This is because I had an ethnic German mother and Latvian father who both served Hitler's Germany. Although I was born in the UK my first language is German and my upbringing was as much culturally German as British. Like many of the immediate post-war generation in Germany, I feel guilt for what my ancestors did.

I found the screenplay to be excellent, at times combining satire with pathos, and the more evil aspects of the Third Reich are cleverly woven into the film - the German nurse married to a Jew, both hoping the war will end soon, the corrupt Nazi Gauleiter and his officials long on rhetoric but short on integrity and political awareness as Germany slowly tips into the abyss, and the doctors who illegally trade morphine for tickets and passports to Switzerland for themselves and their families. The scenes of destruction and suffering make compelling viewing, and the use of British actors to play the RAF personnel and show their point of view makes for a balanced film, particularly the scene showing German civilians lynching enemy air-crew, something also done earlier both in France and the UK on occasions. The use of Britons to play the RAF personnel also avoids those irritating foreign accents.

The love affair between a shot down RAF bomber pilot and a German nurse who has to deal with his handiwork on a daily basis is, however, stretching things a wee bit too far. That said, a number of German women did risk the guillotine to help allied personnel escape, including Ditha Bruncel, whose story has recently emerged in a book written by her English nephew.

A number of things spoil the film from an historical point of view, but mostly only we anoraks will notice. The US daylight raid on Dresden is not portrayed, nor the accusation that US fighters strafed the survivors. In addition the wing markings on the British bombers are spurious - no white and yellow circles were ever used here - and the inappropriate use of combat footage of US bombers (especially of waist gunners that were never employed in Lancasters), and the attack at night by four German single-engined fighters when the hero is shot down. Comparativey few single engined night fighters were used in this role and the typical German night fighters were two-engined types. Both types always operated alone, whereas the film shows a flight of four Messerschmitt Bf 109Es in action, a type long obsolete by 1945. Finally the sub-titles are often poorly translated, using the irritating US spelling, and in places are absent altogether. Nonetheless it is a film to buy and show the children. We can only hope that a remake of the Dambusters will be as honest, and show life at the receiving end too. Don't put money on it though...
88 Comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 25 February 2008
Koch Vision and BBC presents "DRESDEN: THE EPIC MINI-SERIES" (2006) (180 mins/Color) (Dolby Digital) --- As seen on The History Channel -- No one could totally recreate the effects of the London Blitz or the Dresden bombing, but this mini-series "Dresden" makes a strong effort --- Must recommend the BBC presentation ultimately is a fascinating illustration of the effects of war --- The 30-minute making-of featurette only gives a little bit more background on the bombing itself, but it does go into detail about the production of the movie and the production team's efforts to achieve accuracy --- The big budget movie is impressive for a television miniseries; those 10 million euros turn up on the screen --- The films soundtrack is full of 1940s Big Band swing music, comes through with flying colors.

Under the production staff of:
Roland Suso Richter - Director
Nico Hofmann - Producer
Nikolaus Krämer - Producer
Sascha Schwingel - Producer
Stefan Kolditz - Screenwriter
Harald Kloser - Composer (Music Score)
Thomas Wanker - Composer (Music Score)
Jürgen Schuster - Executive Producer
Lucia Faust - Costume Designer

Our story line and plot, Brings together two major themes -- one dealing with the war itself, showing the German civilians living day to day in fear of severe retaliation on behalf of the British RAF --- It also shows how the British pilots, who risk their lives to bomb the enemy -- how ruthless the Nazi's were --- The other theme is a fragment of the previous theme, showing a love story between a stranded British pilot and a German civilian nurse working in a local hospital during the war --- This film betrays something more about World War 2 while 'witnessing' it from another point of view --- and at the same time enjoying an intriguing story about two 'enemies' falling in love --- It's well worth watching

the cast includes:
Felicitas Woll ... Anna Mauth
John Light ... Robert Newman
Benjamin Sadler ... Alexander Wenninger
Heiner Lauterbach ... Carl Mauth
Katharina Meinecke ... Magda Mauth
Marie Bäumer ... Maria Goldberg
Kai Wiesinger ... Simon Goldberg
Wolfgang Stumph ... Pfarrer
Jürgen Heinrich ... Gauleiter Martin Mutschmann
Susanne Bormann ... Eva Mauth
Paul Ready ... William
John Keogh ... Flight Lt. Leslie, Master Bomber
Christian Rodska ... Arthur Harris
Anja Taschenberg ... Grashena
Pip Torrens ... Saundby
Bert Böhlitz ... Mutschmanns Adjudant
Andreas Günther ... 1. Feldgendarm
Gabriela Maria Schmeide ... Frau
Sandra Nedeleff ... Jüdische Frau
Michael Brandner ... Blockwart
Denis Behnke ... Engl. pilot in briefing room
Oliver Moser ... Junger Soldat (as Marc Oliver Moro)
Louis El Ghussein
Tomas Spencer ... Mann

SPECIAL FEATURES EXTRAS:
1. Making-of Featurette
2. Archival Military Footage of the Dresden bombings

Great job by Koch Vision --- looking forward to more high quality titles from the BBC Collection film market --- order your copy now from Amazon or Koch Vision where there are plenty of copies available on DVD, stay tuned once again for top notch releases --- where they are experts in releasing long forgotten films and treasures to the collector.

Total Time: 180 mins on DVD ~ Koch Vision KOCV-6508 ~ (2/05/2008)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2009
The allied bombing of Germany is a touchy subject and perhaps 63 years on, not one to interest most film enthusiasts. But this is the sort of film that should be shown in all schools, especially British and US ones, to rid our societies of the self-righteous triumphalist and rose-tinted views of world war two, if only to show that the allies did not emerge smelling of roses. Roland Suso Richter's film is a brave attempt to tackle these issues head on.

As a military historian, I write magazine articles on the war and can see things from the German side. This is because I had an ethnic German mother and Latvian father who both served Hitler's Germany. Although I was born in the UK my first language is German and my upbringing was as much culturally German as British. Like many of the immediate post-war generation in Germany, I feel guilt for what my ancestors did.

I found the screenplay to be excellent, at times combining satire with pathos, and the more evil aspects of the Third Reich are cleverly woven into the film - the German nurse married to a Jew, both hoping the war will end soon, the corrupt Nazi Gauleiter and his officials long on rhetoric but short on integrity and political awareness as Germany slowly tips into the abyss, and the doctors who illegally trade morphine for tickets and passports to Switzerland for themselves and their families. The scenes of destruction and suffering make compelling viewing, and the use of British actors to play the RAF personnel and show their point of view makes for a balanced film, particularly the scene showing German civilians lynching enemy air-crew, something also done earlier both in France and the UK on occasions. The use of Britons to play the RAF personnel also avoids those irritating foreign accents.

The love affair between a shot down RAF bomber pilot and a German nurse who has to deal with his handiwork on a daily basis is, however, stretching things a wee bit too far. That said, a number of German women did risk the guillotine to help allied personnel escape, including Ditha Bruncel, whose story has recently emerged in a book written by her English nephew.

A number of things spoil the film from an historical point of view, but mostly only we anoraks will notice. The US daylight raid on Dresden is not portrayed, nor the accusation that US fighters strafed the survivors. In addition the wing markings on the British bombers are spurious - no white and yellow circles were ever used here - and the inappropriate use of combat footage of US bombers (especially of waist gunners that were never employed in Lancasters), and the attack at night by four German single-engined fighters when the hero is shot down. Comparativey few single engined night fighters were used in this role and the typical German night fighters were two-engined types. Both types always operated alone, whereas the film shows a flight of four Messerschmitt Bf 109Es in action, a type long obsolete by 1945. Finally the sub-titles are often poorly translated, using the irritating US spelling, and in places are absent altogether. Nonetheless it is a film to buy and show the children. We can only hope that a remake of the Dambusters will be as honest, and show life at the receiving end too. Don't put money on it though...
11 Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
I found some of the scenes very powerful. The depiction of Germany, it's people and attitudes, gave a lot of food for thought. The showing of the firebombing's devastating effects and the pilot's detachment provided a strong contrast between perpetrators and victims. A particular scene that sticks in the mind is of a Jewish man making his way home whilst being followed by a group of German children singing an anti-Semitic song as if playing a game with him, again, perpetrators and victim. So why only three stars? Because of the ridiculous love triangle with the hero and heroine locking eyes and immediately falling in love. Pahhhhh, what a lot of tosh! On the back of this film I read the book and watched the film of 'Slaughterhouse 5', an interesting contrast to 'Dresden' which, is still worth a watch I feel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2011
My true congratulations for director's Richter's painstaking research on the subject: the fate of the city of Dresden comes out authentic & historically correct.

Given this solid foundation, I felt sorry for the choice of the leading actor & actress. John Light surely convinces as a RAF bomber-pilot, but not as a love-match for German female lead Felicitas Woll: one feels their characters do not match.

As for Woll, one also wonders if 'Dresden' is the right film for her. I think her talents are much more suited for light comedy of slapstick.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
This film would possibly not be everyone's cup of tea but, having served in Germany and later lived amongst German citizens, I can understand some of the feelings of the people. It is a very sad and true love story set amongst the bombing of Dresden by the allied bombers and gives a picture of how the citizens felt about the ruination of their once beautiful city. I suppose it demonstrates the futility of war. A difficult subject to report on but the film is, to my mind, very well made.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)