Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
33
4.5 out of 5 stars


on 18 September 2017
Beautiful playing by some of the times finest musicians. A must for any Joni fan (or Jaco or Pat.........).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2017
Gets better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2017
Another great Joni Live album. She does some of the best live recordings of any artist that I have heard.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2017
Avaerage album good price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
Joni with the best backing band imaginable!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2003
Until the release of this double version of this live recording from the U.S.A. this album was only available in the U.K. and Europe as a very inferior sounding single album that was cut to pieces.
But this version has been restored by the artist herself, using the HDCD process bring forth the depth of her supporting cast "Pat Metheny","Lyle Mays" and "Patorious" this jazz playing band adding another dimension to the songs that Joni presents here.
The wonderful sound of her voice is prefectly counter-pointed by this excellent band which make the songs their own in a live environment.
Some fans might not like the arrangements of the more folk based songs, but remember with an artist like Ms Mitcell she is always trying to push the enevlope, myself I just hang on and enjoy the wonderful ride! Please note that this is not the whole album yet as it appeared on vinyl, but still the only live "Joni Mitchell" album worth having on C.D.
Buy this and wonder at this wonderful music icon from Canada, truly jaw dropping stuff...
11 Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
I never knew this recording existed until a few weeks ago when I discovered it in a friend's vinyl collection and subsequently found it on CD. A live album featuring a super-group of musicians - Pastorius, Pat Metheny, Lyle Mays, Michael Brecker - with great live interpretations of some favourite old tracks from albums such as 'Hejira'. Joni's voice is terrific, as always, but check out her guitar work which is every bit as good as the studio recordings. Highly recommend this if you are a Joni fan.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2015
In bad conditions
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 6 February 2004
The double vinyl of this CD was my first encounter with Joni Mitchell, and I was instantly captured. I've lain on the sofa with the lights out listening to this album on repeat for so many evenings.
This is Joni Mitchell at her best, supported by non other than Jaco Pastorius and Pat Metheny, with long time collaborator Lyle Mays. Getting Joni, Jaco and Pat all on the same album is something in itself unmissable.
Slightly disappointingly, two songs were cut from the double vinyl to fit onto this CD, including the loss of Big Yellow Taxi.
However, you still get exquisite passion on every track. For me, Amelia followed by Pat's Solo is the climax — of this album, and perhaps of her entire career. Joni Mitchell finds a parallel to her own life in Amelia Earhardt, and the lyrics are both personal and striking (the sound of flying engines - is a sound so wild and blue - it scrambles time and seasons - if it gets through to you - then your becomes a travelogue... and ... I guess I've never really loved - I guess that is the truth - I've spent my whole life - at icy altitudes...).
Following this straight through, we experience one of Pat Metheny's finest moments on guitar.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2000
I bought this when it came out as a record(vinyl) The opening is quite amusing jumping from shadows and light to why do fools fall in love and some obscure dialogue then blasting into in france they kiss on main street with some brilliant lead guitar and a guitar solo not on the studio version.Joni`s voice on edith and the kingpin is superb .Coyote remains one of my favourites(similar to don Juan`s reckless daughter not on this album)Goodbye pork pie hat and the dry cleaner from des moines are jazzed up to the hilt with joni`s voice simply stunning.Amelia ,pat`s solo and hejira are breathtaking.The remaining tracks must be listened to to be believed.This collection is a must for a true joni mitchell fan just to listen in awe of that wonderful voice complemented perfectly with musicians of the highest order.The album versions of these songs are taken to new heights which is a feat not all artists are capable.
11 Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)