Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
68
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.67+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 18 August 2008
After a few seasons, sitcoms usually go down hill, but this prooves that there are plenty of laughs left for Allo, Allo in it's 6th & 7th season.
The format is the same as before with all of your favourite characters present, the only difference is that Jack Haig's character is missing due to his untimely death. The character of Roger Leclerc is replaced by his twin brother, Ernest Leclerc played by Derick Royal and then by Robin Parkinson in series 7. Gavin Richards, who plays Captain Bertorelli also steps down at the end of series 6 and is replaced by the actor Rodger Kitter. In most programmes changing the actors and characters would't work, but this has been pulled off brilliantly by the writters and the relivant actors.
Apart from a few minor changes here and there, everyone else is present and correct including the hilarious Officer Crabtree and Herr Flick. There is also a guest appearance by Hans Geering (Sam Kelly) which is worth a watch!
There are 18 episodes in total, each lasting 30mins, which is 8mins longer than the eps in series 5. The plots are hillarious and our favourite characters will find themselves in many funny situations.
It's certainly worth every penny. Role on season 8 and 9.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2017
Loved it and watch it often. Always a good laugh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
Comedy at its Best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2015
Glorious lunacy. I've had the first two series for many years and it was a real pleasure to continue the antics. All series highly recommended to lovers of UK comedy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2017
Happy with these two series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 September 2008
Has the economy got you down? Have politics got your blood pressure up? Will one more idiotic "reality" show on the telly send you round the bend?

Time for another dose of 'Allo 'Allo!--the magnificent nonsense that proves the old adage that laughter is the best medicine. And series six and seven, like series five, four, three, two, and one, will leave you whooping with laughter, no matter how many times you have seen its variations on the same theme. The maids and Lieutenant Grueber will find the podgy Rene irresistible; Edith will sing off-key; her bed-ridden mother will complain "Will nobody come to the aid of an old woman?"; Helga will bellow "COME IN!"; the black-leathered Herr Flick and Von Smallhausen will hatch their fiendish plans to no avail; the chicken-helmeted (and -hearted) Capitano Bertorelli will make-a mistake-a; Michelle of the Resistance will "say this only once;" Sergeant Crabtree will murder the "French" language, and the thick-headed British airmen will still not get away from Nuvion, that small village in occupied France where everyone collaborates with everyone else (I am passing over the "Fallen Madonna with the Big Boobies" by von Klomp and the "Cracked Vase with the Big Daisies" by van Gogh.).

The running gags are what make 'Allo 'Allo so much fun, and the gags in this delightful series have been running a long way for a long time. And despite the fact that the show hits all the various national and social stereotypes, the humor is good-natured; even the sexual puns and innuendo, completely lacking in subtlety, are hysterically funny and devoid of the patent crudity that infects so many "modern" American sitcoms.

So, in the words of Sergeant Crabtree, witch this twee-dosk sot in the oovening and you will be sure to have a good moaning the nayxt doo.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2008
I received series 6+7 from Amazon on the 18th of August and have now watched all 18 episodes THREE TIMES. I know it may be a little sad, but I am about to start watching it again. Having had series 1 to 5 for a long time, I have been waiting this batch for a few years.
This, along with Dads Army, beats anything that current TV can provide.
I was very happily surprised that I don't recall seeing any of these episodes before, which makes them even more refreshing.
Please encourage the supplier to release the remainder soon. I don't want to wait another couple of years.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 August 2008
What can I say, it is at last with us, and as brilliant as I remember.
A truly outstanding cast, fabulous humour, and the inevitable double entendre. Rene and Madam Edith along with the rest of the gang are up to the usual high jinx complete with the same British airmen they have been trying to get rid of for years.
I believe at long last that this fabulous series is to be released in Germany. I just hope that it translates well. The Colonel (he of the Black Forest gateau factory), the lovely Lt. Gruber, the dashing Capt. Bertorelli, not to mention the beautiful Helga, Herr Flick and Von Smallhausen, are back with their usual delightful plots and strategems.
Does Von Smallhausen actually translate into German?
Personally I have lost track of how many Fallen Madonna and how many Big Boobies there are.
YOU WILL LOVE IT.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
The adventures of Renee Artois and his reluctant involvement in the Resistance continues in the sixth and seventh series as The Resistance continue countless attempts to get the British airmen back to Britain and the mystery of the missing paintings continues to get more complicated.

While not as strong as series 3 or 5, the story still flows on very well and the comedy still as good as ever. One of the main highlights sees Renee and Edith escape to England after being mistaken as collaborators and once there they meet series favourite Captain Gearing who is now a British citizen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2008
What a delight that series 6 & 7 has been released. It is a real comedy treat - especially for Allo Allo fans. I have waited on this release for some time now and it is worth every minute. Although two of the characters being portrayed have changed, the rest of the cast are as funny and hilarious as we know them to be from old. Herr Flick and his midget friend always ensure a laugh as does the rest of the cast - highly recommended and for fans of the series, it is a must. If you want to see the set of Allo Allo then look no further than Lynford Hall in Norfolk which is now a hotel. Under refurbishment recently it is worth seeing as it doubled as the town square and the Chateau of General Vonclinkerhoffen.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)