Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
178
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 August 2008
Superbad is not for everyone.

The one star reviews here demonstrate that a certain percentage of the poplace is just not going to get this movie - fair do's, to each their own.

However, there are many who perceive Superbad to be an instant comedy classic and the funniest film of the decade so far. I'm one of those people.

The film was many years in development, which comes across in the character development and interwoven storyline. Not that this is a complex story, by any means. It's a very simple premise of three guys who need to buy liquor for their grad party. The beauty of the film is not in what they are doing, but in how they do it.

The three main characters are well cast and genuinely funny - Christopher Mintz-Platz in his debut role (Mclovin!) is a scene stealer and the laurel and hardy-esque pairing of Jonah Hill and Michael Cera (as Seth and Evan) gives this film a solid backbone, a great platform for the filmakers to introduce a wierd and wonderful array of supporting characters into the mix - including co-writer Seth Rogan and Bill Hader as a pair of crazy cops.

Behind the comedic vulgarity and Animal House / American Pie facade, this film succeeds because it has a heart. As the action continues, we realise that this is also a veiled coming-of-age drama.

The filmakers have approached their subject with an obvious dedication to make this film something more than just another teen comedy.

A funky soundtrack and vintage 70's feel (although the movie is set in the present day) complete the package.

This film has that rare rewatchable quality which will demand repeated viewings time and time again, to those who love it.

Superbad is supergood. 5/5
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2008
I'm amazed how poorly rated this film is on Amazon. If you're interested in this film, PLEASE don't get put off by the reviews here.

This is an original and genuinely funny film. There are a number of comparisons that can be drawn to American Pie, but ultimately Superbad ushers in the next generation of teen comedy (and I'm sure it will have as many immitators as American Pie predictably did).

If you want to find out the ratings this film really deservers try:

IMDB - 7.9
(if you use IMDB, you'll know this is a high score)

rotten tomatoes - 87% fresh (!!!)
("Consensus: An authentic take on the awkwardness of the high school experience.")

When I saw this in the cinema, the entire audience was rolling about laughing at many points during the film (which is rare in the UK!). If you have a sense of humour, don't miss out! This is one of the best comedies of the 00s.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2007
Coded for all regions (A, B and C).

Features include:
1080P 1.85:1 Widescreen
English and Italian Dolby True HD 5.1 Surround
Czech, Hungarian, Polish and Russian DD5.1 Surround
Subtitles: English, English HOH, Arabic, Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Estonian, Finnish, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Italian, Norwegian, Polish, Romanian, Slovene, Swedish, Turkish
Commentary with Filmmakers and Cast
Deleted and Extended Scenes
Gag Reel
Cop Car Confessions
The Making of Superbad
Line-O-Rama
Dancing Title Sequence
The Vag-tastic Voyage
The Music of Superbad
Cast Audition Footage
On-Set Diaries
Everyone Hates Michael Cera
Press Junket Meltdown
Original Table Read 2002 - Seth Rogan reads the part of "Seth"
And Much More!
11 Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2008
This movie deserves to be off the rating scale. If you saw it in the cinemas like i did, then you will know that it is a great movie (unless 500 people laughing simultaneously is just a coincidence).

The characters really make this film, and if you are a teenage student (like i am) then you will no doubtedly agree, that you have gone through some of the events portrayed in the film, ie: trying to get alcohol despite being underage or getting into the pants of that girl you have always liked lol...

Some reviewers below have scorned this film for the wrong reasons, its not "infantile and childish" by any means. Infact, this is a well written film, meant for the younger generations, with whitty and amusing characters that really convey what the films about.

The jokes and puns are excellent and true to life (in most instances). To sum up, go and see this film; you wont regret it; and in my opinion is one of the best teen comedies of all time since the likes of american pie, scary movie and not just another teen movie.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2017
I got to see an advanced screening the other night, complete with an interview with the cast. I figured this movie could go either way, especially when you consider "40 year-old Virgin" and "Knocked Up" were funny and entertaining, but they weren't exactly loved by all.

I am happy to say this movie was wonderful. The jokes are crude, but dead on, and unlike recent movies with a similar style, like "Clerks 2," the plot moves on without any real downtime (you know, where the plot slows the progress of humor and you find yourself checking your watch). Jonah Hill and Michael Cera have that best friend chemistry that this movie required as well as being dead on with their jokes. The real star of the movie, however, was newcomer Christopher Mintz-Plasse, who took the role of Fogell and OWNED it. I got the chance to chat with the actors and I was not only surprised to hear that both Mintz-Plasse and Michael Cera are 18 and 19 respectively.

For the type of movie this is and the brilliant script that Seth Brogen has presented, there is no reason why anyone, young or old, can't relate to this off-the-wall comedy. See this movie!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2008
I saw this movie last night on DVD and absolutely loved it! I do wish I'd seen it in the cinema!

The characters, Seth and Evan were both funny and convincing as two typical teenagers trying to buy alcohol despite being underage and trying to get lucky with the girls!

But my favourite part of the film was of course, the 2 cops...I have never laughed so much at a film.

I totally recommend this film to anyone who just wants to have a silly laugh! Buy this DVD!!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 February 2008
The first 15 minutes of Superbad are, well, superbad. Jonah Hill's Seth is a horrible, unfunny character who comes across like a hysterically immature version of Nice Guy Eddie. I hated him and I was beginning to get a very bad feeling about the film. But then the story finally got rolling and I realised I was supposed to hate him, that was the point. Relief turned to joy and was soon overtaken by pure, unadulterated pleasure, because Superbad is the best comedy of the last 10 years...at least. The story - in true frat house tradition - revolves around three geeks trying to get booze for a popular girls house party, and this enables Seth Rogen's script to follow a number of increasingly funny strands not least of which involves the "party cops" (Rogen and Hader - so good they surely deserve their own film). I really could go on and on about how fantastic a comedy this is, but maybe I need only say that this is up there with Animal House. Praise indeed. Oh, and by the way is Michael Cera Simon Amstell's brother?
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
I could quite easily and unregrettedly say that Superbad is my favourite comedy movie of all time. This movie is just full of hilarious content, how anyone could disagree baffles me, I've seen this film 10 times but still laugh out loud at certain moments... The main reason I love this movie is because it is awkward. Yes, awkward. By that I mean that both the writers the the actors do an amazing job of creating some amazingly awkward scenes - and we all know that awkward moments are hilarious when we're not involved. I believe this was Jonah Hills first major part in a movie and I'm convinced it's what got him his recognition, and rightly so. There's too much hilarious content to explain, so just go watch it, please do, you won't regret it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 April 2008
Easily the title of my review can't complement this movie enough and neither can the star rating system. This film is without a doubt the funniest teenage comedy I've seen... Ever, in fact it's even better than the original American Pie. The story tells of Seth and Evan two High School seniors who attempt to host one of the biggest beer bashes their town has ever seen and on a side note they hope to score.

During the movie the boys come across a problem with their party, they're not old enough to buy beer so they have to get their friend Fogell to get a fake ID and buy the beer for them. This is the historical moment where Fogell transforms into McLovin the 25 year old, Hawaiian organ donor. From start to finish this film is packed with some of the most memorable one liners that you have heard packed into the single motion picture experience.

A little warning for you all is that this film pulls no punches.(Well maybe one and Fogell got the brunt) It is simply crude in every aspect of these one liners that I know you will find just as hysterical as I did. There is swearing but only to a point where you start to become offended but then realise this is all leading to something better.

Get this movie, I guarantee you will love every second of it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 November 2007
This is one of the best comedies of the year. Its hard to review without giving too much away but interestingly it takes the concept of a buddy nerd teenagers flick and rather than having all three in every scene together all the time, it lets each individual follow thier own path. Up there with N.Dynamite. It is refershing to go to the cinema and split yourself in two with laughter!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse