Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Playlist - Acoustic Christmas Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars
27
3.1 out of 5 stars
The Tripper [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.43+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICEon 23 July 2009
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Not been a major fan of the slasher genre of movie I tried to keep an open mind when reviewing this item. I decided I would try and focus on the positive aspects rather than expand mostly on the negative aspects of the DVD.

For starters I think the idea of the political slant with it set in the 80's and using a Ronald Regan mask as the main horror tool was slightly over optimistic. Whilst many Regan detractors might think so, few could agree he's hardly the scariest man to base the mask of the film.

So what about the story I hear you say? Well it's just the usual group goes of young boys and girls go off for a weekend away and get embroiled into a mass murder plot. With the town mayor refusing to call off the concert no matter what the body count is, the flimsy plot line is by now is all too familiar and predictable. Whilst the acting was ok and it was good to see David and Courtney Cox Arquette in a movie together, the movie had too few genuine highs.

Although I wouldn't call the movie dull, Courtney Cox does keep the viewer interested until the end but sadly if it wasn't for her friend's fame this would have been one film I wouldn't have entertained.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 April 2008
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Yes the mask is new and fun, it certainly gives the movie something well needed...also there is a few laugh out loud bits. This mainly refers to Courtney Coxs character, a raging animal rights activist, who has about a minutes screen time...but that minute is well worth it :-)
Unfortunatly aside from that this movie is just a 'through the motions' slasher flick...nothing apart from the mask sets it aside from the others.
Plot: Kid who has a slightly warped childhood snaps, commits a murder, grows up to be even more warped, goes on a slaughter spree. Dont get me wrong I love horror movies...but even I am now getting bored of the same old same old...some inventive murders could have really saved this movie but alas no.
Still I would prompt the run of the mill slasher lover to give this a go for certain!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 June 2008
This film is appalling. Not in the way 'so bad it's good', but so bad it's very bad. It has nothing to offer, apart from wasting an hour and a half of your life. I got this film for free, and I still feel conned. It's not scary, or gripping, or gory, or interesting. It's badly directed by a bad actor. You will be hard pushed to get past 15 minutes of this fodder without wanting to turn it off, but you keep watching thinking it has to get better, which it doesn't.
Even if you're a fan of old skool stalk 'n slash, or low budget zombie flicks, or 80s video nasties, or any genre of movie, you will not like this crap.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 April 2008
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
An unoriginal film, bits taken from movies like Saw etc. Nothing new and nothing that has not been done before. The story is absed on a group going off to the woods to revel in drugs, sex and rock and roll. In turn a Psychopath is on the loss with an axe.
Overall, I could have fallen asleep, not that it was bad, it was just the same stuff I have seen in previous movies. Rather than bring life movies in this genre, it just makes you wince.

Anyway, it's not that bad, but it isn't good by any means. A rental maybe only if you're bored of watching eastenders omnibus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 July 2009
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The tripper falls firmly into the category filled with horror films that are fun to watch simply for their predictability.

Poorly written and woodenly acted this is not likely to give you the chills like a good horror should. This film also falls back on the overuse of gore as a shock mechanism, which is too common in the post-Saw film industry.

I imagine Courtney Cox would not have appeared in this if her husband weren't so heavily involved in it's development. With many better films available at a lower price this film is one to miss.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 April 2012
David Arquette has created an original and fun horror movie, It has a cool funny cast, and has loads of classic gore moments! The film has also created a brilliant new maniac killer.. i hope there's a sequel!!

the import black edition Blu-ray is region B and in English language, no features, picture quality is a bit grainy and not a perfect transfer unfortunately but it still looks better than DVD, and it is uncut like the R1 DVD release.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 June 2008
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This film is unsatisfactory. It has nothing to offer, apart from wasting an hour and a half of your life. It's not scary, or non frightening or interesting about it. with regards to the plot of the story, no originality and non enjoyable. just a waste of time and watching a few minutes of it, you can clude whats gonna happened soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 April 2008
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The scope for doing anything above average with the slasher genre is pretty thin these days, and this film really doesn't do anything to help itself in the way of originality - even though it does try. Here we have a group of people scooting off to a makeshift Woodstock in search of sex, drugs and everything else you would associate with any other slasher film... here they find themselves prey to a murderous psychopath who happens to walk and talk like one Ronald Reagan. In terms of the plot - nuff said; either the makers of this film didn't have a clue what they were doing or they thought they were doing something clever with the Reagan angle (Reagen was previously known as 'The Gipper'), but either way it just doesn't work.

In terms of suspense, frights and tension this film is considerably lacking. It tries to make up for its inadequacies with extensive drugs and gore but falls flat on its face. The acting reeks of people who just wanted their pay check and is wooden with a capital 'W'. So why 3 stars? Well, David Arquette wrote, produced, starred in and directed this film alongside wife Courtenay who stars and produces; off the back of the Scream franchise their involvement was sure to attract the usual audience and they made sure that this film ticked all the boxes for what makes a slasher popular. If you don't expect too much from your films this one can be quite a laugh, but that's 'Grease 2' type of funny rather that Ben Stiller funny, so be warned unless you are really REALLY into these cheap horror flicks.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Format: DVD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
What can you say? It's worthy of sitting through if you have nothing better to do one evening, but I don't see why anyone but the most devoted horror collector would feel an urgent need to have a copy of this film in their library. Reasonable stuff, but I wouldn't go out of my way to see it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 August 2015
This Horror is never quite as Funny or thrilling as it thinks it is.It uses tired ideas and puts them across as though its being Retro and ironic when it is infact just being plain lazy.Nothing We haven't seen before done much better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)