Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
21
3.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 April 2017
Love, my mother wants one lol
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
:-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2015
Though more a teen thriller than a horror, I really enjoyed this film. You will work it all out well before the big reveal but this didn't detract from my enjoyment. On the whole the acting is very good, though i'm not a lover of Melissa Sagemiller as the main character. It did take me back to the films i loved as a teenager like I know what you did last summer and The craft, if you love films like this you will no doubt like this film, if not don't bother watching as it will probably annoy you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2016
'Soul Survivors' is about a young teenage girl named Casey and her friends who gets into a car accident after being chased from a nightclub. She then wakes up to find that her boyfriend has died and that the weird people from the nightclub are following her. But no one believes her and they think that she is just imagining it. I found this film quite dull and pointless if I am being honest. The story seemed to go nowhere and not a lot of any interest even happened. All that happens is Casey walking and running around from mysterious people and moaning and talking to her friends and a priest about it for 85 minutes. This film is from the producers of 'I Know What You Did Last Summer' which is one of my favourite horror films, but this film is NOT a horror film as it's more of a teen thriller with lots of drama elements added to it. The characters in this film were very likable and I did feel for them and the soundtrack is pretty catchy and has a 90's feel to it, but the story in this film was pretty dreadful and dull which is then made worse by a flat 'so-called' twist ending.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2012
This film was slightly interesting trying to work out who was dead and therefore a ghost and who wasn't. Decent enough story line throughout which kept me watching till the end. I would probably say it was one of those films that you can waste a couple of hours or so watching and not kick yourself for doing so
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2017
I gave it a chance and I actually really enjoyed it! I mainly bought it for Eliza Dushku who I'm a big fan of but the movie actually ended up being surprisingly fun, if you liked Urban Legend and I Know What You Did Last Summer or other teen slashers you'll definitely get something out of this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have mixed feelings about Soul Survivors, especially this self-proclaimed “The Killer Cut” version. This movie oversells itself, and it tries much too hard to be confusing, providing so many last-minute twists that it ruined some of my appreciation for it. I think the moviemakers are also wrong in thinking it explains itself fully in the end; surely, one figures out the whole gist of the thing, but some of the nuances really don’t resonate that well. Having watched the movie and the limited commentary included with it, I still must question several scenes that either do not make sense in the proper context or seem to have nothing to do with the actual story.
I won’t dwell too much on plot here for fear of giving something away. Basically, this is a story of four friends: Cassie (played wonderfully by newcomer Melissa Sagemiller), her boyfriend Sean (Casey Affleck), her best friend Annie (Eliza Dushku), and Annie’s boyfriend/Cassie’s former boyfriend Matt (Wes Bentley). The gang goes to a rave on the eve of starting college, where a bunch of weirdoes wearing featureless masks keep popping up. Then Cassie and Sean have a misunderstanding after Matt talks Cassie into giving him a goodbye kiss. On the way home, a car full of masked people swings around the front of the group’s vehicle and causes a hellacious accident. Cassie survives, but she is emotionally traumatized by Sean’s death. Matt and Annie somehow come out unscathed. Cassie goes on to college and begins to lose her grip on reality. She keeps seeing the weirdoes from the club following her, and on several occasions they attempt to kill her. Matt stays to take care of her, but as time goes on Cassie becomes suspicious of her friends, relying on the comfort of Sean (whose ghostly presence appears to her on a number of occasions) and a young priest at the school. There is an element of suspense here, one which builds up as the movie progresses, but I found myself preoccupied trying to figure out just who was actually dead here and what the final twist of the movie would be.
Soul Survivors is basically a psychological thriller. The “killer cut” promises more blood, sex, and terror than the theatrical version; there is some blood, particularly in one scene, but there is basically no sex to be found anywhere here, nor can I say I felt a lump of anything resembling terror building up in my stomach. Suspense-wise, the movie shoots itself in the foot; by the time you get past the surreal marathon of images, flashbacks, and dreams at the end, all you really care about is seeing the movie end. The basic idea of the film is good, the actors are very good indeed, but there’s just something missing in the whole atmosphere.
It’s interesting to note that Eliza Dushku is featured most prominently on the movie case, while the real star, Melissa Sagemiller, is almost lost in the background. Dushku fans will definitely want to see this movie, but her role is basically that of a supporting actress. I liked the commentary by Sagemiller included on the DVD. She explains about half a dozen scenes (there is no movie-length commentary) and offers some insight on the film that I was interested in hearing. The behind-the-scenes featurette was short and interesting but nothing special. The featurette on Harvey Danger basically has nothing to do with the film, but it was certainly unusual and slightly comical. The extra features on the DVD are much appreciated, but they can’t make up for the flaws in the actual movie.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
Typical teen horror film. You'll like it of this genre is your thing. Worth a watch just to tick it off your list of movies to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2015
Not the best film ive saw but worth a watch. Think half way threw it all becomes obvious to the whats happening ....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2013
Really a good film I love these suspence films and Melissa Sagemiller is so good as also the other actors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)