Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

2.8 out of 5 stars
114
2.8 out of 5 stars
Format: HD DVD|Change
Price:£11.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 June 2017
A story with happy ending. I really like the props in this movie. It's quite realistic. I like the hero. I watched this video with my brother. The plot was dramatic and thrilling. The film is too good to be true.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2007
"Ocean's Twelve" faces the same difficulties as any sequel. By this I don't mean those movies that are essential components to trilogies that continue the story; I mean those movies that basically take an established cast and throw them in a completely new storyline. The problem is trying to meet the expectations of an audience that loved the first and wants a new movie to love for all the same reasons. So many people were disappointed to learn that "Ocean's Twelve" was not yet another heist movie.

This film had to be a sequel. The plot takes advantage of the relationships the characters developed in the first film, and throws in many subtle jokes the average viewer may miss if they don't listen closely. Some of the phrases like "thief a la mode" used in the film may require a bit of culture to appreciate. While Ocean's teams do work together in the same fashion as the first film, the thievery itself doesn't take the spotlight in the film. "Ocean's Eleven" was the traditional heist film in its plot development with its climax at the point of executing the plan. Ocean's Twelve breaks away from this formula in favor of developing opportunities for some great character interaction.

The film disappoints with many characters taking a back seat in their roles to such an extent that the film could have been named after Pitt's character, with the Benedict aftermath merely serving as a catalyst for the characters finding their way back together. However, it would have been unreasonable for all eleven original characters to share an equal share of the spotlight and still turn out as well. The story is more about Brad Pitt and Catherine Zeta-Jones than George Clooney and Julia Roberts. The rest of the cast perform very well and the guest-star appearances, including an unforgettable one by Bruce Willis, are hysterical. Half of the time I was unsure if the actors were even acting!! It appeared as if they were not even looking at the script, and instead talking amongst themselves like, "Hey, so how you've been?". "Oh, I `v been good, the kids at home are taking up a lot of my time, ya know". Come on now, really.

In the end, "Ocean's Twelve" is not a mere heist film but an Intelligent Comedy that may need to be watched more than once to appreciate some of the subtleties in the dialog. Just the amount of activity on this film's message board regarding some of the subtleties in the plot is a testament to the thought that went into making this film. Will "Ocean 13" rectify this, well I would have to go see it for myself.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2005
I thought this film was a pretty lame attempt at a sequel. The story was poor and it lacked the action and imagination of the Oceans Eleven and includes some really pointless content. I would not recommend it - very disappointing.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2005
I think I can see what they were trying to do, there was some magical dialogue between Clooney & Pitt in Oceans11 which looked like it could have been improvised. There were some cool shots with a roving camera. There were a few quirky jumps in the plot timeline. All that worked in Oceans11. In Oceans12 it is like they decided to try and make the entire film with out script, timeline or tripods - and it comes out a mess. Add to that a plot that is not beleivable and you will only get to the end if you are lazy or have nothing better to do. The improvised dialouge still works for Pitt & Clooney but not for anyone else in the cast. And rolling out Bruce Willis and having Julia Roberts pretending to be herself severely failed to please the audience I was with. Sadly it isn't even good for the kids as there is little action and no great heist. If you liked Oceans11 - watch that again & not this.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 5 August 2010
Ghastly beyond belief. The phrase 'style over substance' doesn't come close to describing the unintelligible snippets, jump-cuts or time-leaps that typify this clunker of a film. As far as style goes, it SEEMS to be wanting to emulate Guy Ritchie at his best, but simply ends up having no real storyline beyond that of wanting to be seen as something it isn't. I bet the writers slapped themselves on the back at the thought ot how clever it would be to get Julia Roberts's character trying to impersonate Julia Roberts.

There isn't much point in trying to summarise the story because there isn't really anything there. The resolution is pathetic because the crew simply pay off the casino owner who was threatening to kill them. The final shot of the mysterious thief who is presumably going to rob the casino again isn't clever or even suspenseful --- it's simply nothing.

Buy this film at your peril. It's a waste of talent and a waste of money.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2011
After thoroughly enjoying Oceans 11 i thought Oceans 12 would be just as good as it had the same cast and the story was to pick up where the last one ended. basically the money that was stolen from the casinos had to be returned to the owner in 2 weeks or they would all be killed. and so began 2 hours of flashbacks and another small time robbery, only to find they were up against another thief ! (the best) who agrees to pay off their debt plus interest if they can beat him at one last robbery. they had to steal a Faberge egg from a museum. with a female cop who had a thing with Rusty on their trail, to Julia Roberts in disguise played by Julia Roberts ! there was none of the high tech planning as in the first film. it just plods along to the point i was checking to see how much time was left! i was totally bored and wished i had taken note of the reviews and not bothered to buy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2005
This film really is terrible.
Stupid plot, a script that sounds largely (badly) improvised and when the Julia Roberts twist is revealed with Bruce Willis I turned it off immediately as I knew that it couldn't possibly get any better than the 100mins of garbage that preceeded it.
Whilst the first film lacked a bit of substance, it was redeemed by the stylish camerawork and playful, knockabout acting between people who genuinely looked to be enjoying themselves.
In Oceans 12 the plot is so wafer thin and staggeringly far fetched (holographic faberge eggs!) that no amount of A listers wise cracking can help it.
Awful Awful Awful
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 March 2015
Ocean's 11 was a slick movie, ultra cool and up there with the best as regards superior remakes. Ocean's Twelve is a waste, a film coasting on star appeal, a picture desperately trying to cram as much into its screenplay for fear of failing.

The plot shoots off in a number of directions, yet incredibly it still wastes most of the cast who have all been held over from Ocean's 11. This time Catherine Zeta-Jones joins in for some weighty dressage and Vincent Cassel is along as some sort of break-dancing Raffles dude. There's the odd in-joke that works, while the by-play between the principal players (Clooney/Pitt/Damon) holds a modicum of entertainment value. However, once the dust settles on the myriad of schemes and scrapes, you are left with a sequel of a remake that is almost everything the other film was not. Boo. 4/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 August 2005
Ocean's Eleven was great fun. Ocean's Twelve is dire. It tries so painfully hard to be clever but no amount of plot twists, guest appearances and colourful locations can compensate for its ludicrously thin script. Avoid at all costs.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2010
Quite frankly this is the ugly ducking out of the three modern ocean films. Its so awful. It has a promising start but then it just gets worse. Just so so so much worse. OK, so the initial plot is to pay back the money stolen from the first film to Terry the casino owner, fair enough but then the plot just becomes so fragmented and quite frankly boring that its hard to watch. In some scenes the action is quite good, like the dancing sequence the fox uses in order to get through the alarm lasers near the end of the film but apart from that this film makes for poor viewing. Oceans 11 and Oceans 13 are much much better. I suppose its worth watching once but then never to watch again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)