Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.7 out of 5 stars
111
2.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£17.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 30 December 2005
It's slick, it's fun, it's well-produced, it's well cast. Watch it for an hour or so's entertainment: shallow, not very meaningful, full of eye candy for men as well as women (provided you're not into female blondes), but enjoyable. Good if you're looking for a snack rather than fulfillment through film. Don't expect juicy steak -- it's strictly popcorn fare.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2005
I loved the first one, and sat down to this with friends. What a huge disappointment.
The plot is paper thin and I can't explain it even though we tried to figure out who did what and why, for a full hour after it finished. They tilt a house, they have a hologram of an egg, they always have someone in the background to help them out, everyone around them is stupid, everyone watching is treated as being stupid. It's absolute rubbish. There are many scenes which lead nowhere, add nothing, and seem to be contractual obligations for the alocated amount of time on screen for the big names.
The supporting characters (who make up about 8 of Ocean's 12) have nothing to do other than small quips.
It started off okay - Ocean has to pay back the 160mill he stole. And then what happened? The scene-cuts are so fast and there is so much 'convenient' and instant plane flights, cars on hand, changes of European location, hotels and people that after the first half hour we knew this whole film was goping to rely on coincidences, unseen background work, and the complete destruction of belief. In short, it was as if a dozen script writers had worked independently of each other to come up with their own part of the story.
And after a while, they have to rely on flash-backs to try and explain what's going on - but by then it's too late and it's all been such a trendy mess that I despaired and no-one cared!
And as for the moment when the character played by Julia Roberts becomes a Julia Roberts look-a-like to help with a stupid attempt to steal a Faberge egg.... my brain exploded. She even speaks on the phone to the 'real' Julia Roberts, which was beyond idiocy. Bruce Willis, playing himself, makes the most contrived cameo I've seen to help her do it.
I've never seen such a stupid film, and I hope I never do again.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2005
Like many others I though Ocean's 11 was a brilliant film with great characters with great lines. When I heard they were making a sequel I couldn't wait, of course it wasn't expected to be as good as the first but still it would surely be good fun to watch.
But oh no this was awful to watch. I don't think I have ever been so disappointed in a film. Many others seemed to think likewise with the most number of people I have ever seen leave the cinema before the film had ended. In short the plot was awful, there was no big heist like in the first just lots of little parts that never went anywhere. There were hardly any funny lines or well thought out set pieces. I wish they never made this as it was truly the most awful feeling watching it.
Stick with the first film and never watch this or it will disappoint you, trust me and all the other reviewers who seem to think likewise.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 April 2005
A very disappointing sequel with little of the magic of the first film. Whilst it's watchable enough it's never truly engaging, the plot is wafer thin and the story hops about all over the place with no real direction. It comes across as a 2 hour showcase for the big names with each of the stars jostling for screen time. The script is filled with irrelevant chatter, the Chinese man Yen has practically zero lines and zero duties and therefore zero point being in the film other than to make up the original numbers, Andy Garcia comes across about as menacing as the Andrex puppy and Bradd Pitt is constantly stuffing his face. I must just mention the part with Bruce Willis and Julia Roberts actually pretending to be themselves in real-life, I guess this is supposed to be funny but it's really just ridiculous, and any film where there is a character called "The Nightfox" you'd expect to be related to Marvel comics. This was a sequel made purely to cash in on the success of the first film, it's nicely filmed (though a little too much wobbly camcorder action for my liking) with beautiful locations and wardrobes, but none of this helps to save what's in the end not even in the same league as it's predecessor - I was gutted when I left the cinema.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2007
"Ocean's Twelve" faces the same difficulties as any sequel. By this I don't mean those movies that are essential components to trilogies that continue the story; I mean those movies that basically take an established cast and throw them in a completely new storyline. The problem is trying to meet the expectations of an audience that loved the first and wants a new movie to love for all the same reasons. So many people were disappointed to learn that "Ocean's Twelve" was not yet another heist movie.

This film had to be a sequel. The plot takes advantage of the relationships the characters developed in the first film, and throws in many subtle jokes the average viewer may miss if they don't listen closely. Some of the phrases like "thief a la mode" used in the film may require a bit of culture to appreciate. While Ocean's teams do work together in the same fashion as the first film, the thievery itself doesn't take the spotlight in the film. "Ocean's Eleven" was the traditional heist film in its plot development with its climax at the point of executing the plan. Ocean's Twelve breaks away from this formula in favor of developing opportunities for some great character interaction.

The film disappoints with many characters taking a back seat in their roles to such an extent that the film could have been named after Pitt's character, with the Benedict aftermath merely serving as a catalyst for the characters finding their way back together. However, it would have been unreasonable for all eleven original characters to share an equal share of the spotlight and still turn out as well. The story is more about Brad Pitt and Catherine Zeta-Jones than George Clooney and Julia Roberts. The rest of the cast perform very well and the guest-star appearances, including an unforgettable one by Bruce Willis, are hysterical. Half of the time I was unsure if the actors were even acting!! It appeared as if they were not even looking at the script, and instead talking amongst themselves like, "Hey, so how you've been?". "Oh, I `v been good, the kids at home are taking up a lot of my time, ya know". Come on now, really.

In the end, "Ocean's Twelve" is not a mere heist film but an Intelligent Comedy that may need to be watched more than once to appreciate some of the subtleties in the dialog. Just the amount of activity on this film's message board regarding some of the subtleties in the plot is a testament to the thought that went into making this film. Will "Ocean 13" rectify this, well I would have to go see it for myself.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2005
I think I can see what they were trying to do, there was some magical dialogue between Clooney & Pitt in Oceans11 which looked like it could have been improvised. There were some cool shots with a roving camera. There were a few quirky jumps in the plot timeline. All that worked in Oceans11. In Oceans12 it is like they decided to try and make the entire film with out script, timeline or tripods - and it comes out a mess. Add to that a plot that is not beleivable and you will only get to the end if you are lazy or have nothing better to do. The improvised dialouge still works for Pitt & Clooney but not for anyone else in the cast. And rolling out Bruce Willis and having Julia Roberts pretending to be herself severely failed to please the audience I was with. Sadly it isn't even good for the kids as there is little action and no great heist. If you liked Oceans11 - watch that again & not this.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2007
Beautifully shot all over Europe and an all star cast but to someone expecting the clever plotting and near-wizardry of Ocean's Eleven it is a sad disappointment. The various heists are not shown but described (leaving many questions as to 'how they did it' unanswered) and - without giving away secrets - the most clever theft is thrown away at the end in an unsatisfactory and unconvincing flashback.
It looks as though the actors enjoyed it but perhaps rather more than the audience.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 August 2005
Ocean's Eleven was great fun. Ocean's Twelve is dire. It tries so painfully hard to be clever but no amount of plot twists, guest appearances and colourful locations can compensate for its ludicrously thin script. Avoid at all costs.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2005
I thought this film was a pretty lame attempt at a sequel. The story was poor and it lacked the action and imagination of the Oceans Eleven and includes some really pointless content. I would not recommend it - very disappointing.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2005
This film really is terrible.
Stupid plot, a script that sounds largely (badly) improvised and when the Julia Roberts twist is revealed with Bruce Willis I turned it off immediately as I knew that it couldn't possibly get any better than the 100mins of garbage that preceeded it.
Whilst the first film lacked a bit of substance, it was redeemed by the stylish camerawork and playful, knockabout acting between people who genuinely looked to be enjoying themselves.
In Oceans 12 the plot is so wafer thin and staggeringly far fetched (holographic faberge eggs!) that no amount of A listers wise cracking can help it.
Awful Awful Awful
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)