Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
26
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 January 2008
k.d's new album is beautiful. The songs are what she does best, simple, heartfelt, melodic, and sung with a voice smooth as honey and aching with emotion and nuance. "I Dream of Spring" is gorgeous and ever so slightly reminiscent of Leonard Cohen, and the layered vocals on the chorus send a shiver down my back... "Close Your Eyes" may be the most sensous vocal she has recorded since Wash Me Clean back on the Ingenue album..... "Flame of the Uninspired" is as beautiful as it gets.... Some of the songs are lyrically very downbeat, songs like "Thread" and "Upstream" are self-critical and full of sadness and regret...others like "Sunday" and "Coming Home" are more optimistic and uplifting.... but if k.d is having a mid-life crisis, then it's the warmest and most soulful one you'll ever hear!
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2008
If you're like me and have never paid any interest to KD Lang before now and have not heard any of her stuff except 'Constant Craving', then read on. I stumbled upon this album a couple of months after it had been released. As usual, I searched YouTube for any tracks on there to get a first impression and to see if I wanted to investigate further. I also watched a recent interview with KD, interspersed with tracks from Watershed. I heard 'I Dream Of Spring' and really liked it. I thought I'd download the full album and give it a listen.
I love it! It is full of delicate acoustic guitars and beautiful strings (but not overbearing), as well as soft percussion. The best thing though, is KD's voice. It is some of the most sensual singing I have ever heard. The lyrics and the general feel is a combination of yearning melancholy and comforting worldliness. The album has cohesion, but you can also play individual songs on their own. It is brilliant.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2008
An album of superb quality - the vocals, songs, production and lyrics (I think Supertad may have been listening to a Kate Nash album by mistake?) are all without exception, top notch.

Up there with anything she's done before..and could quite possibly be her finest work to date. Wonderful
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
k d lang is not the most prolific of artistes. In almost a quarter of a century she has released just eleven albums. She abandoned country music when her aversion to meat and her sexuality did not sit well with Nashville conservatives.

In her first collection of original songs since the release of "Invincible Summer" in 2000, lang continues in much the same vein as all of her releases starting with "Ingenue". She has written, or co-written, all of the songs on this release - songs of love, lost and found. Pared down strings, soft keyboards and acoustic guitar add a sensuous beauty to the reflective lyrics while the occasional steel guitar points from whence she came.

This is not a commercial album with no particularly memorable hooks. Yet it has a certain charm: consider, a middle aged buddhist, with a quirky haircut and dressed in army surplus, possessing one of the most sensual and seductive voices in popular music.

She blends jazz, country and pop into a stylish statement with no concessions to the mainstream. She is confident of travelling in her own direction.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2008
fell in love with kd's voice all over again at the Glasgow and London shows this week!
as always she sings like an angel and the live performances have an immediacy and emotive force that has to be seen and heard to be believed............
the cd is a beautiful introduction for anyone unfamiliar with her music, the songs are memorable and are playing in my head as I write...
an essential buy for everyone who appreciates heartfelt lyrics, smooth melodies and that GLORIOUS voice!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2008
Cards on the table.....I love KD she is the best female singer in the world. She was fantastic live in London last week....what a voice totally perfect. There are plently of female singers out there who 'think' they can sing but she really really can and there is not a sign of vocal acrobatics. Lovely new material subtle soothing and sexy .....play this to your lover...they will love you more.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2010
kd returns after a long gap with a new set of originals. Not as immediate as most of her work the album repays repeated listening with a fine selection of sophisticated music that portray the artist at the height of her creative powers.

Songs are in the main slow with a slight leaning to soft Latin-tinged jazz, but there is sufficient variety to overcome this lack of fast material. Arrangements and production values are as high as ever with expert use of strings (if tending towards slight overuse), and the banjo accompaniment on a couple of tracks adds a new flavour (kd plays the 5-string on one of these numbers).

Some might be put off by references to country flavours in some reviews (including Amazon's own) but none of these songs will appear on Nashville radio, and just because a steel guitar is used (extremely tastefully here) or a banjo, does not make this country music! Ben Mink is not quite so much to the fore but the songwriting is well up to her normal standards. One slight quibble is too many songs end too soon, and the album clocks in at a shortish (by today's standard) 40 minutes. Maybe kd's self-professed writer's block has remained when it comes to writing song endings ?

"I Dream of Spring" has lovely harmonies and "Close your Eyes","Coming Home" and "Threads" are all vintage Lang. kd seems to be singing more often in her lower range but with perfect control and her voice on the closing track "Jealous Dog" had me reaching for the sleeve notes to check that it wasn't Lucinda Williams I was listening to!

Ms. Lang remains one of the music world's most talented and interesting performers and this release does nothing to diminish her standing. I notice that just in the last few days her Recollection album has been released. Really no record collection can be regarded as complete without having some (even most) of kd's albums. This is music to be savoured !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
This was my first k.d. lang album. I decided to buy this after seeing k.d. performing "I Dream of Spring", on ITV's "This Morning". I was immediately struck by the tonal quality of her voice.

This album may not be packed with "hit" songs, but it has a wonderful mellow feel to it. After listening to the album a couple times, a few personal favourites began to emerge. They are:- "I Dream of Spring"; "Je fais la planche"; "Close Your Eyes"; "Sunday" and "The Shadow and The Frame".

I have since gone on to purchase and enjoy several of k.d.'s other albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2008
I am a real fan of all k.d.lang's albums and eagerly anticipated this new album to the point of pre-ordering it. However, despite listening at least a dozen times, at all times of day and in several moods, I find it really disappointing. Whilst musically it is rather lovely, the lyrics are spare, almost too clever by half, and the ponderous tempo of most tracks becomes really boring after a while. After the humour and variety in previous albums, such introspection is a let down and could get a bit depressing. But, hey! What do I know? My friend thinks it's her best yet but she's a more sensitive flower than me. Try before you by and see which type you are!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2008
Just listened to Watershed for the first time today. This is a stunningly good album. Life is too short to be without it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.42
£9.96

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)