Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

  • HAARP
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
129
4.7 out of 5 stars
HAARP
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 16 April 2008
Just to make it clear, the difference between this version and the standard version are:

1: This version comes in a deluxe card box rather than the standard jewel case.

2: This version also contains 3 limited edition cards (one of each band member).

THIS VERSION DOES NOT HAVE EXTRA TRACKS AS SOME PEOPLE HAVE BEEN SAYING

therefore I would say that unless you are an absolute fanatic who has to have all the limited edition stuff then the standard edition is fine. On the Dvd itself the concert is excellent but a bit disappointed that the "backstage footage" is only 10 mins long. good though.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
I love Muse both live and on studio recording. You won't sleep while watching this because this is such a good energized live performance......don't hesitate to acquire as this is top notch production.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2017
Everything is great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2008
Yes, it's completely over-the-top. The stage set is designed to resemble a government research facility in Alaska (hence the name), features spotlights dressed up as satellite dishes and the band come onstage by rising up in the middle of the crowd.

The DVD is gorgeous visually, really showing off the colourful light show and background videos. (Muse have sussed out that audiences like to have more to look at for two hours than three men with instruments.) It also makes a fair stab at capturing what it is like to be at a gig, with lots of panning crowd shots helping to demonstrate the scale of the concert - and the ecstatic crowd.

As for the music, most of their songs are far better live than in the studio. These are particularly good performances, by a band known as an outstanding live act. For example, Invincible and Starlight are slightly-cloying ballads on the radio, but turn into huge anthems live.

The bonus footage really just consists of the band's approach to the stage and coming off afterwards. I certainly found it strange to realise that 20 feet from where I stood, Matt Bellamy was telling someone to turn off the music, but I'm not sure how interesting that would be for anyone else.

It's Wembley in a nutshell: both nights, in one form or another, from different points of view. There's no way it could have failed to be entertaining. Five well-deserved stars.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 March 2008
Now you'd expect "fans" of the band to blindly praise this set, especially, if like most of the other reviewers below, you were at one of the shows at Wembley. So they may be a tad biased. Now, although I've bought all their studio albums, I've never felt the inclination to see them live so I reckon I can offer an opinion from the outside. An opinion from someone who likes and enjoys all sorts of music, an opinion from someone who isn't in thrall to the band, who will listen critically but with an open mind to an album. An opinion from someone with no axe to grind either...so what do I think?

THIS IS BLOOMIN' GREAT!!!!!

I thought I knew what to expect here, but quite frankly I was blown away by the sound, the enthusiasm, the exuberance, the technical skill, the sheer joi de vivre and monstrous noise on the CD...and the DVD is more of the same with knobs on.

Mindblowingly, stupendously top notch!

One of the best live albums ever - and that includes Live at Leeds!
11 Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2008
I'm only going to write about the DVD, essentially because I went on the 17th when it was filmed, so I haven't had much inclination to listen to the audio cd from the 16th. Although if it was as good as the 17th it should merit a listen.
I've been a big fan of Muse for a while (and will concede that it makes this far from impartial), but this was the first time I'd ever been to see them. I was not disappointed in the slightest. From start to finish they delivered an explosive performance, with the amazing music, spectacular set design, added bonuses like the balloon gymnasts during blackout, and a stadium filled with such exhiliration. A must have for any Muse fan, and a good indication of why they are the most exciting live band I've yet seen. My only slight disappointment in watching the DVD back is that they cut the song (that may or may not have been bliss) where they threw tens of huge confetti-filled balloons into the audience. Magical moment ommitted from the DVD. Oh well, buy it :D
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2017
Muse are awesome
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2009
Although im a fan of MUSE, I didnt go to this show, and have only ever seen them once, and that was many years ago.
The live DVD is on the whole very, very good. The band and the show are outstanding. With an awesome, powerful, yet crisp sound; a wonderful mix of massive booming anthems and lovely slow intimate songs that makes MUSE so famous.
The show is brilliant from what I can tell, and the atmosphere in the stadium really comes through on the DVD for much of the time.
HOWEVER (and this is no fault of the band), the constant chopping and changing of camera angles, swooping and spinning around the stadium in time with songs was something I felt detracted a lot from the DVD.
Am I the only person that felt slightly irritated at best and completely nausiated at worst by the fast paced constant flicking of shots to many of the songs?

Overall I would say that this gig probrably deserved 5 stars, however due to the poor editing of the DVD you loose some of that and unfortunately, personally I think its only worth 3 or 4 stars for that reason. Which is a crying shame.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2009
What can I say that hasn't already been said? This is Muse at their ultimate best. It's plain to see why they've won best live act so many times.

The Wembley stage is set and as soon as the first note is played, it's a musical treat from start to finish. A particular highlight is the beautiful rendition of Blackout accompanied by giant balloons with men attached to them! Matt's face as he glances up at them suggests that he's hit his peak!

Worth every penny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)