Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Amazon Music Unlimited Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
151
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 October 2008
Not all comedians are likeable. Indeed, some are funny preceisely because they are not very likeable people. Not so Lee Evans. If he was your uncle, you'd let him entertain the kids (and everyone else) for hours on end.

Like many of the reviewers here, I saw this show live at the O2 Arena on one of the nights they were filming (I suspect there might have been several) and was totally won over by Lee Evans's disarming, friendly, blokish take on life. It's not that he shies away from difficult subjects. While not explicitly political, his everyday observations necessarily imply a critique of the way the world is going. The way he does it, though, is so genuine and so unaffected that audiences of every age and background will love it. Several of the dates of the show had already sold out nearly a year in advance - and you can appreciate why.

One of the things I find about really great comedy experiences is that you can never remember many of the jokes afterwards (alcohol may be partly responsible) so I can't wait to see the whole thing again on DVD.

One of Britain's most effortlessly genial comedy talents.
0Comment| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2008
I saw Lee Evans live at The O2 on the 6th October and it was simply fantastic.
Genuinely humbled by the whole experience he has remained grounded and seemingly unaware of just how good he is and how much love there is for him.
Hard working, appreciatitive and brilliant.

Routine's about self service check-outs, automated telephones and his life with his wife had me in tears. There are one of two bits that don't quite hit the mark but that really is a tiny percentage of what is a polished and hillarious routine.

It's the 3rd tour i've seen and he continues to impress, new material each time and you can see he gets a buzz out of what he is doing. Make no mistake, this is a big tour matched with big laughs. Superb.

A standing ovation after nearly 3 hours of magic says it all.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2008
Saw this show at the 02 last night - they were filming for this DVD. Amazing, funny till you wet yourself, all new material, and at the end he did his rendition of Queens Bohemian Rahpsody which I hope stays in as an extra, its still funny after all this time. He came on stage at 8pm and didnt finish until near 11, so the DVD will be a great buy for anyone who wants to while away sometime in total hysterics. The arena was completely full, not many comedians can hold an audience for this length of time, with very few props and absolutely no one else to help out. He is just the best. A classic for the archives.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2009
Lee Evans has always been a great comedian in my view and I looked forward to this so much when I heard about it. I watched it as soon as I got it and I have to say while still funny it did not outdo the XL tour. For those loyal to Lee its good, for the newcomers it is excellent, but to those who want to laugh till it hurts don't hold your breath.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2008
Actaully Lee Evans started his tour in June or at least a preview of it.

I saw him in Taunton in June 2008. He did 3 hours and was totally amazing. obviously not all the jokes will make the DVD.But there was not one bad joke. this DVD is going to be amazing
and yes i did see him and yes it was 2008
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2008
Yes we know, this show hasn't even been filmed or shown yet, i think he probably ment lee's last tour "XL" , 5 stars because it is lee and it will be worth buying!. P.s There are tickets still for sale @ NIA, Don't miss out!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2011
This is the latest Lee Evans DVD released, with Roadrunner being released in November. He performs at the O2 on his biggest tour ever (currently on DVD, that is).

Lee Evans - Big - UK Tour 2008 is just that, his biggest comedy tour ever, taking in over 59 dates in the UK's biggest arenas and playing to over 500,000 people. Three years on since his record breaking XL Tour Lee has pulled out all the stops to make this his funniest, most spectacular, biggest performance to date. Lee Evans - Big - Live at the O2 was recorded at London's O2 Arena where Lee played 5 sell out nights in 2008 to over 80,000 people. Lee is at his peak with big stand up, big effects and a big performance in what has to be the biggest DVD of the year.

So 'Add to Basket' now!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2009
5 years ago Lee Evans was the hottest comedian out there. His animated and enthusiastic personality filled the stage and absorbed the audience. He reeled off observations and opinions without fault, and gained fans from across the board.
So why have I given 'Big' just 2 stars? It's simple - he is doing the same thing as before, but flatter and with much less personality. His set is over-practiced (the linear structure is uninspired) and the jokes are dull. Perhaps the clinical setup of this performance can be put down to the location - the o2 is big, echoey and perhaps a little too impersonal for stand up - but sadly when I watch this all I see is Lee Evans on a stage reciting some lines.
Stand up comedy has developed; it's become more edgy and spontaneous. This performance may be recent, but it feels like it was filmed a decade ago. The jokes rarely made me laugh, or even smile, and after just a short amount of time watching it I was bored.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2008
I was among the many thousands who saw Lee Evans at the O2 and am surprised at the strength of the reviews thus far.

Don't get me wrong, I am a Lee Evans fan. I last saw him live over a decade ago and have seen recordings of many of his subsequent tours, all of which I enjoyed. Why else would I have stumped up the cash to see him again? Having done so I have to say I found the show disappointing. You can't fault the man for the effort and energy used in his performance but the material was patchy, some of it slightly recycled and there were periods were the laughs were anything but thick and fast.

My hope for the DVD release is that some of the flatter material will be edited out and you'll instead be presented with the best of the best from his run at the O2. Brevity may well be a saving grace in this instance. Personally I don't feel the O2 Arena lends itself well to comedy gigs - it's just too BIG and even while someone of the calibre of Lee is performing there's the constant murmer of a thousand quiet conversations in the background. Perhaps a shorter version viewed in the comfort of your own home may make for more entertaining evening than having been there.

Far from his best work and perhaps one more for the established fan than the newcomer who may find his earlier work a better introduction to an undoubtedly funny and talented man.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
I saw the abridged version of this show on television a few years ago.

Loved it then, love it still now. Lee's interpretation of subjects like speed dating, late night shopping and energy-saving light bulbs are unique and pure comedy gold.

Hugely enjoyed his enactment of the dodgy chatlines that feature on late night television, which has me roaring with laughter so much. These are just a few subjects that the legendary Mr Evans mention. Absolutely brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)