Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



VINE VOICEon 24 November 2011
These worked well initially, but after a couple of months one of them somehow came loose and unlocked itself as I was riding my bike. As it came loose the downward pressure from my foot twisted the chunky (and apparently soft) alloy side rails that lock the main body of the pedal into place.

After much bashing with a hammer I eventually managed to ram the pedal back into the fully locked position, but that obviously means that this pedal no longer folds. The other pedal is still fine.

All of this is obviously very annoying, but then again these pedals are pretty cheap and if I need any more I'd probably by these again - but on this evidence don't expect them to last forever.*

*UPDATE: They didn't. The other pedal broke while I stood up on the pedals to get some momentum as I cycled up a low hill. Result: I hit the ground head first, cracked a rib, and was lucky not to be run over by a passing car. These really aren't built to last and certainly aren't safe. Avoid.
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2013
Mindful of reviews complaining of stiffening bearings, I examined my new pairs of pedals closely.
It was immediately obvious that the pedals had been assembled without any lubrication at all. If you tried to spin the pedals, they stopped after a couple of rotations, making the clear sounds of dry bearings.

I couldn't find an obvious way of getting at the bearings (so I could apply good quality motor grease) so I dribbled oil down the spindle, and into the bearing, rotating the pedals all the time. After a few minutes the initial roughness had disappeared, and the pedals rotated freely, going at least 10 rotations before stopping.

Presumably, the black plastic cap opposite the threaded end of the spindle can be removed to service the bearings, but there's no obvious way of getting that out without prying, and that would damage the seal. If anyone knows an easy way to remove these caps, I'd be grateful if you told me.

Whilst I was at it, I also greased the moving parts of the pedal folding mechanism, so now it operates very easily.

If you follow my advice, then please ensure that you wipe away any lubricant which finds its way onto the surface of the pedalling area. Any oil/grease on the pedals can lead to unpleasant injury to your shins, or worse (the voice of experience here...)
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 March 2011
These pedals are noticeably heavier than the standard Dahon ones (made by Suntour). Also, as it was already mentioned here, the folding mechanism is more messy - you have to squeeze them from both sides with more chances of getting your hands dirty.

Another notice: when installing them on your bike, don't forget to fold them beforehand. That looks like a coincidence, but I nearly ruined the threading while trying to screw them on unfolded, and it after I folded pedals it was very easy to do.

Everything else is okay about the pedals. The look and feel very solid and sturdy, and hopefully will last longer because of their heavier but hopefully more reliable metal parts. Taking into consideration their price, it's a fairly good choice unless locking mechanism and weight are critical to you.

--
I'm adding this after 2 years and changing my rating to 3 stars as one of the pedals broke yesterday (it's a problem with a sealed bearing so cannot be fixed). Expect about 2 years of everyday use - not that bad, not good either.
33 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2012
Bought these because they seem more robust than the click into place varieties. They certainly seem well built and the mechanism is very easy to use. You simply squeeze two buttons at the end of the pedal and pull the pedal into the desired folded/unfolded position. Yes, if used in muddy conditions your hands will get dirty, but normal road use won't be too much of a problem. Bought from Bikes4Life and they promptly despatched a pair of pedals (with appropriate left / right threading). No problems with installation - just make sure you get the right pedal on the right side (they are labelled). Also have an Allen Key socket in the pedal axle to aid fitting / removal. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2016
Got these as replacements for ones on our new folding bikes but whilst replacing them discovered the originals did actually fold so left these on one bike and originals on the other so will compare the ease of folding when we use the bikes in the summer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 September 2015
Yesterday the pedal simply broke, it's not a good material. I had a really bad accident due to that and I'm limping now, with a lot of pain from the fall. The hinge of something like that needs to be stronger otherwise it's really dangerous.
review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 March 2012
After 2 weeks of phoning Halfords to ask where my "20-quid" replacement pedals had gotten to (for my Apollo Transition fold-up bike), and after being fobbed off by various Halfords employees on 4 seperate occasions, I finally decided to search Amazon UK and found these pedals at less than half the price. Yes!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2009
This product is better than the pedals supplied with my Dahon Espresso and cheaper that an original part replacement. Why don't Dahon fit these as standard? If you are a "light cyclist" (I ride about 35 mile a week to commute) then these pedals are for you. Others have said they are difficult to fold but it just requires a different technique to fold them than standard Dahon folding pedals, IMO.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2016
The metal blocks at the crank end of the folding mechanism are too soft and twist out of shape too easily. Within only a few months of use the pedals are not able to be folded any more. Will have to invest in a more expensive pair.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2014
These peddles are cheap but for the money they are excellent value. I lubricated the bearings to get them to run easier and they feel reasonably strong. The release mechanism seems awkward but you soon get used to it. A good buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)