Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
62
4.6 out of 5 stars
The Lost Battalion [DVD] [Import]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 1 March 2016
Saw this bout 10 yrs ago in satellite TV. Thought it was brilliant then but have never seen it repeated since. Bought this (a french edition, but makes no difference as playable with English dialogue option as you might expect) & blue ray makes it even more remarkable. Cannot understand why more has not been made of such an outstanding telling of the harsh realities of WW1. Based very much on a real offensive & given great cinematic licence in it's telling, which is enhanced greatly by blue ray. Very much a blokie film but very remarkable & thoroughly recommend. Bought at a great price & very pleased I did. Better than I remember.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2016
This is a really good film to watch, even though it does not compare in cost to todays block busters, however this film is based on actual events that happened to this US battalion in Belleau Wood in 1918. There is nothing corny about the acting or the story line. Just put this into your DVD player, sit back and enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2017
Realistic portrayal of a WW1 incident.
Drafted men form a cohesive unit fighting overwhelming odds. Isolated, starved and attacked; they endured for five days. Seasoned soldiers would be expected to surrender.
Orders were to hold their ground at all costs. This sacrifice proved their mettle as soldiers. There was to be no more separation as to the type of army such as Regular Army, National Army, National Guard etc.
Drafted Soldiers , Career Soldiers were now ONE US ARMY.
Excellent portrayal !!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
This is a classic movie that reasonably portrays this WW1 action very well. I had it on DVD and finally found this Blu Ray version that gives the movie another dimension and intensity. I have viewed the movie on several occasions and would recommend it to WW1 history buffs.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Based on a true story about a battalion that got left stranded behind enemy lines during W.W,1. Well worth a watch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
I've been looking for this for a long time as I'm a collector of war films really pleased I come across it I intend to use this sight again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2017
Nothing wrong with the video but didn't realise , in German . Couldn't find a subtitling option.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2016
a very very brilliant film. what more do you need from a historical war film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
This is possibly one of the best WW1 FILMS I Have seen. A must for war film lovers
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2016
thank u
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)