Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
15
3.5 out of 5 stars
2 Hearts - [12" VINYL]
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£21.00+ £1.26 shipping


VINE VOICEon 7 March 2008
Barcode: 5099951390310

2 Hearts is what all us Kylie fans have been waiting for. After Kylie's recovery we were all waiting with baited breath for any sign of news of the new album and finally with 2 Hearts, we had it. A swaggering, charming slice of glam-pop-rock, the chorus is just awesome. The 'Wooooh's!' are infectious and are just how this song makes you feel, it's uplifting, and at 2.55 in length, manages to pack a lot of punch into such a short song.

Destined to become a Kylie classic, the video is the icing on the cake, Kylie looking absolutely fabulous as usual, rocking her stuff on top of a piano with a sparkly skull microphone and explosions of glitter. Awesome!

The first of the remixes is the Alan Braxe one - not so much a dance version, but more of a re-working, this extends the song and slaps a nice bassline onto the tune. Check out the Kish Mauve remix though, that's where the magic really begins!

The Studio Version (Also known as 'Version by Studio) is intruiging - a kind of latino take on the tune it's full of mediterranean charm with touches of delicate electronica to round it off. Perfect for chilling out to.

I think the main attraction of this picture disc though is the disc itself. Kylie's put these 12"s out since the beginning of her Body Language days and they make for a fabulous collector's item for fans. They look absolutely gorgeous and i'm so glad she does them. Thank you, Kylie!

Track Listing:

1. 2 Hearts
2. 2 Hearts (Alan Braxe remix)
3. 2 Hearts (Studio Remix)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 March 2008
Barcode: 5099951390303

2 Hearts is what all us Kylie fans have been waiting for. After Kylie's recovery we were all waiting with baited breath for any sign of news of the new album and finally with 2 Hearts, we had it. A swaggering, charming slice of glam-pop-rock, the chorus is just awesome. The 'Wooooh's!' are infectious and are just how this song makes you feel, it's uplifting, and at 2.55 in length, manages to pack a lot of punch into such a short song.

Destined to become a Kylie classic, the video is the icing on the cake, Kylie looking absolutely fabulous as usual, rocking her stuff on top of a piano with a sparkly skull microphone and explosions of glitter. Awesome!

The b-sides are also worth a mention. First up is the Alan Braxe remix - not so much a dance version, but more of a re-working, this extends the song and slaps a nice bassline onto the tune. Check out the Kish Mauve remix though, that's where the magic really begins!

Then we have 'King or Queen', a delicious continuation of Kylie's R&B stylings on Body Language. It's cute and has some great little Gameboy style sound effects in it. One of Kylie's best b-sides, even if you aren't a hard-core Kylie fan, it's most definitely worth checking out.

(This is the UK CD2 of a two CD set.)

Track Listing:

1. 2 Hearts
2. 2 Hearts (Alan Braxe remix)
3. King or Queen
4. 2 Hearts (Video)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2007
Kylie's the Queen of Pop- no doubt, but this is a really remarkable track. She's taken a very unique set of vocals and instruments and made something insanely catchy. The piano part sticks out in my mind the most- but the style of the vocals is just awesome in it's own way. You've never heard something like this before and it's an easy 5/5 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2008
Before I write this review I would just like to say that I am not a huge fan of Kylie and infact X is the only album I own of hers.
Having said this I would like to say I found this song utterly amazing I've never heard a song that has boasted this womans talent quite as good as 2 Hearts.
If it wasnt for this song I would never have even contemplated buying the album so she has done herself good for releasing it as the lead single.
I am aware that this review is rather late considering the release date but I would like to say to all those people who have been stuck under a rock and not heard this masterpiece of a song that I strongly urge they go out and buy this single.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2007
I agree that this does have influence from goldfrapp (in a very goo way), but hey that was strongly influenced by t-rex so go figure.
got punchy tune, brilliant and simple sexy video. hope the album is eclectic...look forward to it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 October 2007
There are quite a few people who I look to as legendary in the world of pop. Kylie is one of them - I think what's made her such an appealing character for me - as I'm sure most of her loyal fans will agree - is her chameleon-esque manner of evolving to a new type of pop music with each and every new album. "2 Hearts", her first single since 2005's Xenomania-tastic "Giving You Up" and first single from new album "X" is proof of this.

It's a completely different sound for her, as ever, and is something not too dissimilar to what Sugababes were aiming for with "Easy"/"Good To Be Gone" from their best of package. Coming on like a fascinating hybrid of Goldfrapp, Marilyn Monroe and any glam rock band you care to think of, "2 Hearts" is the most slinky, most alluring, and most definitely barnstorming of all pop records around at the moment. Not for the faint hearted, this is going to be huge in the coming weeks.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2010
First of all its got a nice picture of Kylie on side A, and music wise on side A it has the original version of 2 hearts plus a remix by alan brake and on side b theirs a studio remix, But the best thing about it is, Its a nice collectable item
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2007
Like CGYOOMH, this is a song that grows stronger each time we hear it. Amazing !

It's glam rock, not Kylie's usual sound. But it fits so well with the other songs of the new album. Just check the X Mix she is offering on her MySpace site.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2007
"2 Hearts" was a very inteligent way to present her comeback and prepare people for her forthcoming album "X" and the huge number of great singles pontential that has in it. It's a very simple and cheap production with very catchy moodies, sexy atmosphere and glamurous feeling, all the same characteristics that made "Slow", from "Body Language", a number one. It's simple because it's nothing that people haven't done before using a simple 4-members band with some electronic loops and a piano to break the pop/rock corners and transform it into a glam rock with some jazzy feelings, and it's cheap because it was almost entirely done by Kish Mauve (the not-so-well known band who wrote and produced the song). The lyrics could sound silly if wasn't for its hooky verses and words together with the strong basses (remembering Chris Isaak's "Baby Did A Bad Bad Thing" at the begining) and the great piano, making the song more than something playable on the radios but also something that came from those pub bands in Europe. Kylie only had to give her vocals and her name to it, but when you think that this song is not strong as it seems for just being a cover, you realize that without Kylie's sexy and breathy vocals this song would means nothing than something simple. Kylie makes the trully difference giving a soul to the lyrics that Mima Stilwell (Kish Mauve former) would not offer in a so brilliant way the song needs, not that she isn't a good singer (something that she's far away for being) but Mimma's voice is a mix of Alison Goldfrapp and Shirley Manson, which would probably makes the song (and also the band) fall for disgrace on direct references for both singers and their respective bands which assure once more that "2 Hearts" is a perfect Kylie-song, even if references are now being innevitable even to Kylie. It's true that some of her fans were expecting something more danceable, but once again Kylie surprises everyone with something a little bit uncommon of what the audience were expecting. The most interesting thing on this song is that Kylie's vocals are superb, proving that she's getting better and better with the age, not only her voice but her sense on choosing new materials and producers to work with. "2 Hearts" is one of the most different and not dance/club oriented songs on the album and it's not a killer single as the forthcoming ones are, which are difficult to know by now which ones can possible be, but there are a so great number of strong tracks in it that "2 Hearts" probably cannot be number 1 on the charts and cannot be the best choice on people's taste, but any next single will for sure be a huge worldwide hit once more. Once again "2 Hearts" just means that Kylie is back and that the best is to come, we just have to wait for it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2008
I never quite got the "hype" around Kylie and this single is dissapointing.What lyrics? What music?Ok, you can use it as a dance floor one off but it's not something I would put, repeatedly , in my players.
Sorry , Kylie and her fans, I am pretty unhappy with my ourchase. From "Ican't get you out of my head" it was a downwards spiral, yet again. The hype is bigger than the talent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Flower
£8.37
In My Arms
£38.03

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)