Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
151
4.7 out of 5 stars
In The Shadow Of The Moon [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 5 September 2010
I was delighted to have followed recommendations to watch this film. It provides an insight into what the astronauts, who went to the moon, experienced and how they felt throughout the NASA moon expeditions, and what their lives and view of life and the world has been like since. There is the usual well known footage from NASA archives, but the interviews are recent and made for this film so it's new in terms of a documentary. However, I gave this 4 instead of 5 stars because I bought it on blu-ray and I can't say it warrants that extra money based on the material that has been filmed. I would recommend buying the cheaper standard DVD instead. Your blu-ray player is likely to upscale it anyway and it will look as good as the blu-ray in my opinion.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2008
Having already purchased `From the Earth to the Moon', `Apollo 13' and been captivated by `A Man on the Moon' by Andrew Chaikin I was wondering if `In The Shadow Of The Moon' would push all the right buttons and ring all the right bells.
All I can say therefore about this very good film is that every button and bell was activated.

The interviews are great, the star of these being Michael Collins whose sharp sense of humour travels throughout the film and its special features. Al Bean and Charlie Duke were also great characters. After you have read Chaikin's chapter on Apollo Twelve it is especially pleasing to see the individuals he described in it. Charlie Duke's commentary is interspersed with much of the mission control film footage when he was CapCom (Capsule Communications) for Apollo Eleven which I found to be very good.

The other astronauts such as Aldrin, Scott, and Young all come over so well that you realise how good their portrayals were in `From the Earth to the Moon' and how accurate were the descriptions that Chaikin had written in `A Man on the Moon'

There is very little to be negative towards this DVD, The extras are very good and it is an ideal purchase for any person interested in the Apollo program one of those rare DVDs you can watch again and again
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2015
Great for Moon Lovers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
Fantastic movie, well worth watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 January 2008
It makes such a refreshing change to see a documentary that is not out to make a scandal, reveal a conspiracy, or trick people into making fools of themselves.
This is a real treat, to watch a straightforward telling of the conquest of the moon, not from the technical perspective but from a very human perspective, using a combination of NASA photography, period newsreels, and most crucially, interviews with the surviving Apollo astronauts, with the exception of the notoriously reclusive Neil Armstrong.
There are no tricks being used here in the telling of the tales - just fantastic lingering shots of the moon as seen by the astronauts, and their very personal memories, told with candour and warmth. We learn how human they felt - the `right stuff' persona is taken off for a moment, and we see just how in awe they were - and still are- of what they were part of. This is all put in perspective of not just the space race of the 60's, but the Vietnam war which some felt guilty to be exempted from.
On a lighter note, we learn who was the first astronaut to pee on the moon, and the nervous moment when the moon land speed record was broken in the lunar buggy - at a breakneck speed of 18 kmh...
It's hard not to be a little moved by the stories being told, and the iconic shots of earthrise and the surface of the moon will blow you away, as the unhurried pace draws you through the events leading up to and during the landings.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| 116 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2017
Very Good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2009
Picture and sound are at times stunning. Obviously the flight footage can look dated, but that's only due to the technology used at the time.

This is the definitive space travel documentary. It has pace, drama, action, some very moving moments and takes you on a spellbinding journey through the Apollo missions from the crew and flight director, Gene Crantz's point of view.

I own Nasa's greatest missions: When we left the Earth and feel that the Shadow of the Moon is far superior and more paletable. It has much more of a human quality to it and draws you into the action. It has huge re-watch value and every second adds drama to the story.

I wish I was alive when the Apollo 11 launched. It gives me chills to watch this oustanding Blu Ray.

I can't believe, 40 years later on, we haven't been back to the Moon!
33 Comments| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2007
I thought this documentary was a wonderful introduction to the Apollo moon landings, really showing the human side of the experience and providing a great general overview of the achievements. I saw it on the movie screen and highly recommend it.

I also really liked the book of the same title, by C. Burgess and F. French, that not only covers the early Apollo flights, but also delves into the preceding flights, and what the Soviets were up to at that time. In the book, I learned about the early lives and early flights of these astronauts, and what it was like to be in the moment of flying the missions. In the movie, I learned what these guys look like today, and how they feel reflecting back on their experiences. Both film and book were perfect for their medium, and great accompaniments to each other.

Highly recommend both book and movie, and suggest experiencing both!!!!!
22 Comments| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 9 April 2008
A ninety five minute long documentary that brings together nearly all the surviving astronauts from the apollo missions [neil armstrong doesnt give interviews]that either flew around the moon or landed there, and lets them tell their stories. In addition, they are supported by archive and news footage from the time. of the actual missions, and some real curios such as neil armstrong's parents on a game show, a newsflash about apollo one and film from apollo 13 just as the explosion occurred.

Articulate, modest, unassuming, and with great stories to tell, these men are a pleasure to listen to. And the ninety five minutes totally flys by as a result. Accompanied by a superb score this makes for an emotionally uplifting movie and one that will make you feel very uplifted once you've watched it.

And they rubbish all the conspiracy theories about the landings being faked in a fun final section. Remember when the whole world looked up? as the trailer says. this is a great reminder of those days, and it will make you wish they'd come back.

The dvd contains an interesting ten minute long feature about the writing of the music for the film.

the original cinema trailer for it.

english language subtitles.

and fifty seven minutes of deleted footage. divided into subsections that you can watch one at a time or all at once or whoever you prefer, there's even more of what you saw in the film here.

Superb movie. Good dvd for it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2007
Several months ago, I read in the newspaper that NASA were searching for the original colour footage of the Apollo 11 moonwalk. It appears that it was found, for the images of Neil Armstrong stepping onto the moon for the first time are prestine - and in colour.

All of the historical footage is completely clear - visually, the film is a masterpiece. I saw this at the IFI in Dublin and was completely stunned by how gorgeous it looked.

The interviews are also superb. The astronauts come across as human - they articulate their thoughts and feelings in a way that makes you feel as though you're sitting down to chat with a friend. Certainly a far cry from the "test pilots" I was expecting. Some of the comments are very funny as well - gotta love Michael Collins!

All said and done, you absolutely can not go wrong to buy this DVD. I've pre-ordered and can't wait for it to arrive!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)