Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 February 2008
AD/BC - A Rock Opera is a gem. I stumbled across it in june 2007 and it had me in creases.

I cant tell you how many times i watched it over the christmas period.

If you're a fan of Garth Marenghi's Darkplace, The Mighty Boosh or Man to Man with Dean Learner, you'll love this!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2009
Because that's exactly what they were going for. And they succeed. If you like funk-rock, mock-theatre, Matt Berry's brilliant voice and Julian Barratt's legs, welcome home. If not, this might be very very confusing. With deadpan deliveries and cameos from most of the british 'alternative' comedy circuit, AD/BC feels a little like an industry in joke, but it's a bloody funny one. Some people watch It's a Wonderful Life at Christmas. I watch this.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2007
The little comedy circle which takes in cast members of modern comedy classics such as The Mighty Boosh and Garth Marenghi's Darkplace here come together to create a real gem of a show. Showing off the musical skills of Matt Berry, this tells the story of the Nativity from the viewpoint of the Innkeeper.

As the previous reviewer has said, this is at once a mickey-take and love-letter to seventies rock operas, especially Jesus Christ Superstar, which it is most closely resembles. However, the songs are brilliant enough to make this a quality musical in its own right, and turns from Julian Barratt, Julia Davis and Richard Ayoade make sure all the jokes hit the mark too.

Truly, a mini-materpiece.
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2009
Matt Berry, Richard Ayoade, Julian Barratt, & Julia Davis. Wow. I love this film. Get it, get it now. ..Then share it with others as quickly as you can manage.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2010
This is a beautiful little gem, in the same vein as Garth Marenghi, Sit Down Shut Up and Shaun Micallef's McGhan skits (for any Australian comedy fans out there). There are some laugh out loud moments, but as with the aforementioned shows, the humour really lies in the disingenuous atmosphere of the piece.

From the corny lyrics and badly dubbed vocals right down to the segments of sky painted onto the walls, visible fans and lighting, authentic street lamps and telephones of the time, and the beautifully executed 'mistakes', not to mention Matt Berry's effortless performance as Tim Wynde, this perfectly imitates the shonky, appallingly serious, self indulgent productions that all too frequently grace the stages and make us cringe.

Musically, Matt Berry took inspiration from such sources as Air Supply, Creedence Clearwater Revival and Jesus Christ Superstar, and has created some wonderful songs that will doubtless get stuck in your head and make you smile in inappropriate situations.

AD/BC is both a send-up and an homage to musicals like Jesus Christ Superstar and Godspell, and should appeal to fans of such productions as well as fans of the teams behind Garth Marneghi, The Mighty Boosh, The It Crowd, Snuff Box etc. At just over 28 minutes it is a little on the short side, but those 28 minutes are of pure gold.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2011
this is a brilliantly funny spoof of the nativity, with a great cast - especially matt berry.

the music is immense, i'd say that was the best thing about this, it is only half an hour long though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
If you're not a fan of musicals or even if you are, this might appeal. A p*ss take of 70s rock operas (which I don't remember but some will) but also musicals in general, the music isn't as bad as it should be. There are a few themes explored throughout the 30 minutes and they are actually quite good; you'll find yourself singing them from time to time. Similar in humour to Garth Marenghi's Darkplace, this will really brighten up your Xmas evenings. The interview in the extras is gold, some great acting by Matt Berry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
Same tune for all the songs but I still love it and my only gripe is that it is far too short. They should have put more on the disc.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
I'm a big fan of Matt Berry's music so I bought AD/BC mainly for that and was not disappointed.

Music wise I have to give this 5 stars but also thought the whole caper was very amusing as well as entertaining.

Interesting to hear an early version of a song that would end up being 'Take my Hand'.

Great stuff.

Whisky !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 November 2007
BBC Three's Chrsitmas Comedy special finally gets a bigger audience. Fans of Garth Marenghi's Darkplace will find the artifically-aged period style familiar. Virtually all the new comedy stars of the decade (well, all of them who can sing, anyway) make an appearance in this pastiche of an early seventies rock opera.

As delightfully camp as a prog revival, it is clear that there is affection for the genre mocked, which lifts it beyond the status of simple comic parody to instant classic.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)