Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
189
3.7 out of 5 stars
1408 - Director's Cut Edition [2007] [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.23+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 16 May 2017
Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
good film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
This is a good horror/scary movie...it starts very well with great potencial and unfortunatly doesn't end as well as it starts but that still doesn't ruin the movie. This box set seems to be the only way I could find of getting the movie with the original theatrical ending included and not just the alternate ending from the Director's Cut. For that alone the 2 DVD box is a must.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
Entaient
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2015
Pants( the kind that have been worn for days), not scary and wholly predictable, I am a self confessed horror geek and this will be under the weight of many DVDs for a long time, don't bother my soundest advice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 May 2008
I'm not really into horror films or Stephen King but I admit 1408, with John Cusack, was too creative not to be enjoyable. I'm not into computer games either, but a game based on this film would interest me. At times the special effects eclipsed the sense of dread with a comedic sense of them getting in the way and as the film goes by it becomes less of a haunted room. Infact, it is more like a bad acid trip than a haunted room that Cusack's character checks into. This is because this is the haunted world according to King and the film makers, complete with blood running down walls and people trying to stab you. In horror films, in order to achieve the desired effect, we inevitably get everything thrown at us and it can look a bit silly. But the film does so much stuff right, in terms of build up, script, plotting and acting that we can forgive it for using much of the stock horror film baggage. The nice thing about the film is it is high on erieness without being too high on scares. I don't like scary films that are so scary you can't actually watch them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2008
Hmmm this is a creepy film to watch, there isnt anything horrific as such, just really creepy things going on.
I wondered where it was going to lead as i was watching it, i imagined myself to be in his shoes so to speak, so i could be in the plot, loved the bit where hes looking at the flat opposite, and where he decides to walk on the window ledge outside, if youre afraid of heights you ll be shutting your eyes at this point.
I actually thought the ending was good and finally realised why it kept showing him in a burnt out room when i came to the end of it.
I enjoyed it and would recommend it
One to stay in my collection.
Thumbs up from me
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2011
This is a film that starts out well - very well - but loses its way after a while. You can tell this because the film had alternate endings, always a sign that the studio can't make its mind up about where the story ought to go.

The plot, basically, has Mike Endlin (Cusack) playing a writer who writes books about supposedly haunted places, and who usually gives credence to the stories of hauntings, even though he doesn't believe in them himself. He receives written invitations to visit such sites from people, usually hotel owners, keen to improve their popularity via notoriety (and free publicity) in his books. One day he receives an anti-invitation, from a hotel telling him NOT to stay with them.
Intrigued, and convinced that this is a riff on the usual way of attracting his interest, he goes to the hotel and meets the manager, Gerald Olin (Samuel L. Jackson), who does everything in his power to stop Endlin staying there, specifically in room 1408, where no-one has survived for more than an hour. Cusack insists on staying there... you can imagine the rest...

Jackson plays with his usual funky gravitas (shame he's not used more than he is in this film, since he has some of the best screen-presence around) and shares the acting honours with Cusack, who does a superb job of transitting quickly from world-weary cynic to terrified pawn in some supernatural game. There are some genuinely jarring moments in the first half-hour or so which had me checking behind the sofa, and which promised to develop into something cinematically very special.
However, eventually the effects become rather gross, thus losing their power to enthrall and shock - in suspense films less really is more, especially where the supernatural is concerned. Comparisons with "The Shining" are unavoidable when walls start bleeding and guilt surfaces from the past to haunt Endlin, with apparitions of his dead daughter appearing like Marley's Ghost. By the end it is clear that the story has effectively disappeared, with the studio just cobbling together a mish-mash of gory effects and false endings to try and sustain the running length. A shame, for a film that started out so very well.
So, all in all a disappointment, but worth seeing for the first half. Switch it off once the walls start to bleed, and give it to Oxfam.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2012
I remember watching 1408 in the cinema, and found it to be a genuinely scary film. Admittedly, many of those scares came from jumpy moments, but then the horror would continue, unrelenting. I'm a bit of a fan of films based on Stephen King's work, as the characters tend to be carefully built and have real problems in their lives, and John Cusack's writer is no exception to this. This film is a testament to his acting ability that he can hold his own throughout the film while often being the only actor on screen.

However, this cut of the film isn't as tense. Some of the scenes are dragged out and lose their intensity. And the ending is different - about as different from the original theatrical version as is possible. It means that overall the film feels less scary and ends with less of a bang. In my mind, it doesn't feel like a Stephen King ending, though I don't know how the original story ended.

Bottom-line: It's an interesting horror film with some scary moments, and John Cusack is excellent in this. However, 1408's Director's Cut isn't as tense and ends on a bit of a poor note. Not a good horror film, but not a bad one either.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
Great movie with John Kusak, and also starring Samuel Jackson. John Kusak stays at a hotel to write a book about how he believes the haunted room there has a logical explination, when he starts changing his mind and seeing the room is indeed very haunted!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Dreamcatcher [DVD] [2003]
£3.74

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)