Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
116
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 August 2012
This is the standard fit Shimano freewheel used on many of the "cheaper" or lower end bikes. Unfortunately Shimano don't do lower ratio than the 14T on these though, you would need a cassette to go down as far as 11T. Good product, you'll need the freewheel tool to remove the old one (note that you cannot use a standard cassette tool on these as they don't fit - though they look virtually the same). Just insert the tool into the centre and get a long spanner on the tool and unscrew. If it proves too tight then you can clamp the tool into a vice and turn the wheel for greater leverage (plenty of vids on Youtube for how to do this). To install simply screw on to the hub being careful not to cross thread it. You don't need to tighten fully as the action of pedalling will screw it onto the hub fully. The one this replaced lasted 3 years and around 5000 miles and I'm not very good at cleaning my bikes so it would likely last even longer if you keep the chain and gears well maintained (the teeth turned to razor teeth on the middle most used gears leading to chain slippage - I replaced the chain too. It's given my already cheap bike a new lease of life and for under £10 plus around £4 for the tool and £5 for the chain it's been well worth it!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 16 August 2016
I have a Decathlon Triban Trail 5 hybrid bike (7 gears at the back, 3 gears at the front, SRam derailleur), and this was a perfect replacement for the rear gears/freewheel.

The bike is at least 10 years old, and I had never replaced the chain. As the chain stretched, it damaged the rear gears, so both the chain and the rear gears have to be changed at the same time.

Removing the old freewheel was impossible using standard tools (including a freewheel adapter/remover and a large spanner), so I had to go to a shop to get it removed. They used the freewheel remover clamped on a bench vise, and even using the leverage provided by the wheel, it took some serious effort. Basically, I had no chance removing the freewheel without a bench vise. Otherwise, it's always possible to buy a new wheel for about £25 anyway.

Once removed, putting the new Shimano one was very easy (it will progressively lock itself), and gear changes are now working much better.

The Shimano cogs appear to be of high quality and the freewheel assembly does look good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2016
Buying this on Amazon was outstanding value. I replaced a worn out Shimano free wheel of the same spec.and it was the first time I have done this. The product went on really well although if you're new to this like me you'll need to make sure you get a Shimano freewheel socket to fit it it as the one I had in a bike tool kit would not fit the Shimano profile, I did not realise this until I had bought this freewheel. I would not have attempted this if this product had not been so cheap.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2015
I used to have a 7 speed with megarange but decided to went for this since where I live is not necessary - no steep climbs. Fits nicely, works fine. A side comment, removing a flywheel can be a seriously tricky task. Best way is to lock the flywheel removal tool in a bench vice and grab the wheel to get all the leverage needed. There are videos on youtube showing how to do that.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
Seems to work OK; doubt it can last as long as the 'made in Japan' original (this one is from China). Beware size; I used this to replace a 6-speed freewheel - seems they are slightly less deep. Consequently, I cannot access the highest gear (smallest number of teeth) on this 7-speed unit.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2016
Replaced my old and worn freewheel with this as well as replacing the chain at the same time, all very simple and the bike now runs much better with smooth gear changes.

Removal of the old freewheel was OK for me using a freewheel remover and large socket with breaker bar it unscrewed with minimum drama.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
Replaced an old Shimano freewheel with this one. It was an easy replacement, and fitted perfectly.

Needs a Shimano Ug freewheel remover to fit it. The job's impossible without the right tool!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2017
Use this gear pack on my winter bile, so it gets a lot of rain, muck and all sorts on nasties thrown at it. The previous pack lasted approximately 5 years of this brutal use - and sill work OK. It worked for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 March 2016
Appears to be the genuine part, stampings and logos look right and the build quality feels solid. Nice easy upgrade to many of the very cheap freewheels fitted to entry-level bikes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2012
This excellent shimano product was bought to replace an identical model which succumbed to the weather. Contains 14,16,18,20,22,24,28T on an older Freewheel threaded design (Still found on cheaper bikes). This should be differentiated from the newer (and incompatible) Shimano Freehub.

Never had any problems from the old version, and expect this to last very well.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 7 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)