Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
42
4.6 out of 5 stars
Weber Charcoal Briquette Fuel Holders
Price:£29.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 19 April 2017
Finally got round to replacing the originals which came with the BBQ 10years ago, they'd sure seen some use!! (see photo). Admittedly, I was initially put off by typically high Weber price, but they're decent quality and make a huge difference controlling the bbq in my opinion, so worth it.
review imagereview image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2016
Want to raise your barbecue game? Buy some of these beauties and, if you don't already have one, a kettle grill or smoker.

For years people have been conditioned to believe that only by cooking your steak or burgers over a raging inferno will you achieve carnivore nirvana. Just look on Google images for the word 'barbecue' and you will see page after page of kebabs, T-bones and burgers on grills above what appears to be a raging blacksmith's forge. Compounded by a certain fast food restaurant's claim that 'Flame-grilled burgers' are better, we associate good eating with total combustion. This is not how you impart good flavour to your food (or ensure it is fully cooked).

A good barbecue flavour comes first from the smoke, and then from any sauces, rubs or marinades you choose. Cooking over a flame is all well and good to caramelise the outside (a process that makes food taste better due to the 'Maillard reaction') but, in order to get the smoky barbecue taste, you need to let the food sit in a mostly sealed environment that is FULL of smoke for a fair amount of time. That's where these beauties come in.

Setting these things up in your barbecue in a way that leaves a space in the middle, fill them full of coal. If you have a starting chimney, you can fill them full of hot coals and get going straight away. Once the coals are hot, stick a foil pouch full of smoking chips on one of the holders (apple, cherry or mesquite are good, depending on the level of smokiness you desire) and put the grill on the barbecue.Put your chosen food on the grill above the space, so that no coal is underneath them. Now, put the lid on the barbecue and leave your food in there. No peeking now, trust your grill.

Depending on what you cook will dictate how long your food takes. As the grill fills with smoke and heat, your food will cook in a hot, smoky oven-grill and develop a brilliant smoky flavour as a result. Finally, brown the meat over the coals for a few seconds to develop the caramelised taste and you will have the best-tasting barbecue meats ever!

Another benefit of using these things, besides awesome tasting food, is the fact that most of the ash is contained in the holders after use, making tidying up much easier. Your barbecue will also last longer, as coals are not directly up against the hull of the grill.

Google 'indirect grilling' for more information.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2016
Fantastic this product as really improved our bbqing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
OK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2012
I bought these to go with my Weber One-touch BBQ (Weber 57cm One-Touch Original BBQ) for indirect cooking -and they perform the job superbly. I use the Weber starter chimney (Weber Chimney Starter) which, when full up, very conveniently fills one pair of these baskets with charcoal briquettes. With these baskets filled up with already white-hot charcoal, I am able to start cooking immediately, and am getting very good results.

Incidentally, rather than use the disposable drip tray supplied by Weber, I have found a reusable alternative here on Amazon: Aluminium Baking Dish with Handles 31.5cm x 21.5cm Genware Roasting Dish, Baking Tray, Roasting Tray Genware Baking Dish This is exactly the right size to fit between these baskets, and washes up easily. For roughly the same price as a ten-pack of Weber disposable foil trays, it will last a lifetime.

The three gadgets make a great team for fast and accurately-timed indirect barbecuing.

Highly recommended

AA

UPDATE MARCH 2015
Three years on and these are still going strong. The shine has left them but they still do the same job now as they did the first time I used them, and they have had a lot of use. No real sign of wear and tear.

AA
77 Comments| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
Excellent product!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 17 September 2016
I have this year invested in the full Weber range from BBQ to these fuel holders and I can say I have never looked back. I never thought a simple device like this could make such a difference to the cooking but it does and its a big difference.

I am sure the fuel holders can be used in any BBQ and I would strongly recommend them providing there is about 4" to 6" between the fuel holders and that they are not placed tight against each other. The reason for the gap is that this allows you to achieve indirect heat for food that you want to cook with heat coming from the side rather than from underneath, and providing you have a grill level above the fuel holders you can achieve the traditional direct heat at the same time.

I use my fuel holders with the Weber chimney starter as it holds exactly the right amount of Briquettes required to fill the fuel containers and I also use the Weber Briquettes as they just seem to be far superior to other brands.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
I decided to replace my previous Weber briquette holders as they were almost burnt through, although in fairness they have been well used for about 10 years!

These things are great because they allow you to move the heat to exactly where you want it. Normally I have them both on the same side of the barbecue and cook indirectly with the lid on, sometimes one on each side and sometimes both in the middle. Just depends on what I'm cooking and how much heat it needs, but the point is that I can vary the level of heat across the barbecue with these fuel holders.

Another spin-off benefit I've noticed from using these things is that the charcoal isn't in direct contact with the sides of the barbecue, which means that it's less likely to burn through the sides over time.

The only downside, and the reason I didn't replace them sooner, is the price. At nearly £25 including postage, I think they are way overpriced for what they are, which is essentially a couple of small metal baskets. I haven't seen anything similar on the market though which might explain the high price!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2011
Fantastic bit of simple design. It lets you cook over both direct and indirect heat simply by sliding the apart or together and is more economical with your coals
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
A great tool for the BBQ allowing you put place the heat source exactly where you want it within the BBQ Kettle and easily move it around if you want to.
Can be used for direct heat by placing the holder(s) immediately under the food, or moved away from the food to used longer time indirect heat cooking.
Can recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)