Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 December 2007
This is my favourite album of 2007 by a long shot. It's full of gorgeous acoustic tunes all accompanied by Eddie's wonderful baritone vocals with his keen sense of melody and lyrics. The album is quite short at only half an hour, but that means it doesn't outstay its welcome and leaves you wanting more.

Track highlights are 'Hard Sun' and 'Society' (ironically, the two tracks not actually written by Vedder), and the beautiful album-closer 'Guaranteed'. There isn't a huge mix of styles, but it does vary from haunting to more upbeat pop stuff.

If you like Pearl Jam you probably have already heard at least some of this album. The music isn't too much of a deviation from the acoustic stuff they have done ('All Or None', 'Around The Bend', 'Of The Girl') but it's a little skewed more towards Eddie's style ('Soon Forget'). If you appreciate good songwriting and want something beautiful, melancholy and acoustic to relax to, you can't do much better than this.
0Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2008 a word over used when trying to describe good music, but it could not be more apt here.
I went to see the film and pretty quickly picked out Vedder's unmistakable vocal on top of what, at the time, seemed some largely inoffensive middle of the road folky rock music. However, having enjoyed the film I was given the soundtrack (this album) for Christmas and I have to say it is one of the best things I have heard for some time. The songs are well crafted and perfectly encapsulate the feelings of hope, independance and achievement associated with the film. In fact this is so good that only a couple of factors stop it from nudging into the "all time classic" territory: namely the length (33 mins) as some of the tracks are incidental music (Wolf, still brilliant) and others are very short, and also the fact that arguably the two standout tracks (Society & Big Hard Sun) were not penned by the man himself. Maybe that is nit-picking, but if he'd written the whole album it would have added to the resonance of the whole piece.

Anyway, buy/borrow this album and sit down over the next two cold & dark months with a drink and listen to this a few times (at 33 mnins it won't take long) and I promise you that songs like No Ceiling & Society will be emblazened in your memory for some time to come.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2008
The beautiful soundtrack from the most beautiful of movies.

I have never known a soundtrack to be so empathetic with its subject.The melancholy, accoustic music perfectly reflects the sweet, innocent, yearning that the film carries so well.

As a cd in its own right, this is also a very good piece of work. At 33 minutes or so, it could be argued to be on the short side yet I would say that there is certainly no "fillers" in this cd & the beautiful guitar work is matched by Vedder's lovely baritone.

Soothing & mellow, this is great reflective, late night listening.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2008
There are basically two types of movie soundtrack album. There are the ones where you get a song from the opening titles, a song from the closing titles and 10 tracks of incidental music or, alternately, the ones where a movie is set in a specific period and the sountrack is a "greatest hits" of that period.

This breaks the mold. Instead of 15 tracks of inoffensive incidental music designed not to detract from the movie (and hence, be pretty forgettable) someone had the ingenious idea of throwing Eddie Vedder, a guitar, a banjo and a mandolin into a recording studio and using the results.

The results are an album that stands up in its own right as a great record and a superb soundtrack. The simple chord sequences, evocative lyrics and Vedder's superb voice perfectly encapsulate the excitment and loneliness of the wilderness and the disillusioment that might lead someone to choose that over society.

Despite being better known for Pearl Jam's rock music, the standout tracks on this album are the simplest: those that use an arrangement of guitar/mandolin and Vedder's haunting delivery (Society, Rise, Long Nights).

If you're looking for something epic, this probably isn't the place, as each song clocks in at about 2 minutes. However, each short track is perfectly formed and results in a record that I would highly recommend.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2008
Watch the film, listen to the soundtrack and repeat until it all becomes clear. A stunning film with this fabulous record from Eddie Vedder.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2007
Vedder proves he has a versatile voice that can match many styles of music with this debut album. Not just a perfectly fitting soundtrack but also an excellent album on its own. Ignore the review by G roberts, who seems to think that he is above the "cliched" storyline of the movie, and the "adeventures and obstacles along the way", wonder if they're aware that the film is a true story?? and these adventures and obsticles actually did happen to him.........oh well, if you like this, also check out the Brokeback Mountain soundtrack....
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2009
I hadnt paid much attention to this film and didnt have any high hopes for it when sitting down to watch. What a gem!!!
If you like something a bit deep then this is great, the film continues to keep you thinking about it long after its finished. It really made me look at life a little differently.
The film is beautifully filmed, with a great soundtrack and the story is is thought provoking and of course enhanced by the fact thats its true.
Well worth a watch!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2009
I was very inspired by the film so much so that I went bought the book and soundtrack..I don't usually buy soundtracks but this one being by Eddie Vedder I could not resist...And I wasn't let down either apart from how short it is..EDDIE, WE WANT FULL LENGTH VERSIONS OF THE SONGS!! It is a haunting memoir for the atmosphere and deep yearning felt in the film, with Eddies beautiful vocals and inspiring lyrics..a sure winner. Kick back ,relax, listen and be taken away into the
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2012
Despite its relative modest time span, this CD is a shining diamond. The songs are short, but close to perfection. For lovers of Pearl Jam, this CD is evidently a must and they have probably already bought it a long time ago, however it will also captivate others who enjoy well crafted, first-rate acoustic pieces reminiscent of the legendary "Just Breathe". I haven't listened to much music lately except this great soundtrack; there are pearl upon pearl in this album; the two major songs are of course "Society" and "Hard Sun", two superbly enthralling pieces of magic, but not the only ones. In my opinion, songs like "Guaranteed", "Long Nights" and the short and simple "Rise" are also contestants for the top spots, while my personal favourite is "No Ceiling", a spellbinding tune I probably already have heard a hundred times.

There is not much reason not to buy this album. It is great and easily one of the best I've heard in a very long time. The music is strikingly beautiful and Eddie Vedder's voice is superb and exceptional as always. The quality of each minute of music is stunning, so you definitely get your money's worth on this one!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2016
I bought this CD on the basis of two songs that I really like (Long Nights and Guaranteed, which are fully worth the price of the CD) but I am a bit unconvinced about the rest. Some songs seem to be a mish-mash of different styles, a bit of Nirvana, a bit of REM... I think Eddie Vedder has done better things but it is still very interesting to follow the artistic development of an artist from the grunge days to the present.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)