Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
11
4.1 out of 5 stars
Chasseur Cast Iron Crepe Pan Set, Matt Black, 30 cm
Price:£41.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 30 April 2017
Food sticks to this like crazy. The surface is somewhat uneven too (minor pitting) which exacerbates the issue. Don't know if mine is an anomaly but it's quite bad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2007
[..]

A 30 cm diameter Crêpe Pan, complete with wooden tools - for perfect pancakes, just like Grandma used to make!

Premium quality, solid cast iron with cast handle
Double enamelled for added durability and easier cleaning
Excellent heat retention
10 year guarantee
Griddle is easy to wash up/dishwasher safe

Boxed and comes with a handy little CHASSEUR care booklet which includes a recipe idea for each product range - this one being an excellent recipe for 'Galette de Sarrasin'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
Well it takes a little while to get used to this pan. The first few crepes were a disaster but then once the pan was at the right temperature and remembering to wipe pan with a tiny bit oil in between crepes..... the crepes were perfection. No need to wash the pan after. I even used the crepe stick for extra thin crepes..... but this takes some practice.

Pros: 30cm pan makes large crepes
Easy clean
Even heat distribution
Long lasting professional pan

Cons Handle gets super hot
Quite heavy to lift
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
I bought this pan hoping that I would be able to use it to make not just some weekend french crepes but also a number of other pancakes such as dosas, omlets, pizza pan, scones plate etc and it does work well for most of them. However since I am a hardcore critic when it comes to product design analysis (and food), blame it on my product designer background coupled with my seriousness for culinary arts, I am chewing no words and here they came
First of all, tha pan has a slightly convex surface on the top side, which try I might, I dont understand what purpose it serves. One could argue that it eases the process of spreading the crepes dough all the way to the edge but in my opinion that single attribute just prevents it from that versatile pan it could have been, had it been a true flat or slightly concave pan surface.
I will tell you why.
Let's say you want to make some sort of a mini pancake with crispy edges which requires you to spoon in oil / butter and gently swirl along the periphery of the pancake by a single rotation of the pan so that it stay there and does its job beautifully- that is not going to happen with this pan as the oil tends to flow outwards. ptsssssss. Talk about importance of careful geometry design.
The bottom surface is not flat as well but a bit concave and to make things a bit challenging, the enamel is high gloss on the bottom which makes it not sit stably on any cook top especially on an electric one.
Now, let's look at the handle - it sits there like a vestige. Gets terribly hot before the first crepes lands on the plate not to mention the less than desirable ergonomic design of it.
The wooden spade is made out of a not so hard wood variety (birch or beech) and loses its sharp edges character after a couple of uses. It warps depending on the grain direction. Wish they used a hard wood; after all how much more is it going to cost for a tiny slat !
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2015
This split and fractured whilst cooking. Useless. Replacement was broken on delivery. Avoid.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
I was a little worried that we would to be able to toss the pancakes due to the low side. We do not miss this a bit as it is really easy to make thin delicious creps and why strain your wrist when the wooden paddle is perfect for turning them. I bought this as a present for my dad and I love using it so much it came with a free chef!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2017
Top quality pan with a good weight to it accessories add a rear feel to making crepes very pleased has a gaming hook to comes well packaged for a gift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2014
Good value I just need to develop my skills as crepes not always great shape
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
I am a great fan of cast iron cookware - and how for most cookware the material really is one of the most important things.
Cast iron: for, really good and even heat distribution, and you can get the whole pan sizzlingly hot ready for the mixture without worrying about anything melting or burning. The pan will stay flat, and the surface is virtually non-stick. It should last a lifetime.

Against: cast iron is heavy and holds a lot of heat, I think this pan weighs a couple of Kg or more. Anyone with wrist problems should consider if they can physically handle this pan. Also, because of all the good points above it will take several minutes on the gas to get this pan up to temperature - and then it will stay hot for long after that.

Overall - great for me.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)