Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
16
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 May 2017
Michael Ball has delivered some classics over the years.

There's nothing here to stretch his vocal talents, but he does it with aplomb.

If you're a Ball fan then this is a must for your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2007
I've heard the album on the fan club website and as usual Michael sounds absolutely fantastic.Bacharach songs are very good anyway but with Michael singing them they are even better.A must for every michael fan and also anyone who appreciates good songs sung very very well.
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2007
What a lovely album!

Michael Ball proves he is much more than just a big belting musical theatre voice. Beautiful arrangements are keeping the Bacharach feel, but they don't sound sound dated or cheesy. Michael Ball's vocals are simply outstanding. Alfie, Make it easy on yourself, Anyone who had a heart, This house is empty now, Arthur's theme and This guys's in love with you are standouts for me. This is a more laid back, sophisticated sounding album........bravo!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2007
This album is OK but to me Michael's voice is not best suited to these songs. The orchestra and arrangements are very good but Michael does not seem at ease with the songs. His album 'Music' was superb and the songs were a good mixture of slow and fast tempo. Also, there is a lyric error on Make it easy on yourself. Michael says 'if the way I hold you cant compare to his embrace'. The word embrace should be caress as the next line 'no words of consolation can make me miss you less' rhymes with it. A minor error but an unnecessary one. This album is for die hard Michael fans only. However, his latest dvd is superb and shows Michael at his best, in front of a live theatre audience.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2007
Burt Bacharach is a giant of 20th century popular music. His irresistible music is as intricate as it is passionate, as subtle as it is soulful. He's also one of the most interpreted songwriters in history so it must be a daunting task for any singer to record yet another album tribute to the man. Perhaps it's no surprise then that the tracks on Michael Ball's album that, for me at least, work best are the songs which have been covered the least and are less familiar. Out of these, 'One less Bell to Answer' is a standout because it's the one song on the album that Ball is truly able to inhabit emotionally, while 'Reach out For Me' is an absolute revelation with a big band arrangement. It's good to hear another version of 'Arthur's Theme', although it could have strayed a bit further away from the Christopher Cross template for my liking. Here, as in 'You'll Never Get to Heaven', Ball and his arranger wisely play up the harmonies of the chorus.

While Michael Ball is never really able to put his own stamp on the half dozen or so standards included on the album they are all nevertheless highly listenable with polished and sympathetic arrangements. Out of these, 'The look of Love' and 'This Guy's in Love with You' both have the requisite lushness to compliment Ball's smooth vocals and only 'What the World Needs Now is Love' sounds at all perfunctory.

One criticism I'd make of the album is the altering of the lyrics in a few of the songs. For instance, in 'Make it Easy on Yourself' "Caress" is changed to "Embrace", thus ruining the rhyme with "Less". That might seem over finicky but believe me it grates when you hear it. That criticism aside it's a very musical and enjoyable album.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
Of favorite Bacharach numbers some well known, others not so. I love the CD and live in hope that he will record an album of Jerome Kern's music. Two Geniuses on one tape? what could be better?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
Great voice, fabulous renditions of songwriter
Wonderful for my radio show and my listeners.
Recommend to any discerning listener of a great voice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2010
Very pleased with this c.d. so many of my old favorites on this disc. Also the supplier was very quick with the dispatch, would deal with them again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
Always loved Bacharach and this is Michael paying tribute in a really fresh way. Great for Michael fans but also an easy listen for any Bacharach fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
wounderful interprtation of theas timeless classics with michael supper rendition what else can one say about this all lround entertainer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.54
£10.99
£13.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)