Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
15
Iron Man - the Complete Series (1990's)
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£20.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 9 October 2017
recommened for any ironman fan the storys are brilliant the 1960s are okay but the ninetys are way better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 27 July 2008
The animated Iron Man ran for 2 seasons between 1994 and 1996.
The first disc and a half contain the first season which pits Iron Man and his Forceworks allies Hawkeye, Scarlet Witch (in an outfit you would never get away with using live action), Spider-Woman, Century (who was new to me) and War Machine against The Mandarin and Modok.
Modok here is no longer the evil man-machine that led A.I.M., he is reduced to being the Mandarin's lackey and as comic relief, except for one notable episode with his "new" origin. In almost every episode they are joined by their villainous allies Hypnotia, Whirlwind, Dreadknight, Blizzard, Grey Gargoyle and Blacklash. Occasional support comes from Titanium Man, Ultimo, the dragon Fin Fang Foom and Tony Stark's industrial nemesis Justin Hammer.
The bizarre, and mercifully brief, CGI costume change added nothing, nor did the Hall of Armour and Stark's oversize briefcase. That aside, the first season was OK but never really rose much above that.
Season 2 kicked off with the catchy "I Am Iron Man" theme tune and saw the Forceworks team split up as well the Mandarin seemingly killed after the battle with Fin Fang Foom. After this clearing of the decks the way was clear for some new characters and Iron Man's team becomes Spider-Woman, War Machine (often just as James Rhodes) with guest slots from Nick Fury and S.H.I.E.L.D., the Hulk and Stingray.
New foes Firebrand, A.I.M., Sunturion, Crimson Dynamo, Madame Masque, Titanium Man, Dark Aegis, the Leader and some brief guest slots from a whole series of armoured villains in "Armor Wars" including old Marvel favourites Stilt-Man, Beetle, and The Controller.
The last 2 episodes see Iron Man re-joined by his Forceworks allies as The Mandarin also re-unites with his old allies from the first series to battle it out one last time.
The animation is great throughout but season 2 is the real stand out. As an old Marvelite who missed out on the 1980'S & 1990's (but am slowly catching up) this was a treat to watch as it mixed old stories I recognised with new variants. There's even a new origin for Iron Man himself and it's nice to see Hawkeye's chip still standing firmly on his shoulders after all this time.
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2008
I bought this series only remembering the first season, so I had no idea what the second would be like, and there are major differences between the two; the first being the quality of animation which is drastically different in the second and a huge improvement. Also the cast is stripped when Forceworks disbands to concentrate on the only characters that were really developed in the first season (with the possible exception of Hawkeye). The theme tune and appearance of Tony Stark is changed to give a more rugged and rocky look, and instantly when we meet him we get the impression of a man that NEEDS his armour to survive, not just for taking on the bad guys which is one of the integral parts of the comic book's character. I have to agree with the review that says the second season is the reason for buying this set, and is where 3 of the four stars belong. The DVD quality is fine for both seasons, although I did notice a slight difference in sound synchronisation for one of the first seasons episodes.
After all my praising for the second season, the first season will be fun for the younger viewers and worth a watch (It is the reason I bought the set afterall).
And again I was disappointed with the lack of extras for the set: nothing at all - not even the 'fun granddad' Stan Lee intro that I remember from the videos.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2017
great dvd.fast post/well packed.good price.many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 22 June 2008
Here are all 13 episodes of the 1966 series which featured animated versions of the Tales of Suspense stories, featuring artwork by Don Heck and stories written by the great Stan Lee.
Iron Man's old nemesis The Mandarin appears 4 times but there are other treats here including Moleman, Titanium Man, Crimson Dynamo, Jack Frost, Black Widow and Hawkeye, Count Nefaria, Mad Thinker, Chameleon and Kraven the Hunter with a guest appearance from Captain America.
It features Happy Hogan's first change into The Freak, The origin of the Mandarin, Stark's first run in with Senator Byrd (Boyd here) and the start of the romance between Hogan and Pepper Potts.
Annoyingly the stories are out of sequence so in some tales he has the new armour which is followed by a tale in the old armour. Other than that, oh! and the annoying theme tune, this is a pretty decent collection that will appeal mostly to old Marvel fans like me and may not appeal as much to anyone used to modern computer aided animation.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2007
I love these era of toons....and this is a bit of a classic for me. I had the older set but loved the new packaging so had to get it too. The inside slip has the episode synopsis too which is a useful touch. Good stuff! There's also the 90's series coming soon which I liked too, on a 3 disc set I think. Wicked!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2007
As with all the Gantray-Lawrence produced Marvel Serieses in these releases, the 3 part episodes are cut down, with the recap footage and 2nd and 3rd titles in each episode removed.
Very disappointing. There was no need to upset the fans with this omission.
Also, there were five serieses produced: Captain America, Iron Man, Thor, Sub-Mariner and Hulk.
The Hulk series has been curiously omitted from these releases.
Don't spend the money, until the company does the editing job properly
33 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2009
These were originally broadcast as part of Marvel Action Hour, with Stan Lee introductions. You won't find them on this DVD set, but the stories are all there. Season 2 is much faster, more complex and entertaining.
Robert Hays witty delivery of Iron Man/Stark's lines is an asset to the show.
Watch for guest appearances by Nick Fury / SHIELD in season 2, as well as a dramatic subplot involving Force Works.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2007
The 90's Series Iron-Man was unequal. The fisrt season was marked by poor animation and a lack of characterisation. The stories were ridiculous and pointless. But don't worry, season 2 rocks! Great animation, great characters, and great stories.

Well, as far as the DVD set is concerned...my god...I've never seen such a poor box set. Keep in mind that you're only bying 13 good episodes (the second season), and that's all! No subtitles, no bonus, no other language, nothing! Only the 26 episodes of the series. Thankfully, it's good quality.

It's clear that the 90's Marvel Series don't get the DVDs they deserve.

Buy it only if you're an Iron-Man fan (...or if you liked the series)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2014
I loved on my UK orders I fell in love with Marvel all over again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse